We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap and central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #5 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We just arrived back from a 3 day trip to Dublin. The Barnacles hostel was great. We had a double room. The room was clean, well maintained and the bathroom was clean.

The room was perhaps a little small but who needs a huge room when you should be out exploring. Balcony was great too.

I felt safe and secure leaving my stuff in the room and towels were provided each day.

Breakfast was of a good standard and kitchen clean. Common room was nice with two computers and a big telly.

Staff were very helpful and we felt we received great value for money

It was a bit noisy outside but thats what comes with staying in the Temple Bar area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tootsiebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2008

We stayed at Barnacle's in Dublin in January as we had a great stay at their Galway property and there was a discount for booking. Easy to find and right in the heart of Temple Bar (just up from the Temple Bar Hotel). We walked here from the railway station. The staff were great and check in was easy. Security was tight (which is not a bad thing). We had a double room which included a small balcony facing onto the alley. We have stayed in Formule 1 and Etap but I can honestly say this was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. There was so little room between the bed and the bathroom/toilet that the door would only open a crack and you had to enter from next to the bedside table. Wish I had taken a photo but we were rushing to get to the pubs. With our two large backpacks and day bags there was no room to walk and the only way to move around the room was to go over the bed-it was that small!. That aside the room was clean and tidy and included breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and the location can not be beaten. RIght amongst the pubs and restaurants. They also include 10 minutes free internet access. This is a great part of Dublin and the price is one of the cheapest you'll get. Sure, it's a hostel and all that entails but if you want more room, a better breakfast and more privacy then pay another 100 Euros at least ! We would stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ozcookie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Dublin was an interesting city. If you want to see it from the inside out, Barnacles offers that opportunity.

The security is tight. My husband and I were slightly bemused by the constant checking of ID cards every time we entered the building, but I guess they have problems with people sneaking guests in and out as they please.

We also realized why the security was tight once nighttime hit. The streets in Temple Bar come alive with amateur street performers. They're all a little frightening and worrisome, as they toss around flaming sticks with half empty bottles of liquor at their sides, but they also keep the people happy.

Be prepared, as the night continues, to have a whole lotta smashed folk about you. The Garda (police) will empty out your bottles in the cobblestone gutters, but it doesn't stop many from going to the closest corner store to buy another six-pack.

The hostel works for what it's purposed to do: pack folks in nice and tight for a drunk-fest of a weekend. We (newlyweds) were rooming with a young, post-pubescent football (soccer) team from England. It was a bit smelly and noisy, but just make sure to bring your earplugs and face mask. Hopefully you'll be able to sleep through first, the bottles breaking against brick walls at night, and next, the daily morning street-washing machines that hit the road at about 4am.

Over all, Dublin is a happy-hardcore little place full of a lot of booze. The hostel was clean enough, and one of the brighter, better decorated ones we saw along our European travels. The breakfast crew is efficient, but make sure you wake up early enough to grab your OJ and toast. If you find it hard to endure seeing teens lose their contents in back alleys at 11 in the morning, however, Temple Bar might not be the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank queenlinnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

I organised a trip for 20 people to Dublin for a weekend and Barnacles was brilliant. Its in a great location and the staff made booking for 20 easy as they were so helpful.
We had 2 dorm rooms, both of which were clean and had their own bathrooms.
A great place for groups to enjoy Dublin.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

Loved it! Super clean, great staff, nice common areas, great location, loved the storage lockers, loved the private bathrooms for each room, loved the price. I stayed in a 6 bed all female dorm room. It wasn't super quiet, but with jetlag, sleep debt, and alcohol from the nearby pubs, I had no trouble sleeping! Probably a good idea to bring earplugs to any hostel though, if you're a light sleeper.

They charge for towels, but not bed linens.

They have a free breakfast, but I slept through it unintentionally, so I can't tell you anything about it!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spamforjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

I stayed in a mixed 10+ dorm room w. ensuite, smack in the middle of the infamous Temple Bar area. The other guests were very friendly and even let me use their toiletries (My liquids weren't more than 100ml each, but the bottle was bigger). Though reviewers always say this hostel is surprisingly quiet, it was such a hot night we slept with the window open and there was snoring, so earplugs served me perfectly. The sheets were very clean... I loved the fact you could lock your bag beneath your bed (you can leave your bags with reception for free too) and hot water ran hot. A friendly receptionist explained the way to the train station. Well worth my 20 euro... I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kohlcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

I was in Ireland in Fall 2006, and stayed there for almost a week. Rooms are clean, service is basic but ok, you can lock your travel bags underneath your bed. If you see it as a drop point, and a place only to sleep, i think this is really fine. Well situated in Dublin, right in the heart of the city, you can walk all around for attractions. Because it's in Temple Bar, expected to be crowdy and noisy at night.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Buzzrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,332 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
935 reviews
The Morgan
#40 of 150 in Dublin
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,576 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $19 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing