We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location with Trendy Flair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Trendy and quirky euro chic decor updates this well located hotel on the River Liffey directly across from Temple Bar via the Millennium or Ha' Penney pedestrian bridges and walking distance to most places you'll want to go. A car is not needed or recommended. The river acts as a buffer from the bustle on the other side. Great breakfast spread available to all and even better when comp'd for Hilton Honors gold/diamond members. The property exudes big city boutique hip rather than old world charm. As long as the latter isn't a prerequisite, if the Morrison fits in your budget, you'll be happy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Deasr mke_60,

Thank you for your review of the Morrison Hotel, It was a pleasure to read.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that in particular the location was convenient for you and also that the new decor of the hotel is to your liking. I was also happy to read that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast as Hilton Gold/Diamond member and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our kitchen staff.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,436)
There are newer reviews for The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,635 - 1,641 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We met here for lunch who where staying here, we ate at the bar at lunch on sunday.The morrison burger was great but our service was slow. The bartender seemed to be more interested in chatting with her friend at the end of the bar.
This is our only fault with the hotel, everyone we encountered where friendly. The duty manager that evening was extremely helpful with directions and information on how to get to the airport.
We decided to give the bar another try as our friends wanted to watch the soccer.
The 2 bartenders on duty where quite busy but made sure we got menu's but after our lunch earlier we only wanted appetisers.
I think one of the Bartenders called Garry recommended we have the steak skewers.
Boy did they hit the spot cooked to perfection, we decided to have a cocktail after a few minutes. The other bartender asked if he could help with our decision, he asked our spirit base but my wife wanted something sweet and me something with rum.
The 2 guys both made us cocktails which where amazing and all served with a little humour and a smile which was lacking from our first time in quay 14 this prevented us from giving a 5 star rating. Unfortunately we didn't stay but we would thoroughly recommend this hotel bar and a special thanks to the 2 guys in the bar who really gave us a great end to our final night in Dublin.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank coozy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Coozy1970,

Thank you so much for your review of your experience in our Quay 14 bar.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your cocktails in the bar that evening and I will be sure to pass on your regards to the 2 bartenders on duty that evening. I will also pass on your compliments o our chefs as they will be happy to hear you liked their steak skewers in particular.

I would also like to take this opportunity to convey my apologies for the below par service on your first visit to the bar, I assure you this is not our usual high standard and will look into this further to ensure it was a once off incident, thank you for letting us know as guests feedback is our most valuable tool for continually improving our service and indeed to see where we fell short of excellent customer service.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Morrison Hotel in the very near future and thank you again,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I booked the Morrison through booking.com for the Garth Brooks concerts in Dublin at the end of July. The rate I paid was non-refundable. However when I contacted the hotel after the concerts were cancelled they had no hesitation in refunding the payment.
I certainly intend to stay at the Morrison the next time I visit Dublin. I do not intend to purchase tickets for Garth Brooks ever again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank DGK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed at the Morrison for a concert in Dublin. Really enjoyable stay, on check in was given warmed cookies to enjoy in the room with a cup of tea which was a nice touch!! Location is perfect, walking distance from everywhere and just a few doors from the Jevis car park, the hotels affiliated car park. Didn't have evening meal here but did have breakfast the following morning and it was beautiful, loads of choice from the full Irish buffet, breads, meats cheeses and then a menu with made to order choices also, decor was stunning, very modern and clean, I would easily stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Áine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Aine O,

Thank you for your review of the Morrison, we appreciate your feedback as it is our most effective tool for continuously improving our service.

I was delighted to read that you particularly enjoyed our breakfast restaurant, Halo. We are very proud of our extensive offering at breakfast and the quality of the food, I will pass on your comments to our kitchen and Halo staff. I was also happy to see that you liked the new modern decor of the hotel since its refurb last year.

Thanks again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed one night in Dublin when we arrived and one night when before we departed London. The night we stayed upon arrival in Dublin was a blur as we were so jet lagged! The night we stayed before we returned to the USA was good with the exception of a 3 am wake up call by the fire alarm in the hotel. The location of this hotel is AWESOME!!!! The rooms were cool and the beds so comfy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VinoInAGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were so glad we chose to stay at the Morrison. The location on the River Liffey, a short walk across the bridge to the 'action'. We arrived early and they were most accommodating about holding our luggage. They also didn't mind when we needed to access it a few hours later to get our rain gear. The warm cookies were also a delicious bonus. The breakfast was fresh and delicious - one of the best buffets we have had. The staff was friendly and accommodating - we especially appreciated the bartender, Mark, who gave us lots of good tips. Because of him, we always made sure to stop at the bar before and after each outing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Debdono,

Thank you so much for your review of the Morrison Hotel, we appreciate your feedback as it is the best tool we have for continuously improving our service and the hotel itself.

I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with choosing the Morrison for your stay and found the location to be convenient for your trips needs. A special thanks for mentioning our staff and that you found them to be helpful and friendly, I will be sure to pass on your comments as the team works very hard to deliver excellent customer service and they will be glad to know this was extended to you and appreciated.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was nice and modern, with some great touches to the room like pink lighting and a built in chaise lounge. It was very comfortable and the location right across the Liffy from Temple Bar was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Maiko G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $240 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing