We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great but definately looks nothing like the Professional photographs!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of River House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River House Hotel
Ranked #142 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location great but definately looks nothing like the Professional photographs!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for a night last December as I was going out for work Christmas party. I had looked it up in advance and thought the rooms & bathroom looked ok and would be cheap and cheerful.
But unfortunately that was not the case at all.

The staff at reception were quite pleasant.

The corridor to where my room was went by the back of the pub and the toilets linked to the pub and the stink was something else. The noise didnt bother me too much.
Then I had to trek up the stairs which had the most awful stains on them (photos will follow!!)
I then arrived at my room. It was small which wasnt a problem. The bathroom was awful. There was a huge hole in the roof that looked like there had been an extractor fan once upon a time and it was now gone but no one had bothered to fill in the hole.
The shower was quite powerful but the head wasn't on properly so water spewed in every direction. Unlike the photos on their page I had a shower curtain and no shower door so the place was quite wet afters.
There were funny stains everywhere and a few other holes in the walls.
The bed was really tiny even for a single. The sheets were a bit suspect as regards their cleaness!
And you defo would not be walking anywhere in your bare feet.
Manky is the only word you could use.
Got woken at 6 in the morning with the bottle bins been emptied outside but I didnt mind that too much its to be expected location wise.
I did feel even though I'd only paud €50 that it was a €50 badly spent!
Don't think I could face staying there again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    57
    56
    67
    133
See reviews for
19
86
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in one of their apartments at this hotel this weekend and although it was described as basic nothing could have prepared us for how absolutely vile this hotel is. It smells of what can only be described as a mixture of urine and vomit and upon arrival at our room the door had literally, at some point, been kicked open and was held back together with glue. The inside was even worse. There are huge holes all over one wall, the toilet comes away from the wall by a foot every time you sit on it, the shower doors did not shut therefore they spray water throughout the room and to top it off you couldn't get in one bathroom as the carpet was ripped to shreds and blocked the door. There are very questionable stains on every wall and even on the ceilings and there is mould growing up the netting and curtains. Even better the hotel seemed to think it was appropriate to charge an extortionate amount for the privledge of staying here and were utterly rude when we complained. The ONLY thing this hotel had going for it was the location. Photo's to be uploaded asap!

Room Tip: Go to Blooms instead! Cheaper and very clean, better located and polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location if going to see a show as its smack bam in temple bar! Price was ok for a cheap ish night out in dublin city! But nothing was clean the carpets really need to b updated r just a good clean! Walls were filthy on way to room and in room! Bed wasn't the cleanest or the bathroom which there were dirty towels given to us! Yeh it was a great price but i was definately afraid to walk around bare footed!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACOB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good location but my box room that wasn’t the cleanest. And they don’t like you bringing back visitors either. Under no circumstances will reception (which is open 24 hours) allow non-guests upstairs. They need not be so concerned about non-paying guests staying though – seriously, that bed wasn’t even big enough for one person and even if there was enough floor space, I don’t think anyone would want to take any chances by sleeping on it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepdrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for one night and was surprised to find such a good value hotel in such a great location. Rooms were a bit jaded looking and the tv's need to be upgraded but other than that it was a fantastic hotel. If you want a good valued hotel that gives you a bed for the night and great location look no further. There is a pub under you so expect noise but if you are in Dublin you need to be out for the nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd-jackdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great Location, kind and helpful staff, good breakfast! I spent 2 day there and will surely return to this hotel! value for money is the best ever!
PS - here we talk about Temple Bar District and a hotel with a Pud under the rooms, it's quite clearly explaned on the website, if you don't like this combitation just don't complain after having staying!

Room Tip: as there is a pub under, if you'd like to have some sleep ask rooms from 3rd floor, but I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Literally one of the worst places I've ever seen in my life. I booked a room for my brother for one night. Should have read other reviews first because it was terrible. Here's a few things about it

1. Door in room did not open correctly on arrival
2. Tiles broken in the bathroom.
3. Horrible black scum in shower
4. Valance on bottom of bed was filthy dirty.
5. Asked for a non smoking room, room stunk of smoke.
6. Drawers in room had marks on them
7. Bed was extremely uncomfortable, had springs coming out of it.

My brother had one of the most uncomfortable nights of his life here. Never again.

Room Tip: Just pick somewhere else completly. Not worth it for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toomanymuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#135 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#82 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
The Central Hotel
#92 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Hotel

Property: River House Hotel
Address: 23 - 24 Eustace Street | Temple Bar Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your River House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Dublin
Riverhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing