We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just stayed here for my second time. Very attentive staff, nice warm rooms, pleasant pool. Nice food in restaurant. Location is second to none. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short city centre stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini_moi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,661
    378
    100
    34
    20
See reviews for
578
1,610
101
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent a night here last summer,2012. Got a good deal only a day or two beforehand, as far as I can remember by booking direct.
Given a magnificent room with very comfy beds though this one lacked a decent view, but perfect to come back and change/sleep in after enjoying the City. Bathroom goodies by Asprey - no diamonds within though. Still, the name looks good in my bathroom too! Sorry, how naff! For a brief stay it is ideally placed - just off the beautiful Merrion Square and opposite the impressive Government buildings. Museums and Galleries close by and the main railway station is within walking distance - the other side of the Liffey.
Wonderful public rooms, great for people watching, sipping cocktails and taking tea. Room service impressive too. Uniformed doormen to fetch and carry...
The hotel is actually made up of two or three Georgian townhouses, much extended to the rear, one of which has a blue plaque proclaiming it as the birthplace of the Duke of Wellington - yes, that one.
Much acclaimed smart restaurant, but as I was paying for the meal we settled for the The Cellar Restaurant - clearly very popular with Dubliners and with good reason. Still quite pricey and worthy of dressing up.
Didn't have a chance to sample the spa..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 505loneranger505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review following your stay with us last summer and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Merrion gets everything right. As expected: the rooms are extremely comfortable and well equipped, everything is well maintained, the bar has a wide range of good wines as well as interesting cocktails, the breakfast is scrummy and the spa and pool inviting. But the real joy is the warm atmosphere. Faultless and friendly service, the smell of the turf fires, the tasteful furniture and outstanding art collection all combine to make it nearly impossible to leave. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A true 5 star experience. We arrived early and were upgraded to a junior suite! The service was impeccable; the room very well equipped and had everything we needed. There was always a member of staff available if we needed anything. Recommend the Cellar Bar for food and great service. Spa was perfect after a day’s shopping and site seeing. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite - Its well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am delighted to read that you plan on returning to stay with us in the future. I only hope that stay is as memorable as your last.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We treat ourselves to a stay in Dublin city every now and then and this was our first time staying in The Merrion.. From the valet parking to the reception to the comfortable quiet rooms( not to mention location/open fires...).I would highly recommend... All staff are so professional and courteous and as it was my husbands birthday(although he only mentioned it in passing)there was a little birthday treat in the room for him...its the little things that make a hotel stand apart from the rest(Not to mention Danny De Vito and Michael Flatley staying the same night!)and we will definately be back,hopefully for longer next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about your stay with us here at The Merrion; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again. I am glad we were able to commemorate your husbands birthday in a small way and thank you for choosing to stay with us on this special occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This a an excellent hotel with a very relaxing atmosphere. I bet the best in Dublin. Room quality and comfort are of a superior category. So was breakfast, up to the top standard of the hotel. Needless to say that all the staff is very professional and courteous. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierluigi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Merrion for 7 days recently. This was our third time. They were good
enough to give us a double bedded room at the single bed rate. It had been about 16 months
since our last stay. There has been quite a change in personnel, which is sad when you had
such a good time previously. The new people were just as friendly as always, however things
seemed a little more disorganized. One thing, they had our days which were to have
breakfast completely messed up. But I am sure things will get straightened out. The service and atmosphere is way above all the other hotels we've have stayed at. They are always ready to help and answer questions. Fortunately, David, a lounge server is still at Merrion. It is so nice to
be able to come in at 2 AM and have a leisurely snack and drinks in the lounge, and in front of
a Fireplace.That cannot be equaled with any place I have stayed at. I will stay there again when
in Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again. I was disappointed to read your comments about some organisational problems regarding breakfast and would welcome further details from you about this so I can follow up thoroughly.

Thank you again for your words of praise and I am delighted to see you plan on staying with us again. to that end please don’t hesitate to contact us in advance so we can make any arrangements on your behalf.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,808 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,447 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing