We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the cost of staying here!”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was not the most expensicve hotel we have ever stayed at, The Merrion is definitely one of the very best hotels we have stayed at ever. Its location is perfect for walking to dinner, pubs, tourist sites, shopping, etc., and the Hop On Hop Off Bus stops almost in front of the door. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with no amenity overlooked. Staff are all amazing.

Room Tip: Wish we had known to book a room with a view of the gardens or Prime Minister's residence. Our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2WorldTravellers416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear 2WorldTravellers416,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,506 - 2,512 of 3,446 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Excellent hotel.Friendly staff.Great rooms.Without doubt a great 5 star hotel.Would highly recommend it.Bar prices are on high side but that unfortunately is the norm for 5 star hotels.Pool and gym are in the basement and there is no supplement charge.Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear baz1965,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you and I am delighted that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a super time here, the hotel was very well appointed, service not too in-your-face and the pool was lovely. In fact i can't think of anything to complain about apart from there being too many sweets in the mini-bar!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hotgreenfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear hotgreenfish,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

If your budget can stretch to stay at the Merrion you will not be dissapointed . From the moment you arrive you feel as if wrapped in cashmere , the ambiance , the service and the food . This is the yardstick by which city centre hotels should be meseaured .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Selectionbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear HeathcliffDublin,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

You have a lot of better 5 star hotels in Dublin then The Merrion Hotel.
Service was more of a 3 star. Breakfast was more than 45 minutes after we placed are order.
The room was a disappointment small and old. Service from the bar to the front desk is slow and
and not attendant .You pay for the Merrion Hotel reputation but I saw none of it.This was my second and last time for The Merrion Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

Needless to say I was disappointed to read your comments about your stay and clearly your experience of staying with us was not to your liking. I can only hope that you will be so kind as to contact me directly either by phone or by email on generalmanager@merrionhotel.com so I can follow up in a more specific way and perhaps persuade you to return to stay with us so as we can restore your faith in the Merrion Experience.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed in many deluxe hotels over the years. The Merrion ranks among the finest in all the criteria we judge a hotel by --service, room size and quality and restaurant service and quality. The size of the room, quality of the furnishings, closet space and bathroom fixtures were outstanding. The concierge, reception and bell service were as good as they get -- the employees acted as if we were old and good friends for whom they were doing a favor. Quite remarkable. Breakfast was delicious and our drinks and dinner at the Cellar were memorable. The Merrion is conveniently located in an upscale but unpretentious area. There are good pubs right around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K-traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear K-traveler13,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about all aspects of your stay here at The Merrion. It is very satisfying for all the team here when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.


Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here last weekend very friendly and efficient staff make you feel very welcome. We ate in the cellar bar food was very nice.Breakfast once again service fantastic but to be honest the breakfast itself while very tasty was a little mean you wouldn't want to be starving. The only negative i have is that the rugby was on and after we had checked out we had planned to go do a bit of shopping on grafton street but we were not allowed leave our car in the car park so we ended up just going home spoilt the day a little. It felt a little like we have your money next please. I understand they were probably very busy but we checked out around 11 going by hotel policy check out is 12 after spending 300 plus you would think a couple of hours wouldn't have mattered considering check in is 3pm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us, we really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it.


While I was very pleased to read your very favourable comments about the team here at The Merrion I am sorry that your stay ended on less than a positive note considering we were unable to look after your car. I can assure you that in no way were we trying to “rush you” and I am genuinely sorry that this occurred. Perhaps you would be so kind as to contact me directly so I can investigate this matter further.


Please be assured that we value your comments and take them on board fully and I sincerely hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.


I hope to hear from you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,151 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $286 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing