We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Dublin Central Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dublin Central Inn
Ranked #83 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited Dublin for one week, and were very satisfied with Dublin City Inn. The staff was exceptionally friendly, and even allowed an early check-in (very much appreciated as we had been on an overnight flight). The rooms are quite small, but are clean and comfortable, and there are large windows that can be opened for a breeze and to listen to the street-crowd if desired. There is also a communal lounge and outdoor patio available for use. Free wifi is available and dependable. The location is excellent, with the bus, train, and tram station within easy walking distance to the North, and several restaurants, shops, and landmarks on Talbot and the surrounding streets to the South. If you are generously apportioned the small showers may pose a logistical problem, but otherwise the bathroom is quite comfortable. There is breakfast available for a charge, but given the number of grocery stores and corner shops nearby we opted to dine on our own. Overall this establishment is highly recommended for the budget-conscious traveler.

Room Tip: There is not a fitness center or pool available. You may also be bothered by the street noise if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryBryan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn for your week in Dublin. It is a pleasure to read your wonderful review and you enjoyed your time with us. I am delighted to see you found your room comfortable and clean and of course our ideal central location.

I will share your kind comments with all the team here and they are very much appreciated.

Your recommendation is really appreciated and we hope to see you again should you be returning to Dublin in the future.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel had small rooms. It was comfortable, yummy breakfast for a charge. The staff was great. They answered any questions I had. The LOCATION IS AMAZING! You can't find anything more centrally located for tour pickups or the bus to and from the airport or just city buses. Everything is THERE! Really happy I ignored many of the reviews!! Don't be scared!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassandraJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Cassandra,,

Thank you for your lovely review of Dublin City Inn following your recent stay. It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed your time with us.

Your review title does say it all '' Location Location Location '' we are ideally located to explore the wonderful things Dublin has to offer.

I will share your kind comments with all the team and they will be thrilled to see your feedback.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a single room. The room itself was a nice size, and fairly clean. Very dated. The shower stall is very tiny. I'm not a large person, and I was hitting my elbows on the wall.
The location is good and bad. Good because it's close to the Henry Street shops, Connelly station and a five minute walk to Trinity College. Bad because it's on a weird little street that was questionable after dark. I didn't feel terribly safe as a single female, but was not threatened - if that makes sense. Just watch your surroundings - which you should be doing anyway.
I didn't eat in the hotel, so I cannot comment on the food. But if you go out for breakfast, the Kingfisher on Parnell was quite yummy. There is also a breakfast place at Talbot and O'Connell.
If you're on a budget, this place will do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you choose to stay at Dublin City Inn for your short break.

We are ideally located in the city centre within walking distance to all the main restaurants and attractions which Dublin has to offer.

Talbot Street is one of our main streets minutes to the bus station and train station.

We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back should you be returning to Dublin in the not to distant future. I will share your feedback with all the team here.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I was going to mark this room down even lower than I have.

The room itself is tiny, located on the 1st floor. about a foot wider than the double bed.
The shower is so small, that it'd be impossible to access by a large person. NOTE: I'm not a large person.
The breakfast was assembly line mediocre.
The only really shining light was the exceptionally pleasant receptionist who allowed me to store my luggage there after I checked out, so I didn't have to drag it with me around Dublin.
She was even thoughtful enough to ask me if I wished to use the toilet when I returned.
Top marks to that receptionist.

A message to people who can't sleep, or have disturbed sleep, this is an inner city hotel. Spend a $ and get some earplugs!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Themikanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of Dublin City Inn. I am sorry to hear you had restless nights sleep this is down to been a city centre location where there will be at times some street noise out of our control. We do hope to welcome you back and we will ensure you are located to the back of the hotel.

I will pass on your kind comments to our receptionist as we always strive to provide a pleasent service to all of our guests.

Thank you again for affording me the opportunity to address your recent stay .

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel has a great location and reasonable prices, but it was not all roses. The water pump in our section of the hotel broke the first morning and we could not take a reasonable shower (a quick wash with a cold washcloth was the best we could manage). It was still not fixed that evening, so we asked the front desk to find us another hotel. They tried for a couple of hours before finally mentioning they had a room available in the part of the hotel where the pumps worked. Why didn't they start there?
Breakfasts are mass produced buffet style and just OK. If you stay here, maybe save on breakfast and get it somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Ron,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay on Trip Advisor. We are dissappointed to see you a mixed stay with us and for this we do apologise for the issues you encountered.

We do hope this will not deter you from returning in the future and we will ensure your stay is a more comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Anna was our breakfast waitress, helped with luggage and was an overall gem. She even refused a tip, until we insisted. What an asset they have with her. Whatever she is making is not enough.

Great location 2 blocks from the spire. Couldn't be any better. A bit noisy after 9am but we were usually at breakfast by then. A good place to catch the hop on/off buses, and pretty safe.

After a long USA flight they let us check in before noon. Now THAT is service.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center. Std breakfast. Small elevator. STAY HERE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocoholicjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments. I will pass on your kind comments to Anna as she is a very valued member of the team here.

We do hope you had a safe and pleasant journey home . It is a pleasure to see your comments ' STAY HERE ' as we very much appreciate your reccomendation.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Dublin City Inn is in My opinion a good stay in Dublin.
The Rooms are among other things equipped with safetybox, coffeemaker.
The staff is friendly and the best of all is the central location.
From the airport you take bus 747 to O'connell Street.
The hotel is about 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwedenAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for lovely comments and for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn. Your feedback is very much appreciated and i will share with all the team here.

We do hope to see you again very soon.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
646 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,690 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
1,148 reviews
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Central Inn

Address: 95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $75 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dublin Central Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the Dublin City Inn formerly Days Inn Talbot Street has great value hotel rooms in Dublin City centre. Located just two minutes walk from O'Connell Street, in the heart of Dublin City Centre. A great place to stay on a city break in Dublin, you will find all the delights of Dublin on your doorstep. Free Wifi Throughout all rooms and public areas . Temple Bar just a 5 minute walk away. Guinness Storehouse, Trinity College , Jameson Distillery all within walking distance , Take in Grafton Street for that last minute shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dublin Central Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Inn Hotel Dublin
Days Inn Dublin
Dublin Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing