We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

My first trip to Dublin was enchanting!
I enjoyed it and can't wait to go back.

The hotel is in a great location from great restaurants, shopping, bars and pubs.
The suites are lovely, nice decor, cosy, traditional and modern.
The bathroom was a good size and luxurious. Always a big plus for me.

This hotel has a certain elegance and history. I enjoyed my stay very much and can't wait to go back.

Good shops too!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cupcakebrown1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us during your first visit to Dublin.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am delighted to read that you plan on returning to stay with us in the near future. I only hope that stay is as memorable as your last.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,522 - 2,528 of 3,489 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently spent two nights at The Merrion Hotel in downtown Dublin and had a marvelous stay.
Our King bedded room was quite lovely with a large sitting area and a fireplace that was just ornamental.
The entire staff of the hotel were very accommodating' especially Patrick at the Concierge Desk.
We will definitely use it again if we return to Dublin in our travels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here including Patrick at Concierge and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was our second stay at the Merrion this year when "home" from Paris to visit family. There is just something about the whole tone at the Merrion that is appealing. The service is friendly yet extemely professional and courteous. The atmosphere is cosy with lots of class: beautiful common areas where guests can enjoy a wonderful collection of art. Bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. Spa, pool & gym areas are extremely well equipped with attention to detail. The location is second to none: a short stroll to Merrion Square and to some of Dublin's finest attractions: the National Gallery & Trinity College. The only problem....we no longer want to stay anywhere else in Dublin!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am delighted to read that you plan on returning to stay with us in the near future. I only hope that stay is as memorable as your last.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Easily the best hotel I have stayed in, from the moment you arrive to the minute you leave your in the lap of luxury.

Staff absolutely brilliant, so charming and friendly restaurant fantastic food amazing.

We went for our friends 50th birthday, this hotel made it a weekend we will never forget.

Room Tip: f you stay go for one of the deals, we chose dine and dream which was fantastic vale for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonboots11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you and your friends have another memorable stay with us. Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel this weekend. In Dublin we always stay at the Merrion or the Four Seasons. We recently had our third baby and the Four Season were no longer interested in accommodating us with our small children. Not so the Merrion and especially Sheila in reservations who couldn't do enough for us. Our Delux room in the Main House was elegant and comfortable with wonderful bathroom and everything you would expect in a five star. But, like so many others have said, it is the professionalism and courtesy of the staff that make this a truely wonderful hotel. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minnie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. I must say we get a great “buzz” when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

I am delighted to read that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and do let us know if we can be of any assistance in the meantime.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Merrion is beautiful. Unfortunately I did not stay at the Merrion, but I did go to tea there with my brother and uncle. They went mostly to appease me and sit down after walking around a lot. We had a gorgeous sunny day and the terrace area with the fountains was so relaxing. Although tea was not high on my brother or uncle's list of things to do, the experience ended up being a highlight of our trip to Dublin. The food, service and ambiance was incredible. I will definitely return.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank travelgirl1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful gardens which are always a favourite of our guests and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just back from a 2 night weekend break, and pleased to say we hope all going well to make a return visit.the staff are all so pleasant especially the doormen , they do a really great job.
We used room service quite a lot this visit, and found it to be of a very high standard.
The staff who took our orders and the delivery staff were all so professional but very friendly at the same time, this can be difficult to achieve but no such issues here.
The spa area is lovely and very well maintained.
Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KildareCian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,568 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,194 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $286 - $746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing