We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on the Liffey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Liffey
Ranked #60 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Monaghan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Location, Small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here on two different occasions, I believe I got a better room on the second occasion. The location is perfect right smack bang in the middle of the city center. The rooms had everything you would need for a short stay. The view over the liffey was nice. The shower cubicle was extremely small in both rooms, and quite difficult to regulate the temperature of the shower. They appear to be renovating the hallways at the moment so there is a smell of paint. one of the bulbs didn't work in one of the bed side lamps. The Breakfast was not great, but was serviceable, I felt the whole thing was microwaved, and tough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    51
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
11
61
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I read many of the reviews of the inn and really wondered. I am not sure what standards some of the other reviewers used but this place is fine.
The staff are great - very accommodating and helpful.
The inn while older is fine. The rooms are fine, too. Very clean and comfortable, maybe not the size of a Hilton-type room....but am I paying for space I don't use or for what I need to be comfortable.
It is a close walk to most of the sights of Dublin.
The full Irish breakfast is great, and included in the price.
I say the Inn is worth consideration and I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
5 Thank hrdmapl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nice and friendly staff. Location of the hotel is very good right in the center of the city. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was quite rich.
The only downside is there is no lift so you have to climb so many stairs with your suitcase.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blitzistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My first time at the inn was made very pleasant by the friendly staff. The rooms are small but very clean and well kept. This was the last week in august and as I had two different bookings over the course of a week I had a double room for the first part and a single for the second. Both were fine. If you can request a room at the back it would be best as the front room had street noise from the open window. The full buffet breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food. Location is excellent as it is right across the river from Temple Bar where you spend the evening. It is close to all major sights. A good budget hotel.

Room Tip: Away from street is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank singlevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I am a crossdresser and I am shocked at one of your reviews from some American.I visit this B&B often as I can express my self.
I find it upsetting that some bloody Yank can criticise CDs and even goes on to say it is all old people who frequent the sauna.
I must remind this guy that according to Irish law it is forbidden to discriminate on age and rightly so.
I stay there maybe 3 times a year and have been for 10 years or so when I am in Dublin.He goes on to criticise the colour of the rooms.
What a plonker for if he pays what I do 65€ what does he want the Ritz?
I have always found staff friendly and helpful the place clean and a brilliant breakfast with free Wifi and all in the heart of Dublin.
There is no way of pleasing some some people and all for 60 or so Euro,and I think people who discriminate on age and cross dressing should not be welcome in this establishment.
I bet the staff are glad to see the back of him not so long ago people thought the way he now thinks about Gay people

Disgusted

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hungarianlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Have stayed at Inn on the Liffey many times over last 10yrs. My latest was a 4 night stay in March 2013.
I have never before written a review, but I am so annoyed to see the unfair negative reviews on this site, that I have been moved to present my views.
The en-suite room was warm, clean, nicely decorated and pleasantly furnished.
Staff are friendly and helpful, and breakfast is superb. Dining room warm and pleasant.
Only negative is the gay sauna (free admission) which is past its sell-by - but like gay saunas the world over, if you hit the right time, you can have horny encounters ... or maybe you'd rather pay 23 euros to go to the BoilerHouse sauna, or 10 euros to sex shop cinema, where you're still not guaranteed to 'score'.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you want from your stay - they will advise an appropriate room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked 6 days in this guesthouse. I chose it due to the website, however I did not see anything that was posted on the website. My stay was late Jan 2013, There is little or no heat for most of the day. My room was COLD. The breakfast was good but there was no heat in the dining room. My shower was disgusting it had BLACK MOLD and alot of it. Not sure why the decorator painted everything PINK. Now the Sauna, what a miserable place. the steam room was noted by request only. the clientele was senior citizen not to mention the drag queens that we in the sauna. Overall on a scale of 1-10 it gets a -2.

Room Tip: Book another location, I got an email from the Owner and he said it was a 3-5 Star location, NOT EVE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 706RobertC706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
The Norseman
The Norseman
#12 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
O'Shea's Merchant Hotel
#52 of 162 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 106 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#11 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 106 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Liffey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Liffey

Property: Inn on the Liffey
Address: 21 Ormond Quay Upper, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Liffey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Liffey Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing