We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - get what you pay for”
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix Park Hotel
Ranked #124 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Trying to get to the bottom of Ireland at Mizen Point for our end to end cycle we had not planned on staying in Dublin. Looking for a place on a scorching Saturday evening never easy. So Phoenix Park by necessity rather than design. What we found was very welcoming and helpful staff - found us quiet room, bikes stored, internet access. Rooms basic and on small side but ours recently renovated and clean. Good sleep. Breakfast arrangements - table service - a bit confusing - and manager thought we were due to pay. But sorted efficiently and tasty breakfast. Great location near to station had no complaints about this value hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for the Phoenix Park concerts it was right by the entrance which took a lot of the hassle with getting home. Great location too if your using the train as it's only 5 minutes away from Heuston station and the Luas. The room was clean and spacious. Staff was very friendly and looked after our bags the first and last day. Only downside was the water pressure in the shower was poor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanieboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our room was small but comfortable. Could never get shower doors to work without leaking. However the hotel seemed clean and the staff was very friendly. We did not have breakfast (overslept) but the lobby and restaurant wifi worked well. Staff gave good directions which we needed for our first trip to Dublin.

Room Tip: Hotel is on the corner and our room was on the street, but it was not noisy. We were on 2nd or 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misserino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

this hotel is very tired and dated. Our room smelt bad and was the most dull, depressing room that I have ever stayed in. Hotel staff were not overly welcoming. Our room was not ready on arrival and we were told not to come back before 3,30pm (our room should be ready by then) On returning to the hotel at about midnight on both nights we had to ring the bell to get in and were greeting by a grumpy night porter. Did not sleep either of the two nights we stayed. Traffic noise was awful and on the second night there was a party going on in the room next door which finally became quiet at 6.40am after we complained. Find somewhere else to stay in Dublin.
We are not picky people but this was dirty and dreary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was a little nervous booking this hotel after looking at other reviews on this site, but I will admit I was pleasantly suprosed on arrival. The hotel was newly renovated and excellently located. The lobby and restaurant are lovely. The restaurant provides a good breakfast and a decent price. The rooms were comfortable and quiet and the service was excellent. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I understood that this place has been revamped recently. For the price I got a decent room with new bath room and nice and friendly staff. The view in the room at the backside is not so nice, however it was very quite.
For my appointment in Phoenix park it is an ideal location because it saves a lot of travel time compared to a hotel that is located in the centre.
Because the last stop of the airport link bus is nearby (Heuston station), the travel from and to the airport is easy.
Although internet is not available in the room, the one in the lobby is very good (and free).

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We did not saty at this hotel, we only stopped there for breafast.
The service was good, polite as you would expect.
The breakfasts were well prepared, very filling and good value.. 2 full breakfasts tea, coffe & toast for 16 euros

Room Tip: Very close to Phoenix park, Heuston station and The National meusem. Also close to the guinness fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photograber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
West County Hotel
#85 of 152 in Dublin
315 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 152 in Dublin
1,462 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#81 of 152 in Dublin
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 152 in Dublin
4,775 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#107 of 152 in Dublin
812 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#98 of 152 in Dublin
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Hotel

Address: 38-39 Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland (Formerly Phoenix Park House)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $78 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phoenix Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing