We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with warmth”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights--the night before my wedding and the wedding night itself. The welcome was very warm and of course I appreciated the upgrade given upon check in. The lobby, gardens and rooms are decorated very well, Georgian in style but with a fresh feel. The lobby has a relaxing vibe (not stiff at all), which is probably why it's always crowded for afternoon tea. Aesthetics aside, I really like their approach to service: they were attentive but never obtrusive. Noticed this especially when my bridesmaids and I were taking photos around the hotel. The food was also great, both room service and in the Cellar Bar where we had our wedding nightcap. All in all, The Merrion may not be crowned the most luxurious hotel in the world, but it is definitely an elegant place punctuated with professional as well as personal service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curiouscities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear FlyingKiss,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,336)
There are newer reviews for The Merrion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,593 - 2,599 of 3,336 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

I always stay in the Merrion when visiting Dublin. On this occasion it was a business trip and it was nice to return to a relaxing evening in a comfortable hotel. A friend joined me for drinks in the lobby followed by dinner in the Cellar. Staff friendly without being OTT, my room was very recently renovated. For me, whether traveling alone or with my husband from County Cork, I have yet to find a better spot for rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Nice pool, gym small but perfectly adequate. Art collection superb.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichF18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear RichF18,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. It is particularly rewarding to hear such positive feedback from a regular guest and thank you for coming back to stay with us time and again.

To that end I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Myself, husband & toddler stayed in this beautiful hotel over the Easter weekend and had a fabulous experience. The suite was stunning and so comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. I had a facial in the Spa and felt re-energised after it. On Easter Sunday, we went to the Egg Hunt in the gardens - my toddler loved the excitement. The Lindt Easter bunny was a lovely touch. Also the complimentary hot chocolate was very welcome. We had dinner in the Cellar restaurant and it was devine. The waiters were extremely attentive and the food & wine was top notch. Breakfast was very good also. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear R C,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a
visit as much as you did. I am also delighted that you all had such fun at our Easter Egg Hunt in the gardens.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you and your family back to stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We attended a wedding here and stayed overnight. Obsolutely fantastic experience, staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food was superb.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishFtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Went to the Cellar bar with colleagues for some after-work drinks. Nice place to meet up, didn't feel over crowded or noisy, it had a good selection of drinks, was ideally located with the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisMarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in the Merrion for one night. We are a couple with young children living in Dublin celebrating a significant birthday and enjoying a night off from childcare! We left the children at home. Everything was great - my only hesitations were: room was in old house which was great but a little old fashioned: no ipod dock, power in shower was very low. These things didn't bother us too much but might bother someone else. Also we ate in the cellar restaurant, which was good except for dessert - we both had different desserts and neither were good. And we are not fussy about desserts usually!! They were poor. The rest of the meal was great though and we had a great bottle of wine. We were on a deal booked through the hotel website: B&B, champagne on arrival and dinner in the cellar restaurant, and car parking. We thought this was very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here over a weekend recently and it's a stunning hotel run as a 5 star hotel should be, with the appropriate facilities and and excellent breakfast. We also sampled Patrick Guilbaud's excellent restaurant on the Saturday night which is pretty much a peerless dining experience in Dublin.

The Cellar bar is also very nice and offers a good contrast to the No. 23 bar.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizarreDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,989 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $331 - $705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing