We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #4 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

the hostel was clean both room and bathroom clean. All bathrooms are ensuite. Didn't really get a very social feel here, as the common room and kitchen were on separate floors, not many people hanging out in either whenever we went in them. Front desk staff was very helpful. Only complaint was the cleaning person kept leaving the windows open in the room and bathroom during the day when they would come in to clean! This led to a freezing cold room whenever we would come back! It's dublin in January, close the windows!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    400
    137
    40
    28
See reviews for
39
160
247
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Great location and very traveler friendly! Make sure you do the Dublin bar crawl it was a great way to see Dublin bar scene and meet other travelers And the locals

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelsoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

It was great to stay here.
The Staff is really helpful and very friendly.
Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Three of us stayed here just before Christmas to attend attend a concert and we were pleasantly surprised. A 10minute walk from the bus station and we were right in the heart of Temple Bar. The hostel is right in the thick of it but we had a quiets night stay and the receptionist was very welcoming. We had a private room with four beds and a private bath on the top floor which was warm and comfortable. There is free Wi-Fi in the kitchen area but we were just there for the night. Would recommend for short stays again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechGuy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here with a group of eighteen on a stag weekend and we were split into two rooms, which meant we didn't have to share with anyone we didn't know. The rooms are basic, clean and contain a decent shower with lots of hot water (although reading some reviews this might be down to most being up early). We were read the riot act when checking in about behaviour but it didn't take long and we were each given a room key which opened a security door and our room door so our luggage was pretty safe in our room.

The hotel is right in the heart of Temple Bar and once you leave Barnacles you are in the thick of it which suited us, but if you are planning peace and quiet forget it. The noise from the bars goes on into the early hours which is then followed up by Dublin Council's fleet of road sweepers. The windows do not block out the noise at all.

For a small fee we used the left luggage facility on the last day to save carrying our bags round and the reception staff organised a couple of minibuses to take us all back to the airport. As for the price, we each paid around £18 for two nights which is a bargain, In fact it's the only bargain you'll find in the most overpriced city I've every visited.

Also for a great breakfast (for the bargain price of £10) try the Stage Door Cafe which is just round the corner from Barnacles.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyschippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Just comeback from the trip in Dublin and sleep in this hostel was really nice we book the room for 6 people in 1 room was clean, has a bathroom inside and is in the perfect location if you would like to go out in typical irlish pubs. Hostel has a fully equipment kitchen with is really nice. I would recommend this hostel to anyone with wants to stay couple of days in Dublin and be in the centre location.

Room Tip: Privite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rado1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed in the Barnacles Temple Bar hostel for 3 nights in August. The hostel is in an absolutely fantastic location, only a couple of minutes to the bars, within walking distance to pretty much all of the attractions and only a few minutes away from the bus tour bus stops as well!

The staff were really helpful and friendly and gave me loads of advice on where to go, what to see and even discounts that I could get.

Free breakfast was a plus and the reading lights above the individual beds were useful as well.

It is very loud at night so if you do want to sleep this probably isn't the best place for you but if you're looking to enjoy the Dublin nightlife and meet some new people then this really is the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Property: Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing