We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just an average to low budget place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dublin Central Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dublin Central Inn
Ranked #79 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just an average to low budget place”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I would stay here again. I did like the location but it is on the fringe of what you would consider bad. Had great attractions and restaraunts newrby. The host at he desk was a darling girl and very helpful.Big city hotel

Room Tip: we had a window and that was nice for light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytrip2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn following your recent stay with us. It is lovely to hear you would stay with us again .

I will share your kind comments with all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    430
    275
    99
    42
See reviews for
110
495
68
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This used to be a DAYS INN - I stayed here 10 years ago - and chose to stay here again on my second time to Dublin. Located halfway between CONNOLLY RAIL/BUS/TRAM station and the main boulevard through Dublin - O'CONNELL STREET - this hotel is a great place to stay.

After dark - it might get a little "sketchy" for some - but I always felt safe. The casino across the street plays loud dance music - but shuts down around midnight. I stayed on the second floor and faced the street - so kinda alot of street noise.

Walls are paper thin - our neighbor one night was talking on his cell phone for 3 hours - and we could hear EVERYTHING - he finally went to sleep.

PROS:
GREAT LOCATION - blocks from train station, block or two from tour bus drop point, three blocks from airport bus drop point, lots of shops, convenience stores, drug stores, a grocery store, and restuarants very close buy

INTERNET - fast internet service - never dropped - and worked effortlessly
STAFF - very friendly - and I loved the secured two door system to get into hotel.

CONS: Can be loud both late at night - with drunk people walking around and in morning - with the hussle and bussle of a big city. Paper thin walls - and bathroom is VERY tiny - shower may be TOO small for larger people (no bath tub).

Overall a great great location, internet worked flawlessly - and will definately stay here again the next time I go to Dublin!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn. There will be at times some street level noise been a city centre property is out of our control. We do have rooms to the back of the hotel away from the street.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your time in Dublin and please do not wait another 10 years to return to us.


Many Thanks ,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I took my fiancé to Dublin for his 30th. The manager kindly arranged balloons and a birthday banner for our arrival. The hotel is in a great location - 5 min walk to shopping area, 10 mins to Temple bar/Stephens green - you don't need taxis unless you are heading out of the centre. Room was basic but all you need for a weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseGilbert26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Louise,

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay. I am delighted to see you celebrated your fiance's birthday in Dublin and for staying with us. . We be delighted to see you for his 31st . I will share your kind comments with all of the team..

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Malo, Bretagne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My fiance and I spent 10 days in Dublin City Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it. Upon arrival we had to wait about an hour before being able to get into our room, which allowed us to discover a bit of Dublin.
The room we were in was very clean, though not very big we were happy to have a view on the street so we could watch locals go about their business.
The breakfast is actually pretty good and the staff were very friendly. At no point did we feel the need to hide our "valuable belongings" or put anything in the safe. Staff is available 24/7 to answer any question or be of any assistance to us.

Another complaint would be the thin walls. We didn't always hear everything, but there were times where it got a bit uncomfortable if you know what I mean.

The location is great. It's a 10-15 min walk to Temple Bar. Another 10 minute walk to all the shopping centers and there are accessible bus stops everywhere.

All in all, we had a lovely experience and are very happy with choice of stay.

Room Tip: We had a few issues with wifi and at various times we had to sit in a hallway on the first floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Dorina,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Dublin City Inn. It is a pleasure to read you and your fiance enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you both back in the future.

I will pass on your lovely comments to all the team here.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed in a room on the first floor for two nights within the last week with a family member.
We found it to be okay. It was very small but it was sufficient. We had tea, coffee, a television and hairdryer, a place to keep our clothes and there was a safe also. You could also get some items that weren't in the room such as an ironing board and an iron and you could ask for a smoking room if there were a smoker staying there.
We had read reviews about the Dublin City Inn previously so we were slightly disappointed. The breakfast was delicious but unfortunately the scrambled egg wasn't that tasty or great looking.
The staff were lovely and very friendly and we both agreed that we would stay there again but maybe just for one night as there are no facilities bar a breakfast room, a guest lounge and an terrace so you would need to be busy during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't too close to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilkenny_Cat_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience of Dublin City Inn with Trip Advisor. It is a delight to see you both enjoyed your stay and would return in the future. I will ensure the scrambled eggs are up to our normal standard on your return and delighted you both enjoyed our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not to distant future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbr Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. We got the coach from Dublin Airport and were dropped off at O'Connell Street, and the hotel was less than a 5 minute walk from there. We arrived at 11.30am and we were allocated a room straight away, despite the usual check in time being 2pm. The room was very small, but adequate. It was difficult getting round the bed as there was so little space in the room, but we managed. There was enough wardrobe space to accommodate us, a TV and a decent hairdryer. The bathroom, though small, was ok. The shower was not at all powerful and there was no extractor fan in there. Overall, the room was very simple but was all we needed as we just used it as a base to sleep. You couldn't ask for a better location, you are literally 5 minutes from the centre of the city, and 10 minutes from the main Temple Bar area. Although the street where the hotel is located is very busy during the day, we found that noise wasn't particularly a problem at night as there were no bars or anything down there, just shops. One thing I did notice however was the smell of smoke in the hotel. Despite having a non-smoking room, the smell of stale smoke did seem to linger in the corridors. If you are looking for somewhere central, this hotel is ideal. We enjoyed our stay and Dublin is an amazing city, who knows, we may return one day :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare_C174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Clare,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn. It is a a pleasure to see you enjoyed your time with us. I do apologise for the issue you encountered with the smoke on the corridors as the majority of our rooms are non smoking .

We do hope to see you again should you be returning to Dublin in the future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The size of the family room was very average, But can`t blame it as the hotel is just 2 minutes walk from the City Center - But the room was bit warm as it was a sunny day and when i opened the window , there was an Air condition unit outside the window, just a 5-10 meters away & its so noisy, I was not offered a room change which was a bit sad , The breakfast was descent - lacking croissant & enough fried egg- Breakfast staff was excellent - so helpfull and polite - I was so lucky to get a Free car Parking - The best thing of the Hotel is Excellent location - city center is just a 2 minute walk & Plenty of restaurants closeby -

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kummi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Kumar,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your review following your recent stay. Our family rooms are very suitable for 2 adults and 2 children equipped with 1 double bed and 2 single beds with adequate floor space. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast i will pass on your comments to the breakfast team. Unfortunately the air con unit is belonging to an adjoining premises

We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
601 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#97 of 153 in Dublin
1,027 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
2,183 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#86 of 153 in Dublin
297 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Central Inn

Property: Dublin Central Inn
Address: 95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dublin Central Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the Dublin City Inn formerly Days Inn Talbot Street has great value hotel rooms in Dublin City centre. Located just two minutes walk from O'Connell Street, in the heart of Dublin City Centre. A great place to stay on a city break in Dublin, you will find all the delights of Dublin on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Central Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Inn Hotel Dublin
Days Inn Dublin
Dublin Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing