We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend visit to Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fleet Street Hotel
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bedale
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend visit to Dublin”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Visited Dublin recently and booked hotel because it was close to the bars, but the room they gave us looked nothing like the ones on the website but was clean enough but tired. Issue we had was it was above a private rented club that was booked for one night and party went onto early hours. If you are to book request a room on 2nd or 3 rd floor. Easy bus access access to all areas within a good walk

Room Tip: Go for 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    466
    226
    55
    39
See reviews for
117
482
78
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, ON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's a mixed reaction here. The glory and the tragedy of the Fleet Street Hotel are the same thing, the location. I just spent a few days visiting Dublin and we were right on the edge of the Temple Bar district. Is so centrally located, we walked everywhere and saw everything we wanted. On the other side is the noise. Being right next to Temple Bar the partying from the street goes on all night. When you couple noise all night with one of the most uncomfortable lumpy mattresses of any hotel, don't plan on getting a decent rest. In fact the best sleep that had in Dublin was on a bus during a day tour to Kilkenny. What a statement in itself for a hotel review.


The hotel is clean, well decorated and the staff are friendly. Don't waste your time in the breakfast canteen. You can get better just about anywhere.

I think the Fleet Street Hotel is perfect for those people that are planning to party all night long and will be so spent by morning not to care about the bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Over priced didn't think it was up to the standards to charge £115 a night,the room basic with terrible smell coming from bathroom but did disappear in second day.location good would say the price was just to high for the general standard of the hotel as a whole

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencer133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Although this hotel was "average", I would not stay here again. Our room was facing the street which was very loud. The shower had no walls, and I dont know if this is normal in Europe but this was certainly not the case anywhere else we stayed. The water literally drained on the floor in the bathroom. The beds were hard and I found a hair in one of the beds. They were also very small but that is normal in Europe. The one good thing I can say was that the hotel is in a great location with lots to do, in walking distance of everything. If you don't need to be wowed by a hotel, pick this one.. but only if you get a good deal

Room Tip: Dont get one at the front. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I made the reservation even that I have read lots of reviews that says it is very noisy. The location is really good, just the entrance of Temple Bar from the main street, downstairs is Friday's restaurant (just to mention the location, not that I am interested in eating there). I asked for a quiter room at the reception and there it was. We had good sleep for two nights that we spent there. Room number was 215. The bathroom and the room was quite spacious. I am glad I stayed there. A bit expensive for the quality but it is about the location I assume. Yes there is no A/C, but Dublin is not that hot as well.

Room Tip: Room 215 was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnpsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg F, General Manager at The Fleet Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear dnpsn,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that enjoyed your visit to our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin,

Kind Regards

Greg Forrestal
General Manager
Email: greg.forrestal@fleetstreethotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We chose a hotel in Temple Bar knowing it was going to be a bit rowdy. The room was on level 3 at the back of the building so there was no noise from the street and we got a good night sleep...the first night. On the second night the hotel was full of people who would rather have parties in their hotel rooms, rather than going out and making the most of Dublin's great nightlife...on a Friday?! We wouldn't have minded as much if they were a little respectful of others and weren't shouting or slamming doors every few minutes, but we had to be awake really early the next morning to travel. The hotel staff handled it well and went to the rooms themselves to give warnings, which gave us at least a few hours sleep before they started up again.
The room is basic, but clean and comfy with everything you need for a weekend away in a lively and fun location, which was better than we expected for that kind of area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LozM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to Dublin to take part in the R&R 1/2 marathon - the hotel was recommended.
Whilst the room was clean & comfortable with plenty of storage space - the noise from outside the hotel was not good.
Throwing out time at the local club at 2:30 in the morning was something to listen to!!!! It couldn't be ignored...I know this is what should be accepted from a central location but be careful if you want a full nights sleep.
The staff were courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have one facing out to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
The Morgan
#37 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleet Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleet Street Hotel

Property: The Fleet Street Hotel
Address: 19 - 20 Fleet Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#58 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fleet Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished Townhouse-style property located in the Temple Bar district, within walking distance of Trinity College, Christchurch Cathedral, Grafton Street and the majority of Dublin's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Fleet Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleet Street Hotel Dublin
Fleet Street Dublin
Bewleys Dublin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing