We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #5 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

my husband and i were traveling throughout europe and stayed here for a night in dublin--the price was amazing and the staff were so friendly. they always had answers to our questions and even gave us detailed directions and advice when needed. comfort level was fine, it's a hostel. things were clean. the bathroom in our room (shared with 6 people total) had no shower door so the entire bathroom was soaked when we were down showering. overall cute, clean, friendly, cheap hostel in the middle of dublin--amazing location. would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarynk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had stayed at barnacles for 3 nights... and What to say...fantastic location... great comfortable mattresses and pretty decent breakfast. Only thing is that there are no elevators and the sound from the street below can be loud depending upon the night which your staying...WiFi is just Ok.... best reception in the Chill out room and kitchen.... I would recommend taking the 4 or 6 bed dorm and of coz you can make a lot of friends....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zabeelshafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hello to travel lovers from Šibenik,croatia


well,we went there in the end of october,prices are ok .First of all,location is sick,it s not in the centre ,it's in the centre of centre ,only literally 10 to 5o meters from temple,quays and other bars,it can not be better.The hostel has extremly clean room,hot showers,central heat,at every day you here some performer 20 meters of your hostel playing,The room are small,but it depends of your luck,you have for same price bigger room for 4 and smaller,for example,Breakfast as usually butter,jam,bread milk.Useful information if you want to park you have somewhere in centre Q park 6 euros for 12 hours,and when you go out from hostel from your left side you go fovard 50 meters on main street and there you have Spar self servise where can you lunch less for 5 or 10 euros aproximately,and a shop that is working 24 hours a day,You have a big kitchen on second floor suitable for drinking at at evening..It can be noisy at evening,but ,well, what you expect if you slepp 10 meters from temple,not to much do,Alslo IMPORTANT THING,hostel froze on your credit card for the week after you check out the same amount of cash that is charged to you for the first night in the case if you don't cancel on the time,and then froze and return your money on card week after,call recepcionist to deal this.In my case hostel was full of discusting britiish they are disaster,for party,,but it was end of season,and it was little bit americans,spanish that we met and we party with them,I recommend you to stay in this hostel if you are young ,and like party,If you are old don't.Party is on every step round the hostel,and staff is excellent,they didn't charged us so many things for example towels,adaptors.I recommend to you this hostel,it s the best one in Ireland i have slept.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have stayed in other hostels in Dublin before, and even though I was only here for two nights.. this hostel is by far the best. Really friendly staff, clean dorms, cosy common room (where you can easily meet other people) and best of all was the location (it's literally just up the road from Temple Bar). Will definitely come to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The location is great - the people working there are super nice and extremely helpful. Hygiene is slightly questionable, but then again, it's a hostel. Ask for the cheap parking spot ;) They have access to a reduced rate!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I guess the best thing of this hostel is its location, it's located 15m away from Temple Bar. But I had some inconveniences during my stay there. There are no elevators/lifts! So if you're travelling with a huge suitcase as I were, be prepared for that. The heating of my bedroom didn't work the first night I was there, and it was freezing in the room! I couldn't use wifi in my room, I had to go to the corridor to have a signal! But lots of young people stay there, it's a great place to know people!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele Caroli... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great location. Despite being in the noisy and busy Temple Bar area, my 10-person room was quiet at night and as a light sleeper, I slept fine. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel was clean and safe, the guests in the room were considerate of others. The only downside was that there was only internet access in the kitchen or common room, not in the bedrooms. There were outlets right next to all of the beds which was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,333 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
938 reviews
The Morgan
#40 of 150 in Dublin
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,579 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $20 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing