We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - keep well away”
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Park Hotel
Ranked #129 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed November 2, 2003

Cigarette burns on the bedspread and carpets. Bedrooms reaked of smoke. Cold rooms, heating only comes on for very short periods of time, and owners will not change the timer, even for a member of our party who was ill on one of our days stay, and had to stay in her bedroom. Broken toilets seat, broken taps, not enough hot water for a shower in the morning. Watered down orange juice served at breakfast. Rooms and tiolets not clean. Do not go there!!!!

5  Thank SarahGreenland194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 315 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
cardiff,wales
16
Reviewed July 19, 2003

well what to start with ... yes it is a friendly place but... it is really dirty, so dirty that after 4 nights which i spent there i got a strange rush on my body which according to a doctor is a flee from sleeping in dirty place... to continue, forget about - for example toilet paper, or room cleaning... it is rather lound.... cameras are everywhere so it gives a feeling of big brother like .... and it makes you think is it really such a dangaraus area ? staying there basicly gives you a feeling of spending your time in a dirty place and even nice host can't make you feel better :( so i honestly suggest - look for a nice bb for lower price .

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston Mass
11
Reviewed April 12, 2003

Just returned from dublin and this place is fantastic !!! many thanks to the previous review....if you truly want to meet the people this is the place to start...good location, great value, and a comfortable place to relax after touring for the day the owners helpful on any questions as have not been in dublin for many years...if a guest house is what you prefer this is a definite

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2002

Having recently returned from a weekend in Dublin I want to recommend the Phoenix Park Hotel.
The hotel is located a short bus ride from Dublin City Centre i.e ten minutes ride with a bus stop near the front of the hotel.
The room we had booked was a double and on arrival we were allocated a family room which had a lovely centre piece fireplace which really gave the room a lovely feel. The extra space was also good.
We were at the back of the hotel which looked out onto a quiet street which I was quite pleased about.
Breakfast is served in a small dining room which was very busy the weekend we visited. The owners made us feel very welcome and indeed and I will definitely return.
The Phoenix park itself is directly in front of the hotel and makes a lovely location for an afternoon strool.

9  Thank marian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudenkorento87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: notre chambre donnait sur l'arrière elle était calme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganigana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maarten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#108 of 150 in Dublin
677 reviews
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,615 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#115 of 150 in Dublin
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,407 reviews
Maple Hotel
#135 of 150 in Dublin
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Hotel

Address: 38-39 Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland (Formerly Phoenix Park House)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $80 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Phoenix Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing