We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, Clean & Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #4 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cheap, Clean & Central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've stayed in many hostels all over the UK, and this has to be the best I've been to. There were 16 of us (a sports team), and the staff at the hostel were welcoming and accommodating from the moment we arrived (late on a Friday night) for a two night stay.

We had two rooms (a 6 and a 10), and they were nice and surprisingly clean - although the 10 room was extremely cramped, and one toilet and shower for so many people really wasn't enough - would recommend asking for one of the smaller rooms if possible.

Despite being in the centre of Temple Bar, this hostel was quiet (they are strict about late night noise) and if you keep the windows shut it's easy to sleep - although since we weren't out partying and had the rooms to ourselves that might be the reason.

Breakfast is included, toast and hot drinks - perfect! and free wi-fi in the common room (and, it seemed, the bedrooms nearby!).

As we were a travelling sports team we needed to store bags on the morning of our departure - they were happy to allow us to do this (LOTS of bags!) for only 1 Euro each bag, made life much easier.

Overall a pleasant stay - I would definitely recommmend.

Room Tip: Ask for a smaller room if possible (less cramped), and keep the windows shut to reduce noise from ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    393
    136
    40
    28
See reviews for
39
159
242
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Originally booked for a 10 bed room, my sister and I arrived at 11am to check in. We were unable to go to the room (totally expected) but we were able to store our bags for free while we grabbed a coffee. As the receptionist was checking us in she said that we had gotten a free upgrade and were now going to stay in a 6 bed room for the same price! The room was nice with it's own bathroom and had only 2 other travelers staying with us, so it was really like staying in a room with 4 beds. Pillows and blankets were on the beds already, and upon check out we didn't even have to bring them to the front desk (usually such a hassle). Bathroom was tiny, but good enough for a shower. Common room had computers as well as free wifi if you had your own laptop and usually wasn't too crowded. The location was right next to the famous temple bar and withing walking distance to literally every other attraction there was to see. Breakfast was toast with jelly and coffee or tea, great for being included in the price! Overall great stay! I would definitely say there again and book a big room in hopes of being upgraded! Best part was the super simple check out and perfect location for everything! Great stay!

Room Tip: go with a bigger room and if spaces are available they will upgrade you with no extra charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
424 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Barnacles for two nights in one of the 6 bedroom dorms in the basement. It was not a pleasant stay due to getting really bad sleeps. The walls were extremely thin and could here everything that was happening in the rooms around and above us. Also, the shower nozzle was broken and sprayed water all over the bathroom when someone showered. In addition, the internet didn't reach the basement so you couldn't use it from our room. I think that a room on a different floor would probably lead to a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I havent stayed in a hostel since I travelled abroad so wasnt sure what to expect from an Irish hostel but I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprized. The girl on reception was bubbly and friendly and first impressions of the building was good. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm and yes it was a wee bit small but that is no big deal.. The room was ensuite and both were clean. The beds were no comparision for a hotel but they were clean and reasonably comfortable so I would have no problem staying here again. It is right in the heart of the Templebar which is great for a night out :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We booked four of us into the hostel for our two night break in London, paying 15euro per person per night, amazing value for such an incredibly central location. We had originally booked into a 6 person room, but on arrival were given a free upgrade to a room for just the four of us, which we were thrilled with! The room was very clean and the beds fairly comfortable, I didn't notice the level of noise that has been mentioned elsewhere, but I am a very sound sleeper!
The breakfast was basic but ideal to start the day, and the staff throughout were friendly and helpful.
The highlights of our trip were undoubtedly the free walking tour of Dublin provided by the hostel, our guide was excellent and so knowledgeable, we were disappointed when the tour came to an end. After this we went on the hostel organised pub crawl, which was an amazing and brilliantly organised night!
I thoroughly recommend Barnacles as it is of a far higher standard that anywhere I have stayed previously in the same price range, we're already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h91c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the barnacles in a private room for two nights when we first arrived in Dublin. The room and ensuite itself was clean and tidy but quite small. We had to put our packs on the inside of the window sill as that was the only place we could fit them and still be able to walk around the bed! our room had access to a balcony which was shared with the next room. We didn't get a chance to use the balcony due to the rain. The location of the hostel was fantastic and right in the middle of temple bar. The breakfast offering was ok but best to get there early as the bread tended to run out at peak time and took a little while to be replenished which caused some big lines for breakfast at times. Space was also limited in the breakfast room so if you're a late riser you might struggle to get a seat at breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a very good hostel but I have stayed in better. If I was going back to Dublin I would look to see if I could find something better but the barnacles would be a definite backup option.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Six of us stayed here for a trip to Dublin and we couldn't have chosen a better hostel. We had an ensuite room that was kept nice and clean. Right in the centre of Dublin so perfect location for exploring the city. If you're not there to sample the drinking side of the city you might find the location a bit noisy. The windows aren't very soundproof so unless you are planning to be out late you might find it hard to get a full nights sleep. Very polite staff on the front desk who were extremely helpful and courteous. Would recommend to hen/stag parties or people passing through Dublin who also want to sample the night life.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#41 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Property: Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing