We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place.”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the October bank holiday '12. First impressions were great and it didn't stop there. The foyer was so comfy, warm and welcoming. The staff at reception were very friendly which put us at ease straight away, big smiles all around while chatting to us and giving us all the information we needed. It was the weekend of the Dublin City Marathon and the hotel had put on early breakfasts for the runners. Nothing was too much for these people who went out of their way to help and accommodation us. Room was perfect, maybe a little warm but we just turned off the radiator so cannot complain. Notices around the hotel tell the guests the there is work being done to upgrade areas but this didn't affect us. Some fixtures and fittings are showing their age but if you look past this then this hotel will certainly not let you down. I LOVED it. Special mention to Patrick Lenanne the day manager on duty while we stayed who was just amazing. We will definitely return again and soon.

Room Tip: Ask for room that doesn't sit over restaurant or bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and especially with all our staff, in particular Patrick.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming your to Buswells Hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is located perfectly for the main shopping areas, bars and resturants etc. Close to bus stops for 'Dublin' bus tours. The hotel staff are friendly and attention to detail is excellent. Rooms are fairly basic, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zebcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Zebcat, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Buswells Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Your sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed for a week at Buswells the first week in October. The staff was friendly and helpful. Ireland is a very friendly country. I did ask to have my room switched from a front view room to something quieter in the back of the hotel. It is very coveniently located to the Museum, Library, Trinity College, Grafton Street, and St. Stephen's Square. Although the food was very good at all different times of the day, outside of breakfast ,the service was slow. Always hard to get the attention of a staff member to order a meal or to get your bill. I really think they just need to hire additional staff.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clazar520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for you recent review of Buswells Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay - it was especially nice to hear how impressed you were with our friendly and helpful staff and our central location.
I have noted the issues you experienced during this stay and I can ensure you that this is not our normal standard.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you to Buswells Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location, right near the Parliament Building is perfect for the city. The hotel needs an update, although they were painting the entrance whilst we were there. The room we had was very gloomy, but beds comfortable and nice pillows. Staff were lovely and good breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location which is so central to many attractions.
We have painters on site at the moment doing refurbishment in our reception and bar areas which will be followed by a full soft refurbishment of all our rooms which we hope to complete by Christmas.
We hope to welcome you back to Buswells Hotel is in the not too distant future.

Your sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Buswells last weekend. We were given a different room when we asked for one, and were very well looked after by the helpful and friendly staff, particularly Vickie and Patrick - our pillows were swapped late-ish on at night by Patrick when I explained my daughter was allergic to feathers, and we were recommended a lovely seafood restaurant by Vickie. Breakfast a Buswells was super, - all hot choices were cooked to order, and the continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Hotel itself is slightly shabby in places, but a lovely building, and the bar was lively. The location is great, two mins from Grafton Street and on a lovely quiet street. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Just ask to change rooms if your not happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loverichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Buswells Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is great to read how impressed you were with everything from our service to the super breakfast. It was especially nice to read how Vicki & Patrick looked after you.
I hope we will se you again sometime soon.
Your sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spent 3 nights here for our wedding anniversary at the beginning of October. Beautiful hotel older style hotel, friendly and helpful staff and gorgeous room with really comfortable bed, we didn't want to come home. Set in a perfect location close to the Dawson Street restaurants and Grafton Street. This has to be the best European short break we have ever had.

Room Tip: Room 97 - Beautiful with Super King Size Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Ali D, Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were with our staff and location.
We look forward to welcoming you back again some time in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I would highly recommend Buswells in Dublin. We had a very warm welcome upon arrival. We traveled from LAX so you can image we were tired. We were shown our room even though it was only 10:30 am. Our room was a very nice size. Bathroom was clean and updated. Nice hot showers. The bed was very comfortable and one of the best features were the quiet nights for sleeping. The hotel has an elevator which is helpful if you do not travel light.
The hotel is decorated in an elegant style and everything is well tended to.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful with nice service.
We had lunch at the carvery in the hotel. The prices were resonable and service staff exceptional.
Buswells is very well located to city central but away from the noise. Airport bus stop across the street and return bus stop one block away.
Every place of interest is within easy walking distance. For the further sights I would recommend the Hop on Hop off bus. The stops are close by. Pubs and various places to eat are in easy walking distance also.
I would highly recommend Buswells.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

daisyCalifornia, many thanks for your lovely reivew. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were with our service and location.
I hope you had a great time in Ireland and I hope we will see you again sometime soon.
Your sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
2,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin D02 WR98, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $160 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Agoda, BookAssist, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing