We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urban Picnic

Urban Picnic
Ranked #949 of 2,528 Restaurants in Dublin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Had bite o lunch at this place, lovely atmos, lovely freshly cooked food! superb value.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    25
    8
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice, but not as good as it was!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I've been the Urban Picnic many times. As a central location, it's been perfect for early morning breakfast meetings. However, over time its allure has diminished somewhat.

The menu, if perhaps a little limited, is tasty and on par with costs of similar venues. Ingredients are fresh and the coffee's good. However, the service has seen something of a downward trend. When first I arrived the owner/chef always made time for at least a quick chat. On the last two occasions he stood po faced behind the counter without any pleasantries whatsoever. The staff, always nice and friendly, have lacked a certain professionalism. Having the wait 10 minutes for a cup of tea AFTER your breakfast has already arrived isn't the best. And despite numerous reminders, a glass of water was never produced.

Times are tough for many out there, there is no doubt. But this is a customer-centric area and everyone needs to have their smiley faces on. Failure to do so will invite people to look elsewhere.

The review for the last visit would have been a very generous 2 stars. However, based on previous experiences, I'm giving an overall review or 3. But Urban Picnic needs to work on its front of house appeal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Surprising little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

A surprising oasis of original cooking in George's Street arcade. The menu is limited and you share a big wooden table with strangers, which seems to be in vogue in recessionary Ireland. Dishes are well prepared and interesting, with a definite French-fusion slant. Good value for money too.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Diegodelizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Those Tables and Benches form Indoneisa...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

It means a lot when you are actually sitting on authentic furniture from the South East Asian regions, and it also means well, how many satisfied people have sat here and had really, various cooking styles, and products, coming together "a la minute" in a dish that compliments the chef himself.

My dish wash tempura battered prawns, Wasabi-pea puree, and Singapore noodles. The flavors of the freshly fried tempura batter, and the wasabi-pea puree was excellent because it was made a la minute.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHefMajKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Really loved this place, both surroundings and food totally hit the right spot.

Both me and my other half are quite picky about where we eat and had wandered around looking for the right place to have breakfast. Good food was needed to help combat the alcohol consumption from the night before and set us up for a day of sightseeing.

We were not disappointed with our choice, Urban Picnic looked just like our type of place, long wooden table and chairs for sociable eating and lovely smells (not like the one a lttle further up which really stunk!!).

We enjoyed a Full Irish Breakfast (same contents as a full english) which was probably one of nicest I have had (the other was also in Dublin which I will also review as being fab). This wasn't a greesy fry up that I've had many times in England, it was a delicious start to the day.

If this place is empty when you pass don't let it put you off, there was no one there when we arrived but we gave it a go and were def not disappointed.

Claire and Michael Turnbull

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank turnbullfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Picnic also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Urban Picnic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing