We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great staff and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in perfect walking distance to Temple Bar and other key locations in Dublin. The hotel has recently been redone and the rooms are large and comfortable. The lobby area,restaurant and bar area were also impressive but I really didn't stay there.
I have to say Daniel O'Connor may be the best hotel staff member I have met in years. He went above and beyond for us (I'm a Diamond member) in every way giving me and upgrade and my associate a new room after his had power troubles. He gave us great recommendations and even greeted us with coffee in the lobby one morning. Outstanding work!

The only negative on the hotel is that the gym is a joke. Almost no equipment, screens didn't work, etc. Fix this and you get a 5 from me!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    502
    88
    30
    7
See reviews for
279
852
78
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed four nights. Wonderful hotel. Great Location. Outstanding staffing throughout. Cannot wait to visit again. Staff truly cares for the guests and go way out of their way. Our scheduled (not though hotel) cab did not show up for an early picked up on a very cold morning. The desk agent walk to the main street to hail a cab....then stayed to assist with luggage......going way above and beyond. Staff answered questions with a smile and "you are most welcome" attitude that was REAL.

We have stayed at two other fine hotel in Dublin and while they were very nice......the DoubleTree will be our choice next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NAndersen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights after reopening from renovations and the rooms looked fantastic and was good value for money.
Great location, everything is in walking distance.
Staff were also very friendly.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stay in Dublin every week for work at the moment and thought it was about time I gave this new renovated hotel a chance. I stayed here pre-renovation and thought it was rather average so I was looking forward to assessing the new version.

I have to say that I am incredibly impressed with the changes. The rooms have been kitted out beautifully, with great furnishings and incredible televisions. Fantastic personal free wi-fi service and some really nice little touches. I also really like the bathrooms which feel large and clean.

Some colleagues ate in the attached grill restaurant a couple of nights ago and remarked that it was the best steak they'd had in Dublin.

Overall I'm very impressed - clean, comfortable, quiet and a good location. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Morrison has been a highlight in Dublin for years. The perfect comfortable and stylish destination. I returned post 'renovation'. The rooms have been done up in the worst way imaginable (unless you are a 5 year old girl). Rather than holding on to the previous design whoever they've brought in to do it got carried away - it's cheap and tacky. Comfortable sofa's replaced by plastic 'pleather' silver sofas; the rooms lit by neon boxes. It's trying to be something it's not. Beyond disappointing. Not at all geared towards business users. Ideal for a cheap 'hen do'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

In the hotel bar at 11.15pm we asked to order food and were presented with a menu with no vegetarian options so chose fish and chips. The waitress took our order then returned to tell us that food was only available as room service, and an even more limited selection at that. We said fine to put it on our rooms but we'd like to eat in the bar. They said no - their concern seemed to be that other people in the bar would then want to order food. But if they were hotel residents then why would it matter where they ate their food? And if they weren't residents, surely they could be told food was for residents only?

Also, the patisserie at breakfast were, if not exactly stale in the sense of being hard, then certainly not fresh. And the apples in the fruit salad had turned to mush from having been in there much too long.

Everything in the room was good though and the wi-fi was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymiddlenameisdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at The Morrison during the first week of March. Hotel is located on the Liffey River and short walk to Temple Bar area. Hotel has had a complete renovation and is beautifully decorated. We had a king room and it was very spacious and comfortable. All of the staff members were great, so friendly and helpful. Kerry and Rob at the front desk really went out of their way to help us. Dinner at the Morrison Grill was great and breakfast was equally good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiedero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,322 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,049 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants, bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the river. Henry St & Jervis St shopping areas are on the hotel's doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The 3 Arena (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite fitness room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Grill & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing