We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value....for location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #5 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I were on vacation traveling Ireland. Stayed here for 3 nights. Yes the rooms are very small, but with all the old buildings that is hard to fix. And when you are gone all day at sites who needs all that room. They had a small closet and window shelf in our room which helped with the space. The room and bathroom was clean. We had a little difficulty with the toilet, but I am finding that in all of Europe. It did get loud as it was in Temple Bar area, but we knew that. Having an interior room might help that if worried about the noise. The staff was pleasant, especially the gal who checked us in in the morning. It is a hostel not a hotel so when rating it fairing to a hostel I thought it was a great value with the free toast and drinks in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidija R, Business Development at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hi Amo222

Thank you for taking time and leaving review for us.

We try very hard to offer value for our guests, and thank you for recognizing that. You get to stay at the best location in Dublin, and there are free breakfast to start you in the morning, free wifi, free internet and and you can even avail of free walking tour around Dublin! We have also won awards as the most popular hostel in Dublin and the best in Ireland recently, so you know you are in good hands.

I'll make sure to mention to girls on reception that you though they are nice, it will be much appreciated.

Hope to see you again very soon, either in Dublin or our sister property Barnacles Galway.

Lidija @ Barnacles Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

My friend and i got a private room which was very simple and a bit on the small side, but exactly what we needed, so we were off to a good start. The most incredible thing about this hostel, is its staff. Every single staff member i met were so friendly and funny, and they make you feel so welcome! I had the pleasure of meeting the Manager when i was so distressed due to having no money because of my debit card not being accepted in any of the atms or banks... i didnt even have enough money to call home or to my bank to get the problem sorted out. The manager knew i was upset and reassured me that everything was going to be fine and they would do everything to help me out, and did they ever! the help the hostel gives is beyond! You couldnt ask for anything more. Another important thing is Location... there is no way you can get a spot any better then at the barnacles where the temple bar is about 30 steps away. I had so many great memories here that im already planning on coming back dublin in August, and booking my room at the Barnacles Hostel!! Thanks for adding to such an amazing trip Barnacles!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalieee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ireland is always worth visiting. Especially when staying in a hostile in a great location. There was a kitchen which was very helpful and many cool shops and great places to stop for a drink. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Pros
Booked a double room, it was clean with very comfy bed!
Cons
Not the most welcoming/friendly place
In my opinion it lacked hostel charm, wasn't personal at all and dare I say too business like? Tea/coffee 1 euro and the area behind reception was full of items/food for sale. When I go to a hostel I want somewhere that's friendly and welcoming not somewhere that resembles a corner shop.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zand123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very good for a trip with friends to Temple Bar in Dublin. Nice social rooms (living room and kitchen). Everything you need in party visit. Wi-Fi is very slow. Nice stuff and location (in the same centre of Temple Bar).

Room Tip: Rooms for a 6 people with windows on the Temple Bar - very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Łukasz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a double room and were very satisfied with it. We got a double bed and it was clean and nice. Hostel is in Temple bar and you have to expect that is a little louder, but we didn't have much problems with that.Staff was friendly and ready to help, they answered all of our questions and gave us directions. Very big kitchen. We had a great time there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

stayed there for 2 nights in a twin room.
the staff is awesome and the location is great, right in the middle of temple bar but therefore it was pretty loud every night until 2 or 3am.
the room was clean but really small with a bunk bed. the bath room was so small that you couldn't sit on the toilet normally.
during our stay the shower always had only ice cold water.
wifi access was pretty bad and slow if you were lucky enough to catch a signal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThHaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidija R, Business Development at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear ThHaas

Thank you for taking time and leaving the review for us.

Yes, our staff are awesome and we are very proud of them. Temple Bar is absolutely amazing, and sometimes, some of the noise from outside does come in. We have earplugs available for light sleepers, which usually solves any noise issues.

From your reviews it looks like you stay more in hotels than hostels, which might be why you are used to bigger rooms. If you had issues with shower, you could have come to reception to inform staff as we are here 24/7. With some showers, the cold water comes first and the more the regulator is moved, the more hot water is mixed in. A little odd perhaps, but it is Ireland. As we have hot water in showers 24/7, it is unusual that you didn't get it in your room.

Our wifi works in our common areas, and if you were trying to catch the signal in your room, you might have experienced problems with it, as it is simply not meant to work there.

Unbeatable value, in the heart of Temple Bar, packed full of restaurants, pubs galleries and the Craic. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed Dublin, and remain at your disposal for any future queries.

Lidija @ Barnacles Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 126 in Dublin
2,229 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 126 in Dublin
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#7 of 126 in Dublin
1,115 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 126 in Dublin
354 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 126 in Dublin
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $28 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing