We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Redone and Well Located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautifully Redone and Well Located”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the Morrison for 1 night last month at the end of our short Spring Break vacation to Ireland. Although we were not in Dublin or at the Morrison long, we especially enjoyed our visit, including the hotel. The room was clean and well decorated with comfortable bedding and linen. The room had a modern look and lighting. Great TV too. Bathroom was nice and comfortable. We didn't do much else at the hotel and spend our time out on the town. The hotel is right on the river about a block down from the Ha Penny Bridge. Lots of shopping just north of the hotel and all of the downtown tourist sites in Dublin are very nearby. This was a great hotel choice for us. We really enjoyed it. Thank you.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 214 and would like to come back again soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pxisright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear pxisright,

Thank you for your recent post to Tripadvisor and for pointing out the many positive aspects of your stay with us.

As you mentioned, our location is ideal for exploring Dublin on foot or via the many transport links on our doorstep and although your visit appears to have been short, I am delighted that you were able to do so much while still enjoying the hotel.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back again and thank you for having chosen us in the first instance.

Kind regards,

Marion O'Connor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,525
    624
    100
    39
    8
See reviews for
354
1,057
95
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Morrison is located very near the Temple Bar area and close to a hop on, hop off bus tour pick up and drop off site.
The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms large, the amenities very nice. The bed linens were great, and the bath towels were large and soft.
The staff were all very friendly. Breakfast was excellent.
One complaint were the fire doors. They were closed at night and when anyone went through them, they banged shut quite loudly, so we heard that many times each night. Otherwise, there was no noise at all.
Parking was tricky -- the lot next door didn't open before we had to leave for our flight, so we had to find a spot on the street to park the night before we left.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Morrison in Dublin is now a Doubletree, but don't let this stop you from booking. It's not a typical Doubletree as in the USA. This property is nicely updated with efficient and friendly staff. Breakfast was simple, but good and included some ala carte menu items. The bar at night is a nice hang.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Blaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a very nice hotel...but the customer service, for a very friendly Ireland, was a serious disappointment. I try not to complain about stuff like this because I don't like to effect jobs. However, every time you asked a question, staff would roll their eyes or sigh. It was really obnoxious. Although I liked the hotel cleanliness and the rooms, I don't know if I would come back because it was so rude. It was like we were annoying them- when we just needed to check in and get a little information. Staff in the early morning-totally fine- very sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stpetegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear stpetegirl,

Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor. We were obviously very disappointed and concerned to read of your experience and apologise unreservedly for any aspect of your stay or staff interaction that fell below the standard expected at The Morrison.

I would ask kindly that you contact me directly on moconnor@morrisonhotel.ie or our Deputy General Manager, Paul Joy on pjoy@morrisonhotel.ie so that we may discuss your stay personally.

Many thanks in advance & kindest regards,

Marion

Marion O'Connor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Super cool hotel with up to the minute styling, really comfy beds, showers are really invigorating and bathrooms really clean. We stayed in the super huge suite on the top floor with dining room and sunken huge bath, great experience for us as couples and a chance to chill out after partying in Dublin. Service good, food good but for the same price you can eat in some amazing Dublin restaurants. Room service munchies are very good. Perfect location too.

Room Tip: Suites are amazing, try the weekend upgrades or book way in advance to get the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LateCheckout_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel for the St. Patrick's Day Festival. The location simply couldn't have been better as you are in the heart of the city, across the street/river from Temple Bar, and within walking distance of so many attractions, shopping, and restaurants it is ridiculous! That being said, the hotel has a rather steep price tag. Parking was a bit tricky and not complimentary, although hotel guests do get a reduced rate. The front desk staff was helpful but not overly friendly. My favorite interaction with them was when we checked in and received our complimentary cookie (it was delicious). The room was modern and clean, but not striking. We were surprised to find that the bathtub/shower seemed to be the only part of the room that hadn't been renovated, and it was cracked and worn. The fitness area was nice to have, although it was a bit cramped and awkwardly placed (you can't use one of the machines properly because some railing is in the way). There was quite a bit of noise in the room which we expected due to the holiday and location, but it was still a bit frustrating. The biggest disappointment of all was the hotel breakfast. At 18 euro we expected more than a few hot items, bread, a small selection of yogurt and fruit. The selection was very limited and was not particularly tasty. This was very surprising given the incredible breakfasts we experienced at other hotels in Ireland. The second morning we were there we dined at a cafe across the street and were much happier. We didn't try the hotel restaurant for lunch or dinner and you probably don't need to because there are so many good quality places to eat within walking distance. We had a wonderful time in Dublin and celebrating St. Patrick's Day, but were not very impressed with The Morrison hotel. Although the rooms and grounds are modern and clean, we simply couldn't find anything about the hotel that justifies the price (save for the location).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudoepossivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Front Office Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear tudoepossivel,

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor. I was sorry to read that your thoughts and experience on the hotel were overall mixed but that the location and our proximity to all the main areas in Dublin was a major plus for you.

I am afraid that we are unable to offer complimentary parking given our city centre location, but have managed to negotiate a local 24 hour rate with Jervis Street Car Park directly behind the hotel for all guests.

Our breakfast has to date received generally very positive reviews and can be availed of for €15 at time of booking or at check-in. We further offer an additional a la carte menu to all guests at no extra charge to try and ensure the best value alongside our extensive buffet is always offered.

In relation to your room and facilities, I am sorry about the issue in your bathroom and if you contact me directly with your room number on moconnor@morrisonhotel.ie I will remedy this, if we have not done so already. While our gym is small, and located over 2 floors, it was updated in November 2013 with state of the art Life Fitness equipment offering individual TV, Email and Internet connectivity on all machines along with a separate free weight area upstairs.

Finally, on our rates, we offer rooms from €139 per night and operate a best rate policy either through our own website or Hilton.com. We also run the renowned Hilton Honors program at the property, affording all guests who join to earn points towards free stays in recognition of their loyalty. Membership to HIlton Honors is free.

I again apologise if any part of your stay disappointed and hope that the above information helps in someway explain certain aspects of your stay.

Kind regards,

Marion O'Connor,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Very centrally located on the river and walk to Temple Bar district and Dublin Castle. Stayed on St Patricks Day so quite crazy in the area but very upmarket and classy hotel and bar. Extremely friendly staff and very helpful and fun. Left some clothes there by accident and they held onto them for me for collection. A little pricey for the night I stayed but it was St Patricks Day so, so was everywhere. Secure parking behind hotel on the next block at a discounted rate of €10 a night. I'd definitely stay again just for location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mungbean24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,841 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing