We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Clean,Pleasant.”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Top rate location, postage stamp room cramped to the limit when you add a suitcase. Staff was quite pleasant and helpful. Bathrooms were clean but tiny. Bar was great for service, selection, and food. Good price for a Dublin hotel with a European feel. Tough going when trying to reach rooms. Old victorian style has you going up and down stairs in between floors and renders elevator useless. Overall, I would go back again if there were not other options.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room(like the one advertised in the brochure) away from the street(noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerryman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

We love this hotel for is location and ambience,as some modern hotels while impressive are a little sterile and lacking in atmosphere.Not buswells though,a lovely old building and courteous staff.On the downside on this visit the room safe didnt work and the shower semed to run hot and cold when you were under it but otherwise a great stay.Plus the bed was lovely and comfy,one of the best I've slept in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padsmcginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We found Buswells to be as advertised a hotel that caters more to local politicians and journalists. Rooms small but well kept. Staff was great! Hospitable and helpful. I left jewelry in my room Called 2 days later and they were very helpful. Shipped to my home in the states. Even found a hair product I hadn't missed and sent that along! I would definitely stay there again. Breakfast was good as was tea and evening meals.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doduley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We only spent a night there but for sure, we would not have stayed there any longer. Overall, the hotel seems very nice but we got this very small room completely at the back of the hotel, which felt like the "leftover" room. The room was OK but very small, no place to put our two suitcases, kinda noisy with a regular window directly over a street. The worst part was the bathroom: there was some sort of sky light and it was covered with mold! I could not believe it. That explained the smell when we got there.

The wireless Internet service was also terrible. We were disconnected every 2 minutes, only 1 bar of signal, and it was a voucher based service (annoying). Maybe we were in a dead zone but at least, don't advertise it in the room!

If you go there, just don't get rooms 125 and 126.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Buswells is a lovely old hotel just two blocks from Grafton Street and very close to temple bar. The hotel has a very nice Pub with friendly bartenders. We were greeted upon checkin with a smile and warm welcome. We were early (about 11:30am) so were told to leave our luggage in the lobby and our rooms would be ready around 1pm. After lunch we returned and as promised, the rooms were ready and our luggage had been taken to the 3rd floor and put in our room! Great Service! The hotel is located next to the Ireland Senate so their was a major demonstration in the street in front of the hotel with several hundred people holding signs and even a band playing. It was quite exciting rather than annoying. The hotel does not have A/C so you must leave the window open to create a breeze so it doesn't get hot. This worked well for us but when the window is open you do hear the road noise. Great value at this hotel and it is very clean and lovely decorated with period antiques.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sel6090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Buswells may not be perfect, but it met all of our requirements. It is put together like a puzzle. I almost got lost trying to walk up the back stairway to get to my room. The "3rd" floor has about 4 different levels. Decorations are also a little dated. But we found our triple room to be very spacious (especially for a city center hotel), the beds very comforable, showers warm and powerful, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is very close to the national museum, Trinity, Temple Bar, St. Stephens Green, etc. What else do you really need?

Overall we were pleasantly surprised by the value we received from Buswells.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope-Dutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Third stay at Buswells and impressed again. Yet again, my room was just as it should be and the bathroom was immaculate - and I mean right down to the corners. Beds are comfy, room is fitted out properly, windows open, quiet, and a fantastic location right across from the library and museum and an easy stroll to Grafton Street.

Very reasonably priced for the accomodations, and night parking is included.

The staff was very pleasant as well.

Only downside I've ever found -- this year apparently too much luggage had been left on hold and the staff had moved it to a conference room. Granted, it was right off the front desk, but it was not locked. I did question that, but no harm, no foul.

Will be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BieneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,534 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin D02 WR98, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $159 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookAssist, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing