We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cheap rooms do not make up for the lost sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #5 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Probably the loudest hostel ever visited on my many tours of Europe. The windows do not keep noise out and you almost have to leave them open because of how hot it gets in the room. There are huge groups of high school children that stay there which makes it nearly impossible to use the kitchen or get a quiet moment. Great location to get anywhere in town and the staff are truly friendly. Grocery stores two minutes walking distance. Bars all around. Ensuite bathrooms a plus. Bring earplugs and eat out and it might be more enjoyable. Also, the breakfast is terribly simple...toast and jams and concentrated juices. Bring your own towel and lock.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El-orence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at Barnacles twice while I was in Ireland recently and both times were great. The rooms were comfortable, showers and bathrooms also good and it was a bonus they are individual to each room. The location is also great if you want to be in a busy tourist area in Temple Bar.

The only issue I had was that when I needed assistance at 7am one morning nobody was at the front desk when it was all open, but it wasnt too great an issue.

I have stayed in a few hostels in the UK and this was one of the best I have found.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at the Barnacles Temple Bar property for 4 nights near the beginning of June and it is probably the best hostel experience that I have ever had. As a young traveler who is forever on a tight budget, I certainly enjoyed paying $20 a night to be two doors down from the Temple Bar.

Everything in the city is within easy walking distance. I never had to use public transportation. The staff at the hostel are quite friendly and always ready with a map and a word of advice. I highly recommend taking the pub crawl that they offer as well as the free walking tour that starts at 11 each morning from the pub just down the street. If you arrive early, they will hold your bags for free but if you want them to hold onto them after you check out, it's 1 Euro per bag.

There were only two minor problems that I found which is why this is a 4 star rating instead of a 5 star rating. First, it is loud at night because of street noise. Duh. You're in the middle of Temple Bar. This wasn't a problem for me, but it might be if you are a light sleeper. One woman in my room was quite unpleasant all night by muttering about the noise. I think she bothered me more than the actual street noise! The other thing that confused me was the breakfast time. 9:30 is when they stop serving breakfast and for those party folks who stay out until the early hours of the morning and wake up with hangovers, 9:00 is a little early to drag yourself out of bed if you don't want to pay for breakfast.

But overall, the hostel was friendly, social, clean, and safe and I will definitely return the next time I am in Dublin, which I hope is soon!

Room Tip: It might be quieter if you are in one of the rooms not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryandvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I love Barnacles!! It was easy to get to from the train station. The staff was super friendly and chill and personable. You can't beat the price. The rooms are cozy. The staff will watch your stuff for free! They will also get a shuttle to take you to the airport for a price but it's very convenient. I loved the feel of the place: very friendly and it had character: creaking floors. Everyone in my room was nice. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we stayed in a 4 bedroom room and it was central and clean and nice. Really good value for the money, i would stay here again, but fully booked most time i need to go to dublin. Includes breakfast, and it is literally 20 meters from temple bar bar - you can't beat this location ! Our room was not loud as the window was facing into a courtyard

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkcat2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staying at the temple bar district was truly enjoyable. The beds were nice and I loved having a personal lamp to be able to read and not disturb anyone. The bathrooms inside the rooms were clean and nice sized, as well as having a rug was great. The area is popular and well lit so you will never be without something going on, however it can get slightly loud during the weekends. It is near pubs but it is pretty expensive area to go out to drinks. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially with the amount of luggage they have to deal with everyday.

The area is nice and close to everything you would want to do, although it is a little bit hard to find. Wifi wasn't great in the room but otherwise there wasn't that many problems. Overall GREAT LOCATION, GREAT ROOM, GREAT PLACE AND GREAT STAY.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmerebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The location is fantastic. It's right next to all the overpriced bars in Dublin, but a short walk from where the locals go! It's walking distance from all the major sights and was very easy to find. The hostel's wifi signal wasn't great in the rooms, but the neighborhood has another free wifi network! Free breakfast was basic but much appreciated. The bathroom in my dorm was big and clean, and the kitchen has all the basics.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn_Santos_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,333 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
938 reviews
The Morgan
#40 of 150 in Dublin
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,579 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $19 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing