We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“husbands birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“husbands birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I treated my husband to a saturday night stay in the Merrion in January. Staff made every effort to make his stay special. We were upgraded to a suite. A chocolate treat was in the room on arrival with happy birthday on it. The bed was huge and very comfortable. We had dinner in the cellar restaurant which was part of our overnight stay. Again when my husbands dessert arrived it had happy birthday written on the plate.
Overall a fantastic experience. Such a pity it was only for one night. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am delighted to read that you and your husband had such an enjoyable stay. May I take this opportunity to wish your husband a belated happy birthday and thank you for choosing to stay with us for this special occasion; I am glad it was a memorable stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of having you both stay with us again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,586
    370
    98
    33
    19
See reviews for
563
1,567
97
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tianjin Region, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

As an Irish man who lives abroad -(and who has lived and worked in Hotels abroad for the last 20++ years and currently runs one of the best Hotels in China? and VP for a Hotel group there ) ) always nice to come home and this is my "new home" when I come to Dublin visiting friends and family etc. -used to stay in another property owned by a certain celebrity with Liffey views
but it has deteriorated over the years. Visited The Merrion just before Christmas as had to be back "home" in China for Christmas -outstanding -Real Irish hospitality at the Merrion -from reservations to pre arrival to check in to room with nice touches and superb location -great breakfast -too salty bacon but maybe just my taste!! Concierge and doorman knowledgable and helpful -overall just world class -great and friendly receptionist -good to see Irish Hospitality at its best -thank you !!

Room Tip: Rooms in main house ARE GREAT overlooking Government buildings -walking distance to main shopping ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fintanBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. We are honoured that The Merrion is your “new home” on your visits back to Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

If I or any of my colleagues can be of assistance in advance of your next stay please don’t hesitate to contact us directly.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

we stayed here last w/e for the second time and were not disappointed. The staff are highly trained and have wonderful manners. Nothing is to much trouble. we both has a wonderful massage in the Spa. My husband had a bad back and housekeeping provided a board to go under the mattress. We had a very cosy evening in our room watching a movie and had a delicious dinner served . Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosalindAymestrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read how much you and your husband enjoyed your stay and very pleased that you returned for a second visit. I only hope your third stay will be as enjoyable as the previous ones!

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here whilst on business in Dublin. It is one of the best hotels I've been in. The rooms are fantastic with clean modern furniture and huge comfy beds and brilliant en suites. The staff are friendly and helpful. All this does come at a price and it is a big one! They even charge residents extra to park a vehicle on site which I thought unreasonable. A lovely hotel but to be honest, on the pricey side.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Initially I was slightly underwhelmed by the hotel lobby until I understood the principal of the hotel decor. Its walls are a blank canvas painted in basic colours for the purpose of displaying many excellent quality paintings. The lounge and bar are cozy with a welcoming fire in each. The rooms and spa facilities are of a good standard but thought the pool temperature was a bit low. What stands out for this hotel is the level of quality service by the staff. All were very welcoming and knowledgable. Any queries were dealt with efficiently. The welcome and engagement by all staff including maintenace people and cleaners was genuine.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am particularly delighted to read your comments about my colleagues. They all genuinely wish to bestow the highest possible levels of care and attention on all of our guests so your words of acknowledgement are appreciated greatly. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and I only hope that stay is as memorable as your last.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

As usual, brilliant. The service is second to none, they can't do enough for you. The room was amazing, and the bed was the size of a football pitch. (well it felt that way). If you want afternoon tea (another experience) you MUST book in advance or you will be disappointed. The spa treatments are costly but well worth it. (again, you must book in advance). The only niggle was the breakfast... a fabulous choice unless you happen to be a vegetarian. I wish we had discussed this with the staff, as I am sure my daughter would have been spoilt. Our 4th time here and certainly not the last.

Room Tip: always go for the most expensive your budget will allow... such comfort..... we always have the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaddingabout7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of you and your daughter’s experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again. We do make every effort to cater for our vegetarian guests so it is a pity this was not brought to our attention on this occasion.

Thank you again for your encouraging words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel .We have stayed in many hotels through out the world and this has got to be the best.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite,which was truly superb with a wonderful bathroom.
This hotel is beautifully run ,there are always plenty of staff around to cater for your every need.

The staff are excellent ,always friendly and ready to help without being at all condescending,always ready to go the extra mile.The front desk and concierge were always superb.
I could name many ,but Laura in the Cellar resturant stands out particularly .
The food in the Cellar Resturant is excellent and although the menu hardly changed over 3 days,there was plenty to choose from.We would recommend the prawn starter.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Dublin and is very convenient for all areas.We had a very enjoyable break here and will definately return when in Dublin again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark8jagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and for such kind words of praise.

I have shared your review with the entire team here at The Merrion and they all join me in thanking you also. It gives us all a big boost when someone enjoys their stay as much as you did and we only hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you to stay with us once again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing