We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Ranked #12 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Another fantastic stay at The Clarion IFSC. Room was large and clean. All amenities you would need and extra. Large balcony over looking the river Liffey. Staff are friendly and efficient. Only a short walk or taxi drive to shops and temple bar area. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    469
    103
    27
    15
See reviews for
277
721
56
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

stayed in Clarion Hotel IFSC last night 17th January while we were delighted with our room it was very clean and spacious I was disappointed with lack of information regarding car parking facility. When I booked this hotel I asked if they had a car park the lady said yes however she didn't tell me that car park was in a different building than the hotel and that there would be a nightly charge of 15 euro. When we arrived at hotel my husband asked at reception for directions to car park as it was not signposted. Receptionist gave directions but still overlooked informing him of extra charge for parking.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel was nicer than I was expecting. My room was of a high standard, at least 4-star (robe, balcony, comfortable bed, nice view, large room, large bathroom). Everything is bright and cheerful. The fitness center was particularly nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room had no fridge, but that might be normal in Dublin.

The location is not in the main tourist center, so it was a challenging walk to the center and back. But the hotel is right on the river, and the surrounding area is very attractive, with several restaurants and a grocery store.

There is a shuttle bus form the airport (Paddywagon) that costs only 3 Euros and seemed to go directly to the hotel in about 15 minutes. Two warnings, though: (a) the actual location of the bus is car park zone 14 (not zone 2, as the website currently says), and (b) it leaves every 2 hours. If that timing doesn't work for you, there are other airport buses that go by the hotel as well.

Room Tip: It's nice to have a view of the river, though you might hear some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here this week with my aunt to go to a show in the bord gais theatre. Hotel is excellent. Its a 5 min walk from the busaras bus station and connolly train station. There is a luas stop right behind the hotel which takes you into the centre in 5 mins and it was only a 8 min walk to the theatre. Breakfast was fab and we had dinner in the kudos bar its was excellent. The room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were excellent and very helpful. This is my 2nd stay here and would definitely go back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ew1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussel, België
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

- comfortable and spacious room
- excellent bed
- very clean bathroom
- good wifi connection, free of charge

Hotel is situated in the new part of Dublin financial/business district > nice buildings and area, walking distance to Temple Bar and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian211080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I took my son to Dublin to see the WWE in November for his 6th birthday, from the moment we walked into the hotel we were greet so nicely. while i checked in ( i think it was the manager) had a lovely conversation with my son also keeping him occupied for me. our room wasn't ready but they took our luggage and gave us keys so that we could go to the lounge and have something to eat, liked that the bar and restaurants were separate (we did go to both) and even the bar served us food after the show but i have to say the room was amazing and the staff really aimed to please. we are planning to stay there again on our next trip and i have advise friends and family about the hotel.

Room Tip: i suggest getting a suite, it may cost a little more but it is really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Booked the Clarion for 2 nights over New Years 2013/14. We arrived at the hotel before it had reopened after being closed for Christmas. Hotel opened at 11am but they allowed everyone to check in at that time instead of the normal 2pm check in.
Had booked online where I provided my card details to secure booking although didn't have to pay until arrival. When we checked in, I was told to enter my card into to the machine so they could put a hold on it - €109 euros (cost of 1st night) it said but the man at reception assured me I wouldn't be charged. I was then told I'd pay when checking out although I noticed others were paying on check in. I wasn't given a receipt as i was told it was just for authorisation. The next day I checked my online banking using the (free) wifi and noticed £182/€218 euros had disappeared although nothing appeared on my statement. Confused, I decided not to let it worry me as there was nothing I could do without seeing where the money had gone. When checking out, a different lady receptionist dealt with us. I asked what I'd typed my PIN number in for when checking in to which she said 'card authorisation' and that the money would be released back to me in 5 days. I said I was told I wouldn't be charged to which she replied 'it was only for the cost of the first night'. My boyfriend then said that actually double the amount was taken and the receptionist admitted that she could she a note had been made on the system to say that it was done in error. Why wasn't I informed of this???? I then had to use a different card to pay for the entire stay as the money meant for payment had been held. I asked for receipts for all the transactions but she couldn't give me ones for when my money was held, twice. I am still waiting for my funds to be released back to me!

Other than that... the room was a little small but lovely. Comfy bed, coffee machine, iPod dock, river view if only from the 2nd floor. Couldn't get TV to work but we weren't bothered. Room was freezing when we arrived but the heating soon warmed it up. Hotel happily held our luggage on day of check out whist we went for lunch in Temple Bar. Free wifi was a great facility. Hotel perfect for a couple of nights, just be careful with your money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silleka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC

Property: The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Address: International Financial Services Centre | Excise Walk, Dublin D01X4C9, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Dublin IFSC)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#4 Business Hotel in Dublin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin Clarion
Clarion Hotel Dublin
Clarion Dublin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing