We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in on our entire journey through The UK and Europe.
The room was clean and well kept. We had a beautiful view of the river from our window. The hotel bar was a really nice place to relax and have a snack after a long day of sightseeing in Dublin. If we ever get back to Dublin, we would definitely stay there again. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlc143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    597
    98
    38
    8
See reviews for
338
1,001
88
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The two most important things for us are location and cleanliness. From this hotel, you can walk to all the attractions that are on the route of the hop on hop off bus. In addition the hotel is located between the two train stations that are within the Dublin area; the Heuston and the Connolly and both stations are within walking distance of the hotel. This is very convenient if you want to take a day trip to other parts of Ireland. The housekeeping staff was excellent. Our room was huge, smelled great and was very clean. The only thing I would say is the duvet cover is very heavy so ask for a top sheet if you don't like to wake up hot. As with any hotel located in the city you will get street noise and Dublin is no different. In addition, the Morrison has a busy restaurant/bar and the sound does permeate the room. Just bring ear plugs and you will be fine. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifesUnViaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

If your going to Dublin, Ireland I highly recommend this hotel. I took my family (wife and two teenage sons) of four to Dublin. We went out on an early flight. We arrived at the Morrison at 5:00 am. Our reservations were for 3:00 pm. No problem at this hotel. They provided my family with a room so that we could sleep and relax for the day. The hotel staff provided my family with excellent service, delicious breakfast, and with printing itineraries of train schedules and sightseeing routes. The rooms were modern and were meticulously clean. The best experience my family has had at a hotel ever! I highly recommend that you stay at this hotel it is centrally located to everything in Dublin but most of all it had spectacular service and people who care! A rare find these days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just stayed at The Morrison for four nights. It is a contemporary/modern hotel. Nice touch with the colored lighting on the bedside tables. Lots of storage space. Bathroom was clean and well stocked with amenities. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel is located within walking distance to many attractions. A room overlooking the Liffey is great. However be warned that there is traffic noise throughout the day and night. Also it's right across from Temple Bar so you get a lot of "happy" people outside most nights. If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. Despite the noise it was nice to to have a room that faced the Liffey.

There were chocolates and a hand written note from the manager waiting in my room when I check in.

I requested a wake up call which I got on time. Then a while latter got a call from the front desk to confirm that I got the wake up call. That was kind of them to follow up.

There are numerous restaurants near by. Many of the Temple Bar pubs have live music.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeReeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

tayed for 5 nights on July 2013. I had great experience. The location couldn't be more central, just 2 minutes walk from Temple Bar and 5 minutes from Dublin Castle. The rooms are very large and very well equipped and the bed extremely comfortable. The facilities are very modern but the interior designing is pleasant and warm. Breakfast contains wide selection of fresh products. The staff was friendly, outreaching and very efficient. They provided a lot of accurate information about the city. Overall, great experience.
On the negative side - one minor thing: their wake-up system isn't accurate. If you have a flight to catch the next morning I'd use a backup. But this didn't spoil the overall good experience.

Room Tip: At the first night there was a lot of noise in room 225 (probably due to some road construction that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoav221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as the start of our visit to Ireland. It is a very nice hotel in the heart of Dublin an easy walk to Temple Bar District, Trinity College, and major sites in Dublin. The breakfast was great at the hotel and we even got a nice upgrade on our room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

If your dream trip to Ireland includes Dublin, you must stay at The Morrison Hotel on Ormond Quay. Location, Convenience, Service, Amenities, Location, and WIFI makes this unbeatable. We checked into the Hotel at about 7:30am, after being up for about 20 hours. The staff wisked away our luggage and excorted us to the breakfast room where there was an abundant buffet as well as menu service. Our plan was to power through the tour at the Guinness Storehouse and the Jameson Distillery (for which we had 1pm reservations) before returning to the hotel for a nap. These two destinations are a long walk away, but very doable. We officially checked into our room around 3pm and were totally impressed with the comfort, decor and amenities. The best part was that it had modern HVAC and air conditioning!! Of course, we did not know how much we would appreciate this until our two week tour of Ireland was over. We never had AC outside of Dublin and it was never really "hot", but VERY muggy (we traveled August 9-19th, 2013). When looking for rooms in Dublin, I would consider AC a key factor because all of the city streets are noisy and pub lined (a good thing), so you will sleep better with adequate air flow in a closed room. The included WIFI worked flawlessly at The Morrison, too. The entire staff at The Morrison were outstanding as well. One of the cool things about Ireland is that thier version of a "buffet breakfast" is not like anything here in the US. There is no plastic utensils, plates, cups or bowls. Most of them, incuding The Morrison, had standard serve yourself hot/cold choices as well as cooked to order. It's not just one or two people trying to keep up with demand in a crowded little room. It's a dining room with plenty of staff and food is readily replenished, clear up until serving time is done. The staff checks on you and brings your beverage choices right to your table. The Morrison had one of the best of the 12 different places we stayed. If you are really picky, you might get bored (kind of like how the buffet on a Cruise Ship gets boring) but you can always just have coffee and a snack and save your appetite for other things later on in the day. Driving in Ireland and parking in Dublin were my two biggest pre trip concerns. Both of these went well for me because of how, specifically, The Morrison is situated. We did miss it, even tho I drove right to it, because the front of the hotel is a bar/cafe and the name was up high on the building. When we finally saw it, an easy left onto Jervais and the hotel had a large pull in area so you can unload and get parking info without blocking the street or worrying about a ticket. We noticed alot of places to stay in Dublin were not car friendly at all. If you have a car, be careful about where you stay for this reason!! The garage the Morrison uses has a special rate (I think 12 euros a day, with validation) and it is just 1/2 a block up on the left. It is covered and secure. The Morrison is just across the River Liffey from Temple Bar. We walked EVERYWHERE. However, we also took advantage of the 2day hop on/ hop off bus that had a stop near the Morrison as well. Tip--- there are 2 different hopon/off tours, which we did not realize until we were there. One is red and one is green. We picked red and I observed that the green busses were not as crowded and seemed to run a bit more often. They are the same price and go to the same places. I would look at both companies/routes on line before you go. We spent our first three nights in Ireland at the Morrison and it was fabulous. We walked into Temple Bar every night, and we walked (or rode the hop on) to all the cool places during the day- Christ Church, O'Connell Street, Trinity, Steven Square, etc. Temple Bar has spots open very late so I would not recommend staying inside this area if you do not plan to close em up every night! We loved the walk back across the bridge to The Morrison to collapse on our comfy bed in our comfy, dark, quiet room!!

Room Tip: They did not have a Pool. However, they have a very well equipped work out room. We did not use Spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing