We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and graceful”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2008

This is an elegant hotel in a great location; minutes from Trinity College, Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green, as well as right next to the National Gallery, National Museum and Leinster House. It’s away from the hustle and bustle of Temple Bar but you don’t feel removed from the action.
Upon arriving, we were greeted warmly by the reception staff. They gave us maps, asked us what types of sights we were interested in and showed us to get there. Our room wasn’t ready yet so they watched our luggage while we went to lunch and explored a bit.

We had a lovely, quiet room with a extra large bed and plush blankets and pillows. Everything was clean and well cared for and the antique furnishings that decorated our room and the public rooms were charming and graceful.

Breakfast was included and served in style. There was the typical European style breakfast: pastries, bread and croissants served with various jams and butter; a selection of smoked hams and cheeses, yogurts and cereals and lots of dried fruits. There was also a menu to order from that included traditional Irish breakfast items. Everything was fresh and kept cold and service was prompt.

I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet, upscale place to relax after pounding the pavement of Dublin all day. There are less expensive places to stay but this hotel had a lot of little extra touches that made it a great place to decompress after sightseeing all day. The lines were soft and thick, the food plentiful and fresh and the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelscrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Buswells Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,340 - 1,346 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2008

First room had constant buzz from kitchens below.
2nd room was tiny & had a very sagy bed.
Only when we mentioned that we were staying for 3 days did they make any effort to find something better. ended up having an OK room up in the eaves.
New bathroom in our room, but the whole hotel above the ground floor is in dire need of a refurb. its looking very tired.
ground floor looks nice & "old hotel" style - dont be deceived by the pictures - the rooms are nothing like the main reception rooms.
Breakfast was OK, & staff were OK. Maitre'd was very helpfull.
I suppose our rooms saving grace was that we could climb through a small fire access door from our room directly onto a flat roof area, which had some great views.
Location was good to tour round Dublin, with some nice local restaurants & bars.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamieandthemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

We stayed in the Buswells hotel in the 29th of December for 5 nights,it was Perfect! evreything,just Perfect. the staff was very nice and friendly,the room was very clean and spacious,location is excelent 2 minutes walk from Grafton street ,the airport bus station is around the corner,still very quite at night,breakfast was nice(it was incluiding in the rate)worth waking up for it. we will definitely stay here again whenever we visit Dublin.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinbad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

Yet again another fantastic weekend! Went as a group of 14 family and friends. I must thank all the staff for making our stay yet again one to remember! each and everyone of you go out of your way to make sure each guest is looked after! If your looking for a hotel thats within walking distance of temple bar, grafton street etc, please book here, not only is the hotel spotlessley clean, does great food and the breakfast is fab, they look after you too!Thankyou all again for a lovely weekend in dublin, hope to be back next year for our third stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DorisandPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Good Irish hotel in a good location, very close to the centre of Dublin. The staff are very friendly and helped me all the way during my 3 nights there.

I used the restaurant during 1 evening and bar food the other days. The portions are good and quality is excellent. Breakfast is good if you go for the cooked option, otherwise its contiental style buffet.. this is ok, but not a great selection..

The room I stayed in was quiet and at the end of a corridoor so had no other guest pasing by at night.

I would recommend this hotel if my travels ever take me back t Dublin. Well done all the staff for making my stay great.

Chris Bloy

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Tayloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from our stay in Dublin & are planning our next visit.It will be at Buswells! The ambience ,hospitality & professionalism are not to be outdone.Clean comfortable rooms,ours were right above the bar and were not loud at all.Great dining from breakfast to evening.Sharad,in the dining room was a pleasure to meet. Then the incomparable Kathleen on staff made us feel as if we were treasured family. Thank you all & see you soon.
Joan and John

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank celticstoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

I stayed with my wife for 2 nights in mid November, together with 2 friends in another room. The hotel is well positioned but has seen better days. The main reception areas were warm and pleasant and the breakfast was great although the breakfast/dining room was a bit under lit and therefore gloomy.
Our twin bedroom was a bit shabby but quite comfortable, but rather cluttered with furniture. The bathroom was large and bright and there was masses of very hot water (10 out of 10 for that). The plastic shower curtain was a real drag when having a shower. The central heating was not working on the first night and then it appeared fine.
Our friends first room was very small and they moved to a larger one.
Overall the hotel was not a problem and if I could not find anything better I would stay again. Please note that the free car parking in a nearby multistorey, is overnight only and you will be charged for hours outside that. This is noted as a footnote on the confirmation and I missed it!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Shliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $180 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, BookAssist, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing