We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“The best....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Overdue review - Stayed for 5 nights at this elegant hotel. It was November 2010 and this hotel could not have been more luxurious and cozy. Close proximity to sites. Helpful staff and delicious breakfasts. Our suite was traditional, roomy, with my own dressing room and closet. Large spacious bathrooms.
My husband and I attended 3 Michael Flatley - Lord of the Dance's shows at the O2 during our stay. These shows, combined with this hotel, various galleries/museums we visited and restaurants we dined at, made our Dublin visit sublime in the chilly (all too short days) of November.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celticmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,206
    302
    78
    28
    18
See reviews for
464
1,324
79
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We arrived here on Saturday just after lunch to be greeted a friendly porter, who took our car away to park it. Check in was very quick and we were very pleased to be upgraded to a bedroom in the main house. The room was beautiful and very spacious and the bathroom well equipped with “Asprey” toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.
It was such a glorious day and we decided to explore the city. St. Stephens Green and Grafton Street were only a short stroll away.
We had our evening dinner in the Cellar Restaurant in the hotel. The menu was very well explained by our server Damian who was I believe the bar and restaurant manager. He was very knowledgeable and was great craic into the bargain. My wife had a goat’s cheese mousse for starter and she said it was one of the best she had ever eaten. I did not have a starter. For mains we had cod and a rib eye steak and again both of these were exceptional. Desserts were also very nice and everything was beautifully presented.
Breakfast the next morning was also of the highest quality.
I cannot finish without mentioning the staff. Each and every member of staff we encountered were extremely polite, courteous and well mannered. Service was superb and I know the manager Peter MacCann is very proud of them all and rightly so.
I look forward to returning in the not too distant future and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Just arrived back from a lovely 3 night stay for my 40th birthday. This hotel is the nicest I've stayed in. My thoughts echo other reviews on here. Understated elegance would be my short description. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and a lot of other hotels could learn lessons in the way The Merrion is run. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and am already saving up to return!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed for one night for our wedding anniversary. The excellent service starts on arrival with the valet car parking service and welcome by the reception staff. The hotel is elegant and understated, with beautiful drawing rooms and open fires. To our surprise, we were upgraded to one of the rooms in the main house, which made the entire stay extra special. We had booked a one night package which included champagne on arrival and dinner in the Cellar Restaurant. We were guided to our room by Tina who was exceptionally friendly and professional; like all of the other staff in the hotel. Quite simply we have never experienced service like this. The room was gorgeous, with a huge bed, a lovely bathroom, classical decor and with a very relaxing atmosphere. Cleanliness throughout the hotel was exceptional. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent. The staff and service at this hotel set it apart from all the others. It is THE place to go for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Visit O'Donaghues Bar around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fi3996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had a fantastic 3 night stay at the The Merrion. We were in a standard room (130) in the garden wing with a window on an alley. We did not care about the view because everything in the room, hotel lobby, spa, basement Cellar Bar, breakfast room, and gardens was gorgeous. The multiple lobby rooms were very popular, with people having a great time sharing tea or a drink in front of constantly burning fireplaces. Our room was very comfortable, with bathrobes, morning paper, tea/coffee maker (you have to request it) and a good queen bed. From the friendly costumed doorman to the sweet waitress that brought us a drink in the amazingly beautiful lobby, the staff were all attentive and cheerful. The location was a short walk to restaurants, parks, museums and most Dublin sights. Perfect ! We thought the breakfast prices were too high (24 euro for continental), so we had a delicious breakfast around the corner at the Boulevard Cafe for much less. We had a wonderful dinner at Fallon & Byrne, a wonderful brasserie, as well as the restaurant Balzac. We would definitely recommend the Merrion and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The service and the room at The Merrion were absolutely first rate! A superb experience from the time of arrival until departure. Fabulous and friendly staff, beautiful and well appointed room (recommend staying in the main house rather than the garden wing), and a very fine informal restaurant/bar in the basement (Michelin rated restaurant as well, but we had dined too well by the time we got to Dublin!).

Room Tip: Stay in the main house, rather than the garden wi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southerncal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Visited the hotel's Cellar bar. Great venue for lunch or dinner, comfortable and very cozy. The food is reasonably-priced and very well-executed...the bacon and cabbage is excelent as is the organic pork sausage. Service is unobtrusive, friendly and efficient. All in all, a good Dublin dining experience without needing a bail-out for the bill.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Don35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westbury
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,256 reviews
The Marker Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
The Croke Park
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing