We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Merrion's location in Dublin is truly top-notch; steps from shops, pubs and culture, it could not have been better. The hotel is a charming brick town house in style, placed in a lovely residential area -- yet it is quite large is size. The lobby and public rooms were decorated in beautiful furnishings, modern art and white marble. The interior courtyard and gardens were lovely looking and the spa area was great, (with an excellent lap pool). Upon our arrival there was fruit, chocolate covered strawberries and juice in the room. We had a very early flight, so we were brought an amazing room service selection of breakfast goods, in great quanity. The service was very good throughout our stay and we look forward to going back to the Merrion sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us here at The Merrion.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am delighted to read that you plan on returning to stay with us in the near future. I only hope that stay is as memorable as your last.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,530
    363
    96
    32
    19
See reviews for
547
1,533
92
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our travel agent got us an upgrade we hadn't requested, so we ended up with a three-room suite with fireplace and marble bathroom. The location in the heart of the city is excellent (everything walkable), the common rooms have fires going, the staff will do anything for you, the grounds are beautifully landscaped and perfect for an afternoon respite, and the Irish breakfasts are superb. We could have moved right in!

Room Tip: Stay away from the five-star restaurant within the hotel. You might have to mortgage your house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minorleaguemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visits to our beautiful gardens and to our Drawing Rooms which are always a favourite of our guests and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, atmosphere and rooms. Cellar restaurant was lovely for breakfast and dinner. Both houskeeping and roomservice were very quick in responding when i needed/ wanted items. Concierge and doormen always very polite, helpful and proactive. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rh1anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Merrion for a city break in Dublin. The location is excellent, in the Georgian quarter, but right on the Hop-on-hop-off sightseeing bus route and walking distance from many of the main sights. the hotel is extremely well kept & maintained, clean, elegant and classy. The room and bathroom were spacious and excellent, give or take one or two minor plumbing foibles, and there is a nightly room and turndown service. The service is impeccable throughout -- efficient, responsive, and professional. Staff are also unfailingly courteous and friendly -- something that unfortunately could not also be said of all our fellow guests. One strange tradition is the lighting of fires in the lounges every day of the year which in a warm spell made them uncomfortable. Traversing to and from rooms in the Garden Wing inevitably involves walking through those lounges (an unfortunate layout feature in our view). The concierge and porterage are also excellent, and valet parking and retrieval of the car was 'seamless. The Cellar Bar is very good for informal eating and light meals. The main restaurant is good but very pricey. With a '4 for 3' deal and complimentary car parking we felt we had good value for money at a top notch 5-star hotel. If anything would make us think twice about using the Merrion again it would be the cold, aloof atmosphere created by many of our fellow guests -- but a hotel cannot choose its clients and maybe we just hit an unfortunate week in that respect.

Room Tip: Use the Hop-on-hop-off buses for sightseeing Dublin -- stops almost right outside the Merrion &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. Your feedback is extremely heartening, very encouraging and has given us all a big boost. I have taken your observations on board fully and we all look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just for one night in September, but wish it was longer! The hotel itself is beautiful, so elegant with lovely grounds and drawing rooms, but it is the staff who make the experience such a special one - nothing was too much trouble from ice to extra pillows to an extra early breakfast. The Irish breakfast was fantastic. Well located, we will certainly stay again on our next trip.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your wonderful comments about my colleagues who were thrilled to read them. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you have more time to relax and enjoy The Merrion.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We only stayed one night here last month as we needed to find somewhere in the city before we moved on to our next destination.
When I go home to Ireland we normally stay at the Ritz Carlton down in Powerscourt so we have certain expectations on good service and accommodation.
The Merrion is arguably know as one of the best hotels in Europe perhaps the world so its reputation did precede it.
Even in our short stay there were several examples of where this service was impeccable in fact I would almost say the staff were almost telepathic to our needs! Small things, nothing elaborate but enough to make you think to yourself afterwards that was bloody impressive!

Room Tip: If you don't want breakfast say so when booking - it'll save you €30pp
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x5pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the absolutely fantastic review following you and your family’s stay with us in August.

I was delighted to read your lovely comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your words of praise which are very kind indeed. I have shared your comments with my colleagues and they are very pleased that you appreciated their attentive care so much.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again and that your visit then will be as memorable as the last.

Thank you again for your words of encouragement.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did not go passed the lobby. Unfortunately, when we visited this last weekend, the Merrion was full. However, our hotel's lack of a lobby meant that we were forced to head to the Merrion to see whether they had room in their lobby for us to sit for tea in the early afternoon. The lobby at the Merrion is filled with interesting art and furniture, and is a lovely place to sit and have tea. We'll be staying here if we ever come back to Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillLondon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your all too brief visit to The Merrion last weekend!

I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate you to stay over on this occasion but my colleagues and I are delighted that you plan to return to stay soon and please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can of any assistance in advance.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing