We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'nice little guest house'” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankie's Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frankie's Guest House
Ranked #89 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“'nice little guest house'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2005

I stayed at this pleasant guest-house for a week in June, I was made extremely welcome , Don't expect luxury accomodation, but the breakfast was substantial, the Staff pleasant and helpfull, the best place to stay if you really want to get 'out and about', and just have somewhere welcoming to get your head down at night!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, N.Y.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2005

There is not one good thing to say about this place! The street noise alone was more than we could stand. If you like drunks screaming and going to the bathroom under your window this is the place for you.

Helpful?
8 Thank Ryan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2005

I stayed in this miserable, shabby hole, I mean guesthouse, in October 2004. Unwelcoming cramped public rooms. Tiny guest rooms. Threadbare polyester sheets. I got lice. Need I say more?? Oh, yes. The place is dirty. Unremitting street noise of drunks just outside my window at 3-4-5 a.m. And God forbid if you are 10 seconds late for breakfast--an unappealing meal served with flatware that looks like North Korean factory rejects.

Gay options in Dublin are limited. I would rather stay with straights. Try a decent gay-friendly bed and breakfast or even a nice small hotel and save yourself the disappointment.

There is a reason that this dive requires full payment upon arrival (not departure).

If this review saves even one vacation, then I have not lived my life in vain.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2004

The grottiest Dog Kennel I have ever had the misfortune of staying at, luckily it was only for one night. Stayed in Jan 2004 and would not wish this place on my worst enemy.

With any luck they will trip over some fresh linen and utilise it.

I was overcharged €5 euros, did not mention as I only hoped it was put to cleaning materials and a cleaner.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2004

Excellent location, especially if you like to walk. Just a couple of blocks from the Green, of Grafton str... Excellent service. But ask for a room with a window on the back of the building: in the summer, some "happy" pedestrians have a tendency to shout in the street at night, between 1am and 2 am (pubs closure time). Not the Frankie's owners fault of course...

Helpful?
5 Thank enzobruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2004

The location is good very close to the city centre and gay scene but the place itself is dark dingy completely overpriced, the rooms are small with paper thin walls that you allow you to hear everything going on in the next room, and the staff are just rude! the place itself looks cheap and tacky Your better off going to a 3 star hotel it’s cheaper. I stayed there one night and moved out the following day to a hotel.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2004

Frankies is a small guest house which is situated up a small side st.
Despite its website saying so there is no parking. Electricity supply to the rooms is limited by a flip switch so dont go boiling a kettle with the tv on. The breakfasts are small and not that appetizing. In a small guest house you expect the host to be friendly but sadly Franky is both cold and aloof. Overall it was a disappointment.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#125 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Albany House
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dean
#68 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frankie's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frankie's Guest House

Property: Frankie's Guest House
Address: 8 Camden Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Frankie`s Guest House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing