We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Tea at the Merrion”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Arrived here at 2.40pm for a 3pm booking. Everybody was so hospitable and friendly. Was immediately shown to the bar as our table wasnt ready yet. Had a lovely pint while waiting although prices are a bit stiff so beware.
Art tea was absolutely superb. The collection of perfectly made sandwiches, different variety of tea, the smoked salmon, beef, scones, clotted cream and jam was mouth watering. The wonderful topping on this irresistible cake were the deserts. 3 deserts made and designed after 3 artworks in the hotel. Magnificent designs and very tasty to boot.
Add in the tranquil setting in the drawing room and the friendly, knowledgeable staff who couldn't do enough for us and I think this wont be the first or last time the Merrion will be seeing us as customers. Superb.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SMinihane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently about our art afternoon tea and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your experience with your visit to our Drawing Rooms for our Art Afternoon Tea. I have shared this with the Drawing Rooms and Kitchen teams and they say a very big “thank you” as well.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,122 - 2,128 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying in the Merrion on and off for the past 3 years on business and work and i have always meant to write a review on just how absolutely wonderful this hotel is. As a solo lady traveller i find the Merrion simply superb both for high standards of excellence and on amazing staff. From the minute i arrive the doormen greet me by my name and look after me with such kindness and are so welcoming. My luggage is always taken care of and the reception staff are so professional but equally welcoming. As i am alone i never feel nervous or uncomfortable far from it as every member of staff is always so kind and the room service is definitely first class. My room is in the garden wing and its always immaculate and so well taken care of and its just so nice to feel so welcomed everytime i stay. If anyone is a solo traveller and needs a truely wonderful hotel in Dublin then please pick the Merrion as you will certainly feel very safe, relaxed and you really wont want to leave. So i just want to say a big thanks to all the staff for always looking after me so well i really appreciate your wonderful 5* service.and well done to the Merrion. Mrs. G Kearney

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayathotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Mrs Kearney,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your wonderful comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel and I have shared them with all my colleagues. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys their stays as much as you do and I am glad you feel so warmly welcomed.

We are honoured to be your hotel of choice when visiting Dublin and I hope it won’t be too long before we have the opportunity and the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our first stay in Dublin was a bit challenging as my wife was quite ill; however, the wonderful staff and beautiful hotel made our stay more than comfortable. The Merrion Hotel must pride itself on its exceptional staff, all of whom are quite professional and caring. I was most impressed with the front desk crew, including the doormen; these staff often are the first impression for guests, and the Merrion crew were most helpful. The rooms, hallways, grounds and restaurant were well maintained and spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boblovesnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us and I do hope that your wife has made a full recovery.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to stay.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great service from every single member of staff I came into contact with. Professional yet friendly. Very comfortable public areas and a great cocktail bar. Cellar restaurant meal was very good. Room was immaculate and good size. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwlYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review following your stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your visits to our Cellar Restaurant and Cocktail Bar No 23.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Merrion is probably one of the best options in Dublin.
We had two adjoining rooms in the newer part overlooking the garden.
Rooms are comfortable, clean and super quiet.
Room service is outstanding, the BEST fish & chips of all of Ireland!
Great place!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front building are much grander and beautiful, but not set up for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeje68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and we are all thrilled that you consider our Fish and Chips the best in Ireland!

We hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Thank you again for your encouraging words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Dublin in part because of this great hotel. Perfect service, we felt pampered from the beginning to the end. Everybody in this hotel is very nice and deserve all the applause. Wonderful food and service at the Cellar restaurant. The Art Tea was perfect, in front of the fireplace, impressive artworks all over the hotel. Not to miss the James Joyce statue in the garden. Will stay there for sure if we have to go back to Dublin and recommend to anyone who love staying in wonderful hotels.

Room Tip: we followed the tip of another Tripadvisor reviewer and stayed at a Superior Room with Garden View a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cabinjohn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed The Cellar Restaurant and also our Art Afternoon Tea in front of our open fires in the Drawing Rooms; it makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys their visit as much as you did.

I do hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing couple of days with my wife at this super city centre hotel. We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant and a great meal in our room. The public rooms really are a relaxing area to sit and watch the world. I would highly recommend this hotel for some time out.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank CollieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are all delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to The Merrion!

Thank you again for your wonderful feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,189 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $282 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing