We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff but cramped and grubby”
Review of Dublin Central Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dublin Central Inn
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely staff but cramped and grubby”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over New Year and found that the location was perfect for accessing town and meeting up with friends. However,might room was tiny, the smallest hotel room I think we've ever stayed in - really not big enough for two people. We spent most of our time shuffling around the edge of the bed on the sticky, grubby carpet. The water pressure in the sink tap was so high that we got soaked every time we turned it on and there was no central heating or AC unit in the room, just an electric heater on the wall. The less than inspiring view from the window consisted of some corrugated sheet steel and a flat roof with puddles on it. Now, weren't expecting luxury for the price (€265 for four nights) but we booked this stay back in September and checked in before 10am on the day we arrived so I was hoping for a view of the street at the very least.

The staff at the hotel were polite and professional throughout our stay and I know the hotel was full and so it wasn't worth complaining about these minor issues during the stay. This hotel isn't cheap - it's just cheap for Dublin and I think that next time we go we'd be more likely to splash out the extra €20 a night on somewhere a bit better.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. I do hope you both had a safe and pleasant journey home after celebrating the New Year in Dublin which I hope you both enjoyed.

I do apologise with some aspects of your stay you were disappointed with regarding the shower at first which we have now ensured the pressure is at the correct level to avoid any reoccurrence in the future. Regarding your room allocation there will always be rooms allocated to the back of the building as these been the case with the majority of hotels in the city centre.. As you have mentioned we were full on the days you were staying with us . I am sure if you had mentioned your concern to reception they would have be more than happy for you to have a room facing the street. I have addressed your concerns with my accommodation department regarding the carpet and I can assure you this has now been cleaned I apologise for the shortfall on this . We do not advertise having A/C in the hotel we do however provide fans if any of our guests request them.
I am delighted to hear of your lovely comments on the team here I will pass on to all the staff. I do hope this will not deter you from returning in the future and we will ensure your return is a most comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Happy New Year,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    435
    282
    102
    43
See reviews for
113
504
69
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

What a shame - good location, but room dirty. Not what I would have expected for a 3* hotel. The areas that I have pointed out should be covered by basic cleaning systems. It is a bit disappointing to have to come back to a dirty room and spoilt my break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to to see of the concerns you expressed regarding hosuekeeping. We do pride ourselves on our high standards of cleanliness and I do apolgise for the shortfall on this occasion. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant department to ensure there is no reoccurence in the future. I do hope this will not deter you from returning in the future and we will ensure your return is a more comfortable and enjoyable one.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Fantastic location in Dublin, right off O'Connell St! You can easily walk to all city centre attractions if you're a tourist. The rooms are small, but they have everything that you need, and my ensuite was lovely so I couldn't complain about space. Staff were great - very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much to ask. I didn't have the breakfast but compared to some prices in cafes around Dublin it's very reasonable too. Overall, a great base to tour the city from, and you really couldn't beat the price.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room as I was concerned about it being on a busy street - I got put at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E-K-Dolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to see you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the New Year.

Many Thanks and Happy Christmas from all the team here.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family and I used this location as our hub for the entire trip. The rooms are a little dated but the location is perfect as it is in the middle of everything and the staff was simply amazing. I highly recommend it and will stay ehre again if we return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see you choose to stay at Dublin City Inn for your time in Dublin. We very much appreciate your lovely comments regarding our staff as we strive to provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience to all of our guests. We look forward to having the opportunity in welcoming you back some time in the future.

Happy Christmas from all the team here.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermoupolis, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed in Dublin City Inn for a week in the end of October 2012. I booked a double room for single use in the first floor.

Pros:
- Location. The hotel is in a very good location in the centre of Dublin, near the Spire. Also, it's only 10 - 15 minutes walk away from the Temple Bar.
- free wifi (in the rooms and in the public areas)
- helpful and polite staff
- Breakfast bag for those who travel early in the morning

Cons:
- Small room. i was alone and it was ok, but the room was small for two people
- no central heating. just a electrical radiator in the room and no heating in the bathroom. every time i tooked a shower i had to leave the bathroom door opened!!!
- sometimes during the night i could hear the people walking and shouting outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for sharing your time on Trip Advisor. It is lovely to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found us ideally located in the city centre. We hope to see you again in the new year should you be returning to Dublin.

Happy Christmas from all the team.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The tiniest room I've ever stayed in. If you look at their website, it seems that the rooms were photographed in panorama in order to appear larger. But, I honestly didn't care all that much about the room itself. It's a few blocks from the spire of Dublin. It was a great landmark to use to find our way back to the hotel after wandering around the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your stay on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay with us recently. I agree some of our rooms are small as we do also large family rooms and a mix of large double twin rooms on all floors. As you have mentioned we are ideally located in the city centre to visit all of the attractions Dublin has to offer. We hope to see you again should you be returning to Dublin in the future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

overpriced would not recommend, have stayed in lot better in dublin just returned from wkend break, location good and staff friendly, but hostel/hotel shabby, dirty, beds basic and worn out springs dig in you, showeroom filthy and black sludge round the tray inside and out, dirty curtains, showerplugs held on with string. .all i can advise is dont go. a lot better places to stay and cheaper. i wouldnt call this a city inn, but a grubby hostel, sorry but that the truth

Room Tip: woudnt recommend any
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clare b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin Central Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay on Trip Advisor. I was very dissappointed to see you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. We very much pride our selves on the standards of service and cleanliness we provide to all of our guests which we recieve lots of postive feedback. I do hope this will not deter you from returning to us at some stage in the future and afford us the opportunity to ensure your return is a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. I will share your comments with all of my team here.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#86 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#96 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#85 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Central Inn

Property: Dublin Central Inn
Address: 95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dublin Central Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the Dublin City Inn formerly Days Inn Talbot Street has great value hotel rooms in Dublin City centre. Located just two minutes walk from O'Connell Street, in the heart of Dublin City Centre. A great place to stay on a city break in Dublin, you will find all the delights of Dublin on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dublin Central Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Inn Hotel Dublin
Days Inn Dublin
Dublin Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing