We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
Ranked #67 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than expected!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Travelled to Dublin with 12 ladies for a hen doo and stayed at Clifden Guesthouse. We booked back in Jan and all the reviews looked terrible so us of us who knew where we were staying were a little nervous, however we were very suprised! Rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Beds very comfy and staff were so helpful, always someone on reception happy to order taxi.Big thanks to the reception staff who were very sociable and friendly! Bathrooms a little small and basic but we were told the bathrooms are a work in progress so dont let that put you off. I cant comment on price as i didnt book it but we paid £150 each for a weekend and that included our flights. Great place and i would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Andrea R,
Thank you very much for your kind comments and feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were happy with our facilities at Clifden Guesthouse. I have passed on your kind words to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Claudia Irimescu (General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    79
    60
    35
    24
See reviews for
76
71
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as a group of friends travelling from England for a weekend in Dublin. The receptionist told us the hotel had been under new owners only for a month, so it has recently been refurbished throughout, new carpets, decorations, beds etc. The rooms were really clean, clean towels given, there was 24hr reception and all of the reception staff were lovely, helping us out when we needed things like an iron, or with taxis, places to go, recommendations.
Our rooms were huge! With huge high ceilings, great big real fire places in the ground floor rooms, and flat screen TVs. Free wifi too.

The only small issue is the size of the bathroom, literally tiny (imagine the size of a downstairs wc in a home, then add a shower cubicle in there too) But reception did tell us the bathrooms are next to be done as part of the refurb so I'm sure this will change soon.

So all round, lovely clean hotel, friendly staff, good location and worth the money we paid which worked out about £25pppn

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DanTee_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Dan Tee_27
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Clifden Guesthouse. I’m pleased to hear that you found our reception team to be helpful and accommodating – customer satisfaction is something we strive for at Clifden Guesthouse, so we really do appreciated your feedback on this. Once again, I appreciate your review and we hope to welcome you back to Clifden Guesthouse in the future.

Best wishes

Claudia Irimescu
General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The customer service indeed exceeded my expectations over the amazing room, the attention to detail plus the cheapest price on booking.com Just great. the room were huge, warm and quiet, the quality of everything was good I am planning another visit and definitely booking in this place again. I have no clue how it got its bad revues.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denitsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Denitsa
Thank you for your kind review. Your feedback is very important to us as it ensures we maintain consistency in our high standards and services here at Clifden Guesthouse. It’s great to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our facilities, price and attention to detail – this is what we aim to do! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Claudia Irimescu (General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

There have been many bad reviews about this place but done let that put you off. Most of them are out of date. The hotel is under new management and they are trying very hard to improve the hotel. It has recently been redocrated, new beds and carpets. the rooms were spacious and airy. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was ok but still good value. I wouldstay here again

Room Tip: Avoid the one by recpetion, though spacious and great for a family it is a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Jules A
Thanks you for your review on Clifden Guesthouse. We are indeed under new management and have undergone a major refurbishment of all bedrooms, which as you say, are spacious and airy and we hope, ensure a most pleasant & comfortable stay. I am also so glad to hear you found our staff to be helpful and friendly – I will pass on your feedback to all the team.
I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
My kindest regards,
Claudia Irimescu (General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in a group of four. Location is a 15 minute walk from the centre which I personally liked. We were warmly greeted by helpful staff and shown to the room.

The beds were comfortable with nice clean towels. Soaps and shampoos were plentiful in the bathroom. We paid for private parking at 10 Euros a day which was fine. Breakfast was extra at 7 Euro.

As our room was straight up the stairs from the reception and the door wasn't too thick, it did get a bit noisy with people talking. Not obnoxious noise but if I stayed here again i wouldn't pick that room. As mentioned our shower was erratic sending out scalding water and then freezing. That needs to be sorted.

Fresh towels each day and beds excellently made so that was nice. Staff were friendly and helpful.

As someone else said, I would use this as a good back up option to stay in future.

Room Tip: Do not get room 14 just up from the reception as it gets noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sean C
Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated, as it highlights to us certain areas that may need attention. I am delighted to note that you felt that our staff were helpful and welcoming, as customer service is absolutely central to our service ethos.
I am sorry to hear you had issues with the shower and also with noise levels. We will, of course, take this on board and will bring it to our maintenance team’s attention.
Kind regards,
Claudia Irimescu (General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Despite all the bad reviews on here the hotel is now under new management and is definitely of a higher standard than previous. Our room was downstairs and had a double and a single bed. Beds are very comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful all newly refurbished with a great power shower. Refreshments such as tea and coffee are provided in the room and also bottled water and sweets definitely better than most hotels offer. The room has a tv too. Staff were very friendly and helpful, providing a hairdryer and booking a taxi for us.
Breakfast is not included but at €7 it's the best price you will find. The guy on the desk offered us breakfast for €5 if paid the day before but we decided to skip breakfast as we wanted a lie-in so can't comment on it.
Great place to stay about 10minutes walk from the spire. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to read of your experience at Clifden Guesthouse. I’m so pleased you noticed our high standards of service, as we have put great efforts in, to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Clifden Guesthouse. I’m glad to hear you were happy with your bedroom and our in-room facilities, including the treats!
I hope we can welcome you back again at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,
Claudia Irimescu (General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

So I booked in for the Quad room and arrived on 27th of Feb. The rooms were well furnished(not like the dated pics on their website) and everything was pretty much perfect. Good clean bedsheets, towels, shower etc.

The BnB is only a couple of minutes walk from O'Connell street so everything is very handy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Even brought us some orange juice when we got thirsty in the middle of the night. We paid 25 euro per night per person which was very reasonable and one of the cheapest rooms we could find in Dublin.

Would stay there again if I return to Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andycarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Andy,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Clifden House. As you already know, Clifden House is under new management  and we appreciate and encourage all feedback from our guests as your perspective is essential to achieving and maintaining the best possible standards.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Claudia Irimescu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#84 of 151 in Dublin
669 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#17 of 150 in Dublin
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kildare Street Hotel
#52 of 150 in Dublin
403 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#25 of 150 in Dublin
649 reviews
Egans House
#23 of 150 in Dublin
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments

Property: Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
Address: 32 Gardiner Place | Dublin, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifden House is a 200 year old 'listed' non smoking Georgian home with 17 ensuite rooms right in the heart of Dublin city centre, with secure car parking for guests even after check-out.Our Guesthouse is within a quick 5 minute walk to O'Connell street which offers convenient transport around the entire city, making it a great place to stay in Dublin.Experience the warm homely feel at Clifden House with it's kind & friendly staff. We cater for single, double, twin, triple and family stays.All 15 rooms are ensuite, with shower in lower rooms and full bath/shower in rooms on 4th floor, no elevator, with direct dial telephone, TV and tea/coffee making facilities.WiFi internet access available.Convenient easy access to ferryport, DART, LUAS, Busarus (bus station) and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing