We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in Dublin”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for only one night but I wish it had been longer. This hotel was wonderful. The rooms and beds were clean and comfortable, the concierge was very informative and helpful and the garden was just beautiful. Location is perfect too - close to many great attractions and hotels.
The only reason I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 was that the WiFi service was terrible. I had planned to do some work from my room but was unable to due to really terrible WiFi connection.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kholihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your wonderful comments about my colleagues at concierge who were thrilled to read them. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you have more time to relax and enjoy The Merrion.

I was both disappointed and sorry to read about your difficulties connecting to the Wi Fi network particularly as our supply is at a very large band width. I have discussed your feedback with our IT manager and our Service Provider as Wi-Fi connectivity should be seamless here at the Hotel and we will take the necessary action to avoid any re-occurrence of this.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,001 - 2,007 of 3,526 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

perfect stay and perfect place;) close to everything , a wonderfull ( large ) pool , large rooms, nice garden and especially wonderfull staff: every one had a smile everytime . As it was my wife bithday , we had on top of that a fruit basket , some chocolates; a garden view, the bikes to ride to phoenix park were free; etcetcetc

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I'm slightly ambivalent about the Merrion. It's a beautiful building in a great location but the service provided at the front of house lets the place down.
A luxury hotel needs to be run smoothly at all times, not to have to keep calling to remind the staff that things need to be done. Apologies are swift - and generous - but better not get to that stage. The front desk needs to sharpen its act and the porters at the front need to be more American - greet, chat rather than looking like bouncers lurking around.
Rooms are lovely, well appointed (but come on - do you think your guests want instant coffee? A press and some ground coffee in the rooms, please) and everything is excellent. The 2-star Michelin in the building is worth a try; the Cellar restaurant does great seafood but needs some marketing as it was a bit of Crypt when we ate there. Beautiful garden. I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baribegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post a review following your recent stay with us.

While I was pleased that you rated your stay with us very highly, I was disappointed to read your feedback concerning certain aspects of your stay. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments in more detail if I may and I would be grateful if you would contact me directly here at the Hotel or on generalmanager@merrionhotel.com.

I hope to hear from you soon and in the meantime thank you again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I took my girlfriend to Dublin for the night, and booked the champagne getaway. When we arrived, we were informed that we got an upgrade to a junior suite (I think I had pulled the heart strings a little...)
The room was so good we didn't really want to leave. It was huge, and everything is lavish and luxurious. The bed is about 2feet higher than any other I have stayed in, and the turn down team made everything look pristine.
We ordered champagne to the room and it arrived promptly and with a smile. And this is the USP of the Merrion - the service is out of this world. Example - you leave car with hotel and they take it away and park it for you. I left my coat in the car, my stupid fault. I told the concierge that I needed my coat, he was immediately on the phone to get it retrieved and apolgised for the delay. I said "Don't worry, I'm an eejit" - he wouldn't have it. He remained apologetic for the delay, all 2mins of it. But his apologising wasn't OTT or uncomfortable, just a genuine fella doing a great job.
The spa is awesome too, infinity pool is terrific so relaxing and therapeutic. Breakfast was delicious, really good quality - which frankly you come to take for granted.
Oh, and the Cellar Bar is wonderfully atmospheric.
Book a stay in this hotel, hope for an upgrade (if you aren't lucky enough to have a spare 1,000EUR) and revel in the luxury.

Room Tip: Get lucky with a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review following you and your girlfriend’s recent stay with us here at The Merrion.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did and I am delighted that you found the service so genuine and attentive.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in the Merrion Hotel as we were celebrating a graduation. The lobby has beautiful furniture and sofas where one can sit down and relax. Afternoon tea is well worth having and is an experience that is not costly for the service you get. The room was great and had everything one could want but its design and colour of materials used made the room into a room I can still remember. The service was top class and the breakfast was as expected great..I would rank it as the best hotel in dublin to stay in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ml042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the absolutely fantastic review following you and your family’s stay with us in August.

I was delighted to read your lovely comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your words of praise which are very kind indeed. I have shared your comments with my colleagues and they are very pleased that you appreciated their attentive care so much.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again and that your visit then will be as memorable as the last.

Thank you again for your words of encouragement.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Merrion hotel is rated #1 at Tripadvisor and also highly recommended by my friends from the US. Stayed 2 nights at their Deluxe King room.
Staff at reception, gym, restaurant are friendly and ready to help. The gym opens at 0630 but they made an exception for me to go at 5am.
Reception guy name Tomas is very helpful, upon seeing me at 5am walking to the gym, he followed me there as he's worried the gym staff in charge has probably fell asleep/not there.

Couldn't rate it 5 star as my room air-condition failed to work. Maintenance guy came first evening couldn't rectify it. Next morning I rang reception and the manager in charge told me she'll see to it.
We came back after a day's trip and air-condition still fails to work. Told them and maintenance guy came again. I got a standing fan but it was noisy and unable to make the room cool down. We were sweating in our room on both nights. Upon checking out, told the friendly reception that they shouldn't give out room that has faulty air-condition. He apologize but I felt unimpressed by this whole episode. Merrion could have done a lot better.
Good location, wifi works well and very good restaurant Patrick Guibaud but please make reservation in advance.

Room Tip: Avoid room 390 till they fix the air-condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at The Merrion.

I was disappointed to read that you experienced issues with your A/C during your stay and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience caused. This is not good enough and I have been assured by our Maintenance Manager that this issue has now be resolved.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

just what the dr ordered. we have had lovely time as usual, we love it here, flights in and out great, hotel never lets us down, well done the emerald island, will always return, home fro home....bless you xx

Room Tip: the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CelticPeople1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,644 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $282 - $808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing