We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is located conveniently between Temple Bar and a large shopping area. I had a room with a nice view of the river. I did hear a bit of late-night noise, but it didn't bother me too much. The room was spotless, never a wait for the elevator and lunch in the hotel was really good. One interesting thing is that when you turn the TV on, it is personalized with the guest's name. Oddly, mine had some man's name-- which was kind of weird! I wondered if my name was showing up on somebody else's TV! I have to admit I found the light system all a little complicated-- though I've noticed more and more hotels are installing these.

The on/off bus stop is just a few blocks away, and the airport bus is probably a 10-12 minute walk away. It runs frequently and is much less expensive than a taxi.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    599
    98
    38
    8
See reviews for
341
1,002
88
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at The Morrison recently for 4 nights. This was the first time we had been back since the renovation. What brings us back to The Morrison is the location -central yet quiet; the ambiance - relaxed, very friendly yet private and intimate. Bit of a character change from the renovation and comes across more like the Hilton Chain than a private hotel as it seemed previously. In some ways I preferred it in its previous guise but there is no doubt that the renovation has created a more modern,cleaner, more sophisticated setting. We had a great stay and will return again. The staff are lovely and this is a great, relaxed place to stay. Request a room with a river view if you want to spend time relaxing in your room. Only criticism is that the modern seating in the reception area is prettier than it is functional!

Room Tip: River view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGA131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Opened the door and my wife was stunned. We had stayed in a five-star in London that was not this nice. The decor was great, the room spotless, and, like most people have already said, location was great, across from the Temple Bar area, but not so close you had a lot of noise. We got upgraded from a river view room to a deluxe, but we lost the view. Not that we were in the room gazing out the window a lot, so doesn't affect the overall. Walked to most of the venues, friendly taxi service or horse-drawn carriage to the rest. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view, don't go with the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

the hotel is like a business hotel...it was kind of them to upgrade us ...the location was excellent central to city attractions and all the party places, also several intimate and gourmet restaurants around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashna26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is review is comparable to the others. This hotel was in a great location, and all the amenities needed were in place and the bed was comfortable. There was a delicious warm cookie served while we waited for our room, which was a short wait and it was also an early checkin. The reception desk took care of our taxi for us for departure to the airport and it worked out perfectly.

No complaints here whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldwingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Morrison is in a great location in Dublin. We took the bus from the Dublin Airport and you get dropped off maybe 5 blocks from the hotel using the bus. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. My wife and I walked everywhere from the hotel. Michael Collins barracks/Guiness factory were the furthest walk and took us less than a half hour to reach both. Temple Bar district is a quick walk over a bridge across the street from the hotel. The hotel knew we were on our honeymoon and left us chocolates in the room. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but had drinks there. The bartender was very friendly. We wanted some pizza after drinks and since she was getting off work walked us to the pizza place nearby!

If the street noise (our room was facing the street) was less we would rate this as a 5. However, even with the low street noise we would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Another very good Doubletree experience. Stayed here 2 nights in early October/13 at the end of a 21 day journey. The warm cookie was a nice reception along with very helpful staff at check-in.
Hotel is very conveniently located near city center. The room was very clean, nice large towels and a very comfortable bed. The staff was really friendly during our stay which added a great memory to finish our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing