We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townhouse - Expensive Stay For a Family - With (almost) No Amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
Ranked #49 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed August 18, 2008

First impression is awe with the amazing wall murals, red & black theme and character features intact...LOVELY! The main lady on the desk was kind and very helpful, but not the unapproachable cranky old guy. For the price they charge I would think they could re-grout or at least scrub the shower to remove all the old black mildew. The closet floor was wet. The many wall lights over the beds need to have individual controls for reading when others want to sleep. I don't get the hype about the breakfast. Yes, it's buffet style with the usual cereal & juice plus fruit cocktail out of a can (no fresh fruit). Then you have the typical English/Irish? breakfast - sunnyside up? eggs dripping in oil, greasy bacon, deep fried (previously frozen) "hashbrown" triangles, bland sausage, tomatoes, canned baked beans and cold toast. The brewed coffee was good and when it was available, the unfiltered apple juice was deluxe, as was the fresh brown bread. The fruit scones (raisin biscuits) were giant and not very tasty. After a few days of the same meal it was just plain boring. But then, that's an American woman's point of view! My teenagers quit eating breakfast after the 2nd day. On the other hand, the quilted floral toilet paper was lush! And free wifi was a bonus. Overall, we had a much better time staying our first two nights at the posh Royal Marine Hotel in Dun Laoghaire. It was less expensive per night with free gym, pool, sauna etc. and only a quick train ride into Dublin. EVERYTHING in Dublin is pricey and I now know why they say it is the most expensive city in Europe! Not an especially good place to take teenagers unless you have a lot of money for shopping, they enjoy history or are old enough to drink.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Del-Mac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 186 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2008

We arrived in Dublin on a rainy afternoon, and were looking forward to resting our tired heads. We arrived at Globetrotters at about 1, so we could not get into our room, but the room was ready by 2:30. We had a double room with a shared bathroom. The room was comfortable and quiet. The tv helped us wake up from our nap and was nice to have. The breakfast was wonderful, the best i have seen in a hostel/townhouse. We stayed here one night and moved to another hostel the next night, this hostel was much better!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mengiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

This hostel is in a nice Georgian building near Connelly station and not too far from O’Connell St. The neighbourhood is not the best but it’s not too bad.
As for the hotel there’s fast check-in, friendly and helpful staff. I had a 6 bed female dorm room but I hated having a top bunk as it was a little too high. The bathroom was good but the water was lukewarm; not good if the weather is too chilly.
You will be disturbed by the noise from the rooms above especially around 10pm and 7am as the party crowd are coming and going. There’s not much padding on the floors so they can can be a bit creaky.
Breakfast at Globetrotters is a must as you get a good Full Irish breakfast. The dining room is large so there is plenty of room but there are crowds sometimes.
For a good scenic off the beaten path route to Dublin take the 41 Airport bus right in front of the hostel. Make sure it is the 41Airport and not the 41C (does not go all the way into the airport). If you take this bus make sure you leave in good time to get to the airport as it is a 50 minute ride and probably longer at rush hour.
I would say this is a good place to stay if you want to visit Dublin on a budget as the city is quite expensive and I would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mayday2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

First of all, the hostel itself was gorgeous inside and out, the beds were comfortable and the rooms downstairs were modern and very up to date. My travel buddy and I had basically had a trip from hell losing our credit cards, debit cards, my laptop was stolen, we missed tours, YOU NAME IT. it happened. The staff here was wonderful and very helpful. it was the best hostel i have ever been - The staff "DAVE" even helped me find a western union to receive money the morning before my departure to Rome- and showed me to the bus stop to get to the airport- Stay Here, it is great, SAFE, and very good location.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank claire8608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

stayed here with a group of girlfriends in March during the 6 nations (Ireland Wales weekend). the hostel was full but it didnt stop the front of desk people being really friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was crazy due to sheer numbers but the staff did a fab job of serving people as quick as they could.

The room we had we in the roof of the building and is basically an apartment with a walk in wardrobe! we all loved it!

We had a great stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kathg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

Globetrotters in Dublin is divided into a Hostel side and at a seperate enterance "Townhouse" B & B. We stayed on the Townhouse side. The room was very nice- although it took quite a while for the hot water to reach the shower. The breakfast room is shared with the Hostel and can get quite busy. The breakfast is really good,especially if you compare it to the breakfasts provided at most Hostels. The Townhouse interior is really very pretty and the smoking patio is nicely landscaped. The Guests rooms are named after the plays written by the former owner. A nice bit of whimsy.
The only downside had nothing to do with the Townhouse or it's staff. We were there when Kerry was playing Cork in the football finals [go Kerry!] and the neighborhood got a little rowdy late, late at night. At 3AM a guest thought it would be fun at set off the Fire Extinguisher in the hall- which also set off the alarm breifly. Those guests were politely exjected into the cold Dublin night. The Staff were very polite through it all.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yogidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

I stayed in the Globetrotter for 4 nights on a short trip to Dublin and I absolutely loved it. The beds were very confortable and the extra space provided for bagagge allows it for budget travellers to feel a lot more at home than at other hostels. The breakfast was fantastic in taste, plenty and, due to the late opening hours of the kitchen (10am), even party-goers can have a good start of the day. I stayed at the Avalon hostel the last time, and can only say the Globetrotter is a lot better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Egali Hostel
#13 of 126 in Dublin
163 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 126 in Dublin
354 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Avalon House
#29 of 126 in Dublin
853 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 126 in Dublin
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Address: 46 - 48 Gardiner Street Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globetrotters Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotters Tourist Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing