We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Ranked #34 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

we recently stayed there for two nights and would definetely recommend this hotel to stay in.. from the moment we arrived until we checked out we were completely 100% satisfied with everything..the staff the rooms the cleanliness the food..everything was off the highest standard..will most certainly be returning..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucky3aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPeopleWhoCare, Guest Relations Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Lucky,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your kind words/experience!! Hopefully you're also a member of our Best Western Rewards loyalty program and received your BWR points for your stay as well!! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,441 - 1,447 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a lovely stay for 2 nights but take the blond rottweiler at the reception away. Apart from her, all other staff were very friendly and helpful. We had lunch and dinner in the hotel and both were good. Rooms were comfortable and pleasant with a somewhat smallish bathroom. Bus service to city centre is top and so is the local female talent :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syslord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPeopleWhoCare, Guest Relations Manager at Dublin Skylon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Syslord,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently, enjoyed the accommodation, food and beverage and you are absolutely correct, it is such a short trip into the city centre while we're also nicely positioned for a quick escape back to the airport when it's time to leave the city. We hope you'll think of us again the next time you are planning your trip to Dublin!! Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Perfectly situated, close to the airport and the city centre - a bus stop directly opposite!
Comfortable rooms, spacious and clean. Friendly and helpful staff.
Delicious breakfast, pub with an atmosphere!
Absolutely recommendable and worth every penny/cent!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hummeljette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here in March 2012 when attending a concert in the 02. From the outside it doesn't look too appealing but we thought things might improve upon entering. Which at first they did, the lobby is beautifully decorated. We checked in and went to our room. At first we noticed the room was so outdated. It didn't seem very clean and the furniture was horrible but we left that go. Looking out the window we were overlooking a dirty yard, out of our tiny window. We sat down to watch the tv for awhile and my boyfriend notice blood on our sheets! This is absolutely disgusting and not something you would expect from anywhere. We went straight to reception to complain. I must say, the manager was outstanding. I really wish I could remember his name. He apologised and upgraded us to an executive room, gave us a free bottle of wine and told the barman give us a few free drinks that night. We packed our bags and moved to our new room. If this was meant to be an executive suite, it certainly did not seem it. There was not much difference between this and the first standard room, apart from the door, and the room was a little more spacious. We went for lunch the next day and I asked for vegetable soup. No way was what I got vegetable soup. It tasted like someone had mixed toothpaste with a bowl of water. It didn't look or taste remotely like veg soup. I complained to the waitress and she told me wait 2 minutes and she went away, began cleaning other tables and completely avoided us!! How rude! After about 20 mins of her avoiding us I walked to the bar and asked to see the manager. I know it was only soup but the attitude of the girl was after annoying me and the soup was overpriced anyway. The manager gave me a refund and he apologised. I would never stay in this hotel again. It's filthy and I don't know how they get away with it. The only good thing about the hotel is the manager. He's wonderful. I recommend you book a different hotel anyway...

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkHotelUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here just for one night, a sunday, good deal via best western site.

Made to feel very welcome on arrival, very smooth check in and our room was available before noon.

Reception staff very helpful advising about taxis and nearby attractions.

Room was small but adequate nice and clean with reasonable facilities, hair dryer, iron, safe (free), freeview channels and pay tv. Probably would find the room cramped if using for more than a couple of nights.

Hotel a few seconds off o'connell street and seconds from an airport bus route. A short 10 minutes walk from temple bar with well lit streets all the way.

Breakfast was of an acceptable standard, buffet with reasonable choice including the traditional black and white irish pudding.

Hotel bar open an hour later than general bars and prices reasonable. We did notice many of the better hotels are cheaper than pubs for both food and beer.

Free wifi and free short use pc's in reception.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strongbowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Myself and my family had the pleasure of staying in the Skylon hotel for the weekend of the All Ireland GAA Final in September. Our weekend was one that will be remembered for a long time to come not only for the good result we had at the match but by the treatment we received at the hotel. The Reception Staff, Bar & Waitressing Staff and the even the Chef's all worked to a very high standard despite the large number of visitors to the hotel that weekend. The food was beautiful and the service was fantastic. We had a large excutive room with two double beds.
This was exceptionally spacious and spotlessly clean. This was our first stay at the Skylon as a family and we will definetly return. Would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thrilled419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything about the hotel suited our needs, but what really stood out for us was when one of the waiters heard us speaking in Irish, he engaged with us in Irish. We were delighted with this and it is important for our children to hear people in everyday situations being happy to speak in our own language. It is this attention to detail that sets The Skylon Hotel apart. We will definitely be back! I originally wrote part of this review in Irish, but unfortunately tripadvisors does not have the facility to cope with it, unlike the Skylon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siobhain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,656 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,509 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,668 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Skylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Skylon Hotel

Address: 27 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 V1Y2, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $83 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin Skylon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxurious hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is located ten minutes from Dublin International Airport and five minutes from Dublin City Centre. Croke Park Stadium is within walking distance. The Skylon Bar & Grill serves breakfast from 7.00am to 10.30 am. And you can discover the many delicious menu options at The Skylon Bar & Grill, one of the tastiest restaurants near Dublin City Centre. All our menus come with a suggestion of wines from around the world, a selection of craft beers and our extensive cocktail menu.Guests at the Skylon Hotel can expect the very best of Irish hospitality. Check in is after 2pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dublin Skylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylon Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing