We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to surpass”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hard to surpass”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at the Merrion for an anniversary night away and were not disappointed. From the first welcome and throughout our stay the staff were faultless. As with any well run establishment they are never in the way and always there when you need assistance.

We were upgraded to a room with a view in the old part of the hotel and would highly recomend this hotel.

The complimentary bottle of champers went down a treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

My colleagues and I were delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your words are so kind and I can assure you that they have given the entire team a great lift.

We are genuinely honoured that you chose the Merrion to celebrate your anniversary and I do hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again maybe for many more anniversary’s to come.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,694
    388
    102
    35
    22
See reviews for
589
1,631
103
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is fabulous. The rooms are gorgeous, the staff is friendly, it is everything you would want in an expensive five star hotel. Afternoon tea was splendid and they offered many tasty treats that my kids loved. But that pool, wow!! This hotel has an indoor pool made out of artisan tiles that is just spectacular. When you swim in it it looks like you are swimming under the sea!

Definitely the highlight of our Ireland trip. I love how the hotel looks hidden from the front, but extends very large in the back. Will definitely be back here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of you and your family’s recent stay with us.

My colleagues and I were delighted to read how much you enjoyed our Art Afternoon Tea and also our Tethra Spa, your words are so kind.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future and that your visit will be as memorable as this was.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I can say without reservation that this is THE NICEST hotel that I've ever stayed in anywhere in the world. If I could give this hotel 6 Stars I would.

What makes this hotel so special is the dedication to services and elegance. The property itself is stunning. The hotel marries old world elegance with modern comforts seamlessly. The staff, from the bellmen out front to housekeeping, are all dedicated to providing first class service and they do so with such sincerity.

I had mentioned in my reservation request that I was celebrating a special occasion and the hotel was so kind to upgrade me to a wonderful room French doors overlooking the gardens. The room and bathroom were truly spectacular.

Unfortunately I spent one night at The Merrion. I regret that during my stay I failed to really enjoy all of the amenities that the hotel has to offer. I did dine in the Cellar restaurant that adjoins the hotel and it was a fabulous meal. The food and the service were first rate in a relaxed and enjoyable setting.

While I don't find myself visiting Dublin regularly, I would most certainly stay here again in a heartbeat if given the chance. I would also recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates tremendous service and the classic elegance of a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luxurybarginlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the absolutely fantastic review following your recent stay with us which I was pleased to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the Cellar Restaurant. Every one of my colleagues’ endeavours to provide our guests with as comfortable a stay as possible and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable time. Your words speak for themselves really and have given the entire team a big boost.

We are delighted that we are your hotel of choice if you return to Dublin and I do hope that we have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future and you may have the opportunity to experience all other aspects of the hotel.

Thank you again for your kind words

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed there recently to celebrate my husbands 40th.
The hotel was fabulous and the service impeccable.
We had dinner in Guibaulds also ... superb
The room was a lovely size and beautifully furnished, but the bathroom was a bit outdated. Dissapointing to not have a proper shower (only one in the bath)
All in all a fabulous experience however.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share you and your husband’s experience with us.

We are truly honoured that you chose the Merrion Hotel to mark such a special occasion as your husband’s birthday and please pass on my belated birthday wishes.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was a fantabulous hotel in a very well-situated area of town. Within walking distance to all of the good stuff. There were bowls of really fresh Fuji apples all over the place, which were so welcome. The staff was super responsive and the rooms...well, we had two rooms. One was small and overlooked a nasty alley, and the other room was twice the size and overlooked the 5-star courtyard. They cost the same amount. So...ask a lot of questions when you book, I guess.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't give you a room looking onto the grimy alleyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and also that you availed of our complimentary apples.

I only hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Merrion a number of occasions and always enjoyed it.
The staff are wonderful & nothing is ever too much trouble for them, especially the concierge & portering staff.
I had the pleasure of spending my birthday there last week & for the first time ate at Patrick Guibaud.
There are few 5 star hotels in Dublin & whilst I’m always a Four Seasons fan the Merrion just has the edge for ambiance.
I love the Shelbourne too & always enjoy a drink in the Saddle room bar but the bar & foyer are always a bit too busy for any meaningful relaxation.
If you want a city centre location, with safe car parking ( always valet ) & exquisite cuisine you really have to just book The Merrion.
Check their own website for regular special offers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellefast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for sharing your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words about all the staff here at the Merrion.

Please accept my belated birthday wishes and I do hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon and for many more birthdays to come.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at The Merrion for about a week. Everything - room, service, food - was excellent. I have stayed in many luxury hotels, but The Merrion is now my absolute favorite. Not flashy. Understated and elegant. The staff is peerless. The property is beautiful. In Dublin, do not stay anywhere else. And when you do go, be sure to ask for a room in the main house. Just gorgeous.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cmmnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. It is such a compliment to be thought of as the best hotel in Dublin and both my colleagues and I look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,883 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing