We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea not to be missed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I would just like to say thank you to all the staff at the Merrion hotel for a wonderful stay. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anybody. You really are made to feel that nothing is too much trouble. If I had to sum this hotel up, I would say that it reminds me of Fairmont hotels in terms of its excellent service and attention to detail, except with even friendlier staff.

The afternoon tea is definitely not to be missed! Sitting in one of the hotel's large comfy sofas in front of a magnificent open fire - while it was cold and windy outside! - enjoying a posh afternoon tea was a highlight of my stay:-) It was posh, but friendly at the same time! (You do need to book in advance for the afternoon tea. I was lucky as somebody had cancelled.)

I was also delighted by the hotel's artwork. They house an impressive varied collection spread throughout the hotel which is recorded superbly in a glossy catalogue which you can keep.

I have no complaints whatsoever about the food or the room we stayed in. I was staying with my 12 year old son and because we needed a twin room I was concerned that we may end up in a less attractive room. Instead the room was perfect. We were in room 325 which overlooked the hotel's gardens and charming rectangular pond. The room was a decent size, the mini bar was very well stocked and there was a flat screen TV - not overly large, but perfectly adequate, plus all the usual necessities: iron, hairdryer etc. Likewise, the bathroom was fine. I liked the modern all-glass shower cubicle.

Breakfast is very good :-) My son loved his full Irish breakfast, whilst I was more than happy with the buffet selection. In any event, the staff are very willing to get you whatever you would like. The service truly is second to none.

Although our trip was brief, we did try out the gym and swimming pool. There's not a lot you can say about a treadmill! It worked and was fine! The swimming pool is a good size. My son really liked it and said the water was the clearest he had ever been in for a pool. He wears goggles and could see the whole length under water! Its styled like a Roman sunken pool - to my mind at least - with a big fresco painting at one end on the wall. All very nicely maintained and very clean. I didn't have an opportunity to try the spa. I am saving that treat for next time perhaps!

In terms of location, the hotel is directly opposite the Irish Government's Parliament, as well as some art galleries. It is very convenient for town and the sights in general. I really enjoyed the stroll I had with my son around St Stephen's Park - even though it was raining! Although the hotel is lovely, I did miss it as I first went past, as it does not have a very showy exterior like some other hotels. However, there are doormen outside, so if you just look for them, you can't miss it!

I will definitely be coming back to this hotel when I have the opportunity :-)

Room Tip: There are rooms in the modern wing and in the main Georgian house, so you will need to decide what a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill_Walsh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us so comprehensively.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your words are so kind and I can assure you that they have given the entire team a great boost. They all join me in thanking you for sharing your appreciation with us. I am particularly pleased that you found the time to enjoy our Art Afternoon Tea along with our collection as it is a favourite of our guests.

Thank you again for your encouraging words and we are very happy that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to The Merrion during your next visit to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,530
    363
    96
    32
    19
See reviews for
547
1,533
92
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Merrion is a great hotel in a perfect location for exploring Dublin. We arrived early, but they whisked away our car and bags to let us head out on the town. That theme of outstanding, friendly, and efficient service continued throughout our stay, from our constant requests for directions, through the front desk service (including exchanging dollars for euros at a good rate with no fee), through the restaurant. Our room was not huge but was comfortable and well-appointed, with high end fixtures and separate tub and shower. We faced the internal courtyard, which was quiet and peaceful in spite of the fact that you are in the middle of a large city. The lobby and lobby bar were a lovely, welcoming taste of this Georgian neighborhood. Continental breakfast was included with our package and was excellent -- fresh fruit, yogurt, baked goods, and the best homemade granola of our trip. We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant and found the food and service both exceptional and well-priced. An overall excellent stay, and we would recommend The Merrion to anyone looking for a comfortable, convenient, friendly five-star experience in the heart of Dublin.

Room Tip: Not sure if the rooms that face the street are quiet, but our courtyard-facing room was extremely qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlyjoeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently which I was delighted to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. It is extremely heartening to read your words of praise for my colleagues as each and every one of them strive to provide a memorable experience for our guests.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lots of charm in this older but well maintained hotel. Lovely cave-like bar downstairs.
Wonderful dining room also. We had dinner and breakfast there. Close walking distance to St. Stephen's Green and onward to Trinity College.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is located in the Georgian section of Dublin. The discreet sign is easy to miss, but that is part of the charm of this first class hotel. From the moment of our arrival, everything was delight, smooth and professional. The room was lovely with a fantastic bed, marble bath with separate tub and shower, and very quiet. It was an easy walk from here to the sights and sounds of Dublin, with the National Art Gallery across the street. High tea and cocktails are served in the drawing rooms and outdoor patio [which overlooks the lovely courtyard gardens. The spa has good services and a quiet, calm atmosphere, decent price for a good therapeutic massage. A buffet breakfast is offered at a fairly steep price for what is offered- basically a continental breakfast, but it is convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjd190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and you have as an enjoyable stay as the last.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at the Merrion for a "splurge" Anniversary celebration, with the breakfast included and a Brown Thomas shopping promotion. Staff were uniformly excellent, the room was quiet and very comfortable. The Hotel was sold out but it felt at times like we had the place to ourselves. The breakfast could meet any need and the basement breakfast room was well appointed and serviced by attentive staff. We had a very good first night meal at the Cellar Bar. The "23" room on the main level is open 24/7 for guests to get drinks and food. We has some late night snacks in the lovely setting: understated, refined elegance.
Location is great for walking to the main sites. The shopping package was worth it, and we ended up with a nice sweater from Brown Thomas.
Taxis: 30 euro from airport to Merrion, 25 euro from Merrion to airport: not sure why the fares were different.
The only con: it is expensive.
One other note: the Merrion is looking to expand into an adjacent building, but I think any construction is at least a year out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjstjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and we are honoured that you and your spouse chose to stay with us to celebrate your special occasion.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you again for your most encouraging words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Positives - great location, excellent swimming pool, great breakfast (though first morning, the service needed a bit of a prod) and special mention to the front door team who took away and brought back our car each day (the parking is well worth it even at E20 per night).

What wasn't so good? The rooms in the newer block felt a bit dated (eg showers poor by today's standards for a hotel of this price) and because the old part of the hotel is used for afternoon tea and only has the very expensive rooms, you don't feel really part of a great old style hotel. Front of house OK but no better and despite arriving with our luggage at 10.00, knowing rooms wouldn't be ready until 3pm, when we returned at 3, one of our rooms still wasn't ready.

We enjoyed our stay, but without feeling it was exceptional. That said, we did leave comments and will give credit to the follow up from the hotel within a couple of days which shows that they do care about their standards. The rooms we were in are apparently in line for a refurbishment, addition of coffee machines, which would have made a big difference.

Room Tip: Check status of refurbishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review following your recent stay with us here at The Merrion.

Firstly, may I say how genuinely appreciative I am of you taking the time to post a review and for completing our Guest Questionnaire. Further to my colleague Garrett Power’s conversation with you, I am glad that you recognise that we do listen to our guests and your comments have been taken onboard fully.

I am pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us on the whole and all of us are delighted that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back again. As mentioned please do not hesitate to contact either myself or Garrett if we can be of any assistance in that regard.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Merrion is located beautifully in Dublin. It is in walking distance to Trinity College,Dublin Castle,Great restaurants,shops and bars and many other sites in a beautiful part of town. The brick townhouses are beautiful and the room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful.
The public rooms were beautiful and although we did not have high tea, it looked fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillSL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Jetsetter, LateRooms, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing