We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #4 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Has potential...”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I want to start with a positive - the room we stayed in was cute, comfortable and clean.
Now the negatives - we stood in the reception area for ages before being served, the luggage storage room was tiny and the shower was cold due to a big group that had just checked-in. If you are looking for peace and quiet this probably isn't the place as it is just up the road from The Temple Bar.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest_Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    407
    139
    45
    30
See reviews for
40
164
256
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Lots of stairs if on 3rd floor. Had early flight on last day, lots of noise but was expected. And also has window so more sound. Stayed in double bed private with ensuite. Squishy but good enough. Wifi not in rooms only in common areas bit annoying. Awesome location and good security!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovinItAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botkins, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

People complain about this hostel being noisy at night time, but it's the trade-off you get when staying at a place in such a great location. The Temple Bar is literally right outside the door, so making it home after enjoying a night at the pubs couldn't be easier. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are small but clean and brightly decorated. The common room is a great place to hang out if you find yourself needing a break from sightseeing, and there seemed to be a greater sense of community at this hostel than most I've stayed at. However, there was an unexpected, refundable security deposit when we arrived. I think it would be hard to leave this place disappointed unless you're looking for something quieter.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank goettear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Was travelling with a friend through Ireland and stayed at Barancle's at both the beggining and end of our trip.

I can say that I would not have stayed here if I were on a romantic trip with my wife, but for a couple of buddies who wanted to be close to the tourist attractions and the pubs, we could not have asked for better.

This place is clean, safe and efficient. The common room with books, maps and computers was very useful and they give you 15 minutes of free computer time per day.
The rooms and bathrooms are quite small and the area noisy at night, but for our use it was great.

The only thing that was bothersome, was that we had a skylight in our room that did not have a blind on it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stinz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarnaclesHostel, Business Development Executive at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Stinz3,

Thank you for taking the time to review Barnacles Hostel, Temple Bar. We delighted you chose to come back again and stay with us at the end of your trip also.
Located in the heart of Temple Bar, our hostel is the middle of all the action. It is for this reason, many of our customers chose to stay with us – everything is on our doorstep. Unfortunately, some noise can travel through to the hostel from people enjoying Temple Bar. We provide free ear plugs to any guests if required. We have dorms available to the rear of the property available for any guests sensitive to noise.

Thank you for letting us know about the missing blind in your room. We will check the rooms to find the one with the missing blind and have it replaced.

We hope you come to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Susan Connell
Business Development Executive
Barnacles Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This hostel is in a great location. A short walk to everything. Rather loud at night because it is right in the bar/party area of Dublin however. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel was clean but offered the bare minimum. Locks and sheets were not included. There was only one very small bathroom per room. And the breakfast was the worst I've ever had in a hostel - sliced white bread.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoganan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I received a warm welcome from the friendly (and may I add quite cute) front desk guy. I had a ton of questions for him and he patiently answered them all. The rooms were small and the bathrooms were like an airplane but still very comfortable. I was in a 4 bed room and it was really hard to put your backpack/suitcase anywhere. I left everything out for hours unattended (laptop and digital slr camera) and came back to all my belongings. Seemed pretty safe to me. I could see why people would think it was loud but I'm used to noise at home so it didn't bother me. Unfortunately I woke up the next morning with a terrible flu and couldn't imagine being sick in such a small space so I decided to leave and stay with family for my 2nd night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loopgrl5
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The staff was excellent and the location is terrific. Breakfast is included but it is literally just toast and orange juice. WiFi is free and they give you 15 minutes free internet on their computers. The common room is great and is a good place to meet other people at the hostel. Unfortunately they allow school groups to stay there so extremely loud drunk teenagers kept me up all night running up and down the hallway, screaming and pounding on doors. I say this hostel is best for high school and college aged students. Also, there is just a medium sized basket under the bunk beds to lock up your belongings so you have to trust the others in your dorm with most of your belongings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopgrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,195 reviews
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,735 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,462 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Property: Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing