We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice business class hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice business class hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Buswells twice, once at the start and then at the end of a Rick Steves 14-day tour or Ireland. Buswells is a very nice upscale business hotel directly across the street from the National Museum: Archeology and near Trinity College. The bathrooms have American style washcloths in them (yea); but there are no clock in the room. There is a bath tub in the bathroom. Not all double rooms are the same size as can be seen in our two room photos below. WiFi connectivity requires that you first establish an account with bitbuzz and then use a 4 word pass code to get connected. Connectivity was intermittent. We had much easier connectivity with my wife's iPod is several small B&B-s in Wales. Breakfast - cold buffet and hot items from a menu, very nice. Very nice bar and lounge area befitting its business class hotel status.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joe-SVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you Joe-SVL for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at Buswells Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of changing out Internet access for guests so passwords will no longer be required.

We do hope to welcome you to Buswells Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    522
    142
    33
    14
See reviews for
288
578
86
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

A well maintained historical hotel in the heart of Dublin. My wife, daughter and I stayed here for three nights. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, although the view from our window of the central heating plant was bleak. The views from the front rooms are probably a lot more interesting, but we did ask for a 'quiet room'.
Well positioned to the main attractions of central Dublin, which are mostly within walking distance.
Hop-on-hop-off bus stops are also close at hand.
Good Irish breakfasts, cooked to order, were served by grumpy (overworked, overstressed, and probably underpaid) staff. The evening 'dinner' staff were quite cheerful and vibrant by comparison - but they did have a smaller number of guests to look after, and were not as busy as the breakfast staff.
Clean, well furnished rooms, comfortable beds and good showers. Yes, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front should have better views, but may be noisier than back ones - although the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you ACR96 for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you and family again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 10 day vacation in Ireland and our last two days and nights were spent in Dublin and we stayed at Buswells Hotel. What a way to end the vacation. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel is just an amazing quirky older building. Very centrally located. Withing walking distance of many attractions, restaurants and pubs. We lucked out and got a corner room on the second floor with a great street view. We couldn't have been more pleased with the accomodations. Thanks for helping us end the trip on a high note. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Jerry L, many thanks for posting your review following your recent stay with us at Buswells Hotel. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We loved our stay at the Buswells Hotel. The location could not be better - we were down the block from the National Library and the National Museum, and a short walk to pretty much everywhere else you want to get to: St. Stephen's Green and the surrounding shopping area, Temple Bar, Trinity College, O'Connell Street. The rooms (we booked 4) are a decent size with modern bathrooms which are kept spotless by the staff. The hotel itself has an old-fashioned charm, and although there are a few worn areas on the carpeting, they're not a big deal since everything is spotless. We would definitely stay here again next time we're in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uyen_N92708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am really glad you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and made use of the location of Buswells Hotel.
Should you ever return to Dublin, we would love to haev you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Paul Gallagher.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice (at the beginning of my trip and then again at the end). For the first stay, we arrived very early (6 am) and our room was not ready so we left our bags at the hotel and walked around Dublin. We came back at 2 pm which is check-in time and we were told that the room was ready but that they were waiting for a towel delivery. We were exhausted at that point after flying in on the redeye and I expressed my unhappiness with this. They told us that they would deliver the towels in an hour but I told them that we would be going to sleep and that we did not want to be woken. We entered the room to find that there was a full set of clean towels already in there so I don't know what they were talking about. The room was a good size with a double bed and also a single bed which we did not request so it was nice having the extra bed. There was no view from the window. In fact, our window overlooked massive fans/compressors which made a lot of noise but luckily, it was quite cool out so we were able to keep the windows closed. The bathroom was a nice size with a tub and handheld shower. The room was very clean and quite lovely. We went to sleep and sure enough, an hour later, there was a knock on the door and someone was bringing us towels even though I had specifically stated that we didn't want to be disturbed. After our nap, we started unpacking and found that the in-room safe didn't work. Three different people had to come to try to fix it before they finally brought a new safe. The upside of this was that one of the maintenance workers gave me a bunch of recommendations for my stay and they turned out to be very good recommendations. So, we had a rocky start but after that, things settled down and then the stay was very pleasant. One thing that we really liked was the bar/lounge area. Right off of the lobby is a very comfortable seating area where you can just sit and read or get a drink or food. If you are a woman traveling alone, you can definitely go in there and not feel uncomfortable at all. The hotel is decorated in a Victorian fashion and is kept very clean. They give you one key per room and you have to give them the key when you go out. There was something nice and old-fashioned about this but the one time I wanted to go to the room while my husband stayed in the lounge was a problem because I needed the key to get in the room and then he had no way of getting in.
Our second stay was much better. We weren't exhausted and the room was ready when we arrived at 2 pm. This was a much bigger room with a king-sized bed and very large bathroom. The only problem was that it was hot in the room (Dublin was unusually warm on that day) and we had to keep the window open. This wouldn't be a problem except that at about 5 am, ducks/geese started honking really loud. I don't know know where they were but it was loud. Overall, I would say that the hotel is very nice and I would stay there again. The location is fantastic. The Parliament is located at the corner so there is security for that building so the area seems very safe. It's within walking distance of Grafton St., St. Stephen's Green and Trinity College. I only have two complaints which I think the hotel could easily fix:
1) There is free Internet but you need passwords to use it and every person needs their own passwords. Also, it only lasts for 24 hours and then you have to get new passwords. This is quite annoying and you should just be able to connect to the Internet.
2) The shower is very complicated to figure out. There are two different shower heads and three different knobs to turn. They really need a sign with directions on how to use the shower.
I know it sounds like I had many complaints but really these were just small things in the grand scheme of it all. The hotel is very charming and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinickyNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent stays at Buswells Hotel.

We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us despite the rocky start. We are currently in the process of changing out Internet access for guests so passwords will no longer be required. We are also putting up small notices in each room with regards the shower.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to a conference in Wales, and had decided to go via Dublin rather than Heathrow. I stayed overnight on the way there at Buswell's, and was just delighted. It was like going back about twenty years, in ambience and service and comfort. Maybe some find the odd worn spot on the stair carpet off-putting, but my room was spacious, spotless and exactly what I like. Though I had a reservation at an airport hotel on the return journey, I called Buswell's as soon as I got off the ferry from Holyhead and they were able to give me a room. Doing this was a bit extravagant, maybe, but after 4 nights in a student residence room, I really wanted another taste of Buswell's comfort and charm. Location was excellent, being right across form the National Library and the National Museum.

Room Tip: Double rooms overlooking Molesworth Street are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torres7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Many thanks torres7 for your lovely review. I am so glad that you had such enjoyable stays with us - it was especially nice to read how impressed you were with the comfort and location of the hotel.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Buswells hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for one night in single room on business. Great hotel full of character. Staff excellent other than few gruff lunch time servers! Single room small but spotless and comfortable. Breakfast really tasty. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you Anne D for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, BookAssist, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing