We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, need better support”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed as part of a large group attending a meeting. Parking is just beyond the main entrance to the hotel and the hotel itself is very central. Reception staff were efficient and welcoming and quite competently stored luggage for the group after check-out.
The bedroom is of good size but decor is very bright and stark. TV doesn't have text. The bathroom is also spacious with a good shower head. The bed is comfortable BUT the 4 pillows were all the same & as hard as a rock, impossible to sleep on, others in the group commented similarly. We don't like sleeping with the a/c turned on and the room was very difficult to cool, even with the window open, which brought some street noise.
The group had a set dinner, of average quality with a pleasant starter, a very standard main course and a very poor dessert. The staff were most helpful, especially a very friendly Gavin, but management need to be more involved and give guidance to staff who are trying their best. Breakfast was good but not outstanding. The bacon, in particular, was poor, as was the toast.
The hotel is overpriced compared to many around the country but for its city centre location you probably have to pay a premium.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,325 - 2,331 of 2,626 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just returned from 8 nights at the Morrison, and can report that it was a great experience in every way. There were so many things to like, but I'll try and hit just the most important ones here. Most importantly, the location is directly across the river Liffey from the Temple Bar area, which meant that we were close enough to the Pub action and shopping in both Grafton and Henry Street areas, but far enough away to have a completely quiet sleeping experience. We had rooms that faced the courtyard, and would guess that rooms on the Quay side would pretty quiet also. The hotel is new and bright after a major refurb: the rooms were a good size by European standards (which translates to what you'd get in a standard American hotel FYI), shower pressure was great, the bathroom sink is large and there is plenty of counter space for two people, the towels were fluffy and breakfast was good with lots of choices. There is a kettle in-room for boiling hot water, and a selection of various teas, cream/sugar, and real cups/spoons vs. paper cups/sticks. The in-room safe is large enough to hold two iPads, an SLR camera, keys, iPods, etc., and would easily hold a laptop. Two elevators responded quickly and were good sized by European standards.

Service was excellent everywhere at the Morrison. At the front desk, for example--I realized at 6:00 a.m. (just before we were leaving for a day-trip to Belfast) that we would not be back in time to make our dinner reservation. No problem, said the lovely young woman at the desk: she'd take care of it (which she did) AND she managed to get us booked for the next evening. Service was also really good in the restaurants and in the bar: smiling servers in the restaurant kept coffee/tea refreshed each morning, and the bartenders were engaging and fun to talk with (one even made us a couple of cocktails to try--we were drinking pints at the time--and the cocktails were on the house!) When leaving Temple Bar area you simply cross the Millennium Bridge, turn left after crossing at the traffic light and the hotel is only a few steps away. I'd definitely pick the Morrison for another Dublin visit.

Room Tip: We experienced quiet nights in rooms on the courtyard; however, it's likely that rooms on the Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just spent 1 night at the morrison hotel. From the friendly, and professional lady we met on arrival, to the bar staff, and the dining room staff, they were all exemplary and excellent in their own area.
We stayed in a room with king bed, room 133 , the bed and the pillows were divine. The bathroom is big, with a wonderful shower and lovely toiletries.Lovely view of the Liffey, and not noisy.

All in all the only thing I am sorry about, is that we only had one night, the next time it will be longer.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Fiona.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I am originally from Dublin, but am currently living in Finland. My wife and I recently spent a week in the newly refurbished Morrison. We had thought about staying there before, but had been put off by poor reviews and tales of a hotel that was in bad need of a refurb. So, we were interested to hear that the hotel had received a much needed face-lift and decided to give it a try.
Here's a few of our thoughts:
The Morrison's location is close to being perfect, whether it's the night-life or the restaurants, cafes and shopping, the best that Dublin has to offer is only a short walk away. We asked for a quiet room, away from the quays, and were never disturbed.
The new decor might not be to everyone's taste, but the rooms are clean, bright and the bed's were very comfortable.
The breakfast is really really good, but we preferred to take a stroll across the river to the Queen of Tart cafe on Cow's Lane.
It is nice to know where we will be staying on our next visit to Dublin

Room Tip: Rooms away from the quays are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cunamara68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while on a business/pleasure trip and we were very impressed. The hotel is spotless, in a very convenient location on the river with parking facilities close by and easy walking distance to most of the attractions and amenities. The rooms are modern, spacious and clearly everything is new so you won't find chipped paint anywhere! The breakfast room is something else and made the wonderful breakfast an even greater pleasure....if that was at all possible. The staff are very helpful and friendly and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends or colleagues and will be booking again when I return to Dublin.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

So you're an American and you're visiting Dublin and trying to decide where to stay. Stay here.

This is a new property for Doubletree. It was an independent hotel called The Morrison last month. They are still transitioning to the Doubletree way of doing things - but I saw no real issues.

The hotel is half a block from the Liffey - that's the big river that runs through Dublin on Google Maps :-). You are a block from O'Connell Street - that's one of the main tourist drags. You are a ten minute walk from Grafton Street - that's the other big tourist street. There are hundreds of food choices within walking distance. The bus stops are nearby - the big red tour bus folks are a block away - the main bus station is walking distance - the train station is about a mile away. There are pubs and music spots everywhere. If you are a tourist - this is where you stay.

The Morrison - as it was formerly known - was named for Jim Morrison of The Doors. Throughout the hotel there are song lyrics painted on the walls. The concert venues are nearby and often the musicians stay at this hotel.

The rooms are nice and because the hotel is a block away from the O'Connell the area is quiet. I found the rooms very comfortable - much larger than a standard European room. The bathroom was awesome.

The breakfast was excellent - very nice selections. Best of all - breakfast is served until noon so late sleepers will not miss out.

Taxi to the airport ran 25 euro.

Overall - it's a winner.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent a week in Dublin at this fantastic hotel, with a great location, and with the exceptional, wonderfully friendly staff. So many things well within walking distance. The breakfast was well worth eating. The restaurant at noon and in the evening, ever so tasty, the best steak we have ever had (and we come from beef country). We are planning our next visit later in the year, can't wait to return. We will stay at no other hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, try for an upgrade to overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,710 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,303 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 152 in Dublin
2,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $200 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing