We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Central Dublin weekend...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fleet Street Hotel
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to Dublin to take part in the R&R 1/2 marathon - the hotel was recommended.
Whilst the room was clean & comfortable with plenty of storage space - the noise from outside the hotel was not good.
Throwing out time at the local club at 2:30 in the morning was something to listen to!!!! It couldn't be ignored...I know this is what should be accepted from a central location but be careful if you want a full nights sleep.
The staff were courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have one facing out to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently on my third trip to Dublin and I honestly cannot recommend it enough! Superb location, lovely rooms, delicious breakfast - the breakfast room is very compact however we always got a table straight away. There is even an outdoor terrace on the third floor that smokers can use. Would definitely stay here again :-D

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and picked the hotel because of its central location and because friends over for the same event were already booked in here.

The hotel is very clean and the reception/lounge area looks freshly decorated and is very nice. Because the hotel doesn't actually have a bar, there is an honesty bar in the lounge and they have a tie in for dinner with TGI Fridays downstairs.

We booked months ago via eBookers which says a twin or double room and I thought I'd requested a double, however we got a twin and were told there were no doubles available.

Breakfast wasn't included in our rate but you can just go along to the breakfast room on the 1st floor and it will be added to your bill - either 9.50 for the full cooked Irish breakfast or 7.50 for continental. There is fruit juice, several types of cereal, plain yogurt, some fruit, ham and cheese (although the cheese in particular looked a bit dried out) plus bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, hash browns and baked beans, toast, jam and marmalade so you won't go hungry and apart from the dried cheese, it was all good.

The hotel is located in Fleet Street which runs into Temple Bar, very near the Liffey. It's a good central location and Dublin is a very walkable city anyway. Just bear in mind that this is Dublin, the Temple Bar area is well known to be party central so if you want somewhere quiet, don't stay here. You will hear music from the numerous bars and clubs, people get loud when they are drunk and you might get disturbed. Just don't complain about it if it happens because you've been warned! There are plenty of quieter areas of Dublin, equally central, which have hotels too.

The hotel does have wi-fi - it's free for the first 30 minutes and then your profile is locked down so you have to pay for any further use during your stay. I think it was 5 euros per day. However we found that early and late, when TGI Fridays was either closed or at least quiet, we could pick up and use their wi-fi network free of charge. We also managed to get onto Starbucks network once or twice so I couldn't bother paying if you don't have to. There are absolutely loads of places with free wi-fi in the city (pubs and restaurants mainly) so have a drink while you surf for free!

Now, the room (no 119)! I know hotels in capital cities are expensive and Dublin is no exception but I thought the room we got was truly dreadful! The bathroom was lovely and big, light and airy with a huge shower cubicle. However, the actual room was barely big enough to swing a cat. It overlooked a central area with ventilation equipment and the amount of natural light coming into the room was fairly minimal, a situation made worse by the net curtains, but these were necessary because other rooms overlooked our window. There are lights on the wall over each bed but you can't turn just one of them off, it's either both or neither.

My biggest gripe is the total lack of storage space. We had twin beds and in between was a tiny shelf fixed to the wall, not a proper bedside cabinet where we could have put things. There is a full length mirror which is about 12" away from the wall and between this and the wall is a hanging rail with 6 hangers. There is a tall narrow radiator (I think that's what it was, it looked like heated towel rail but there's already one of those in the bathroom) right next to this which got in the way of hanging things up. Apart from this small amount of hanging space, the only other storage consisted of 2 very shallow drawers (about 2" deep) in the desk. These were so shallow, you have to squash a pair of rolled up socks to fit them in. No hope if you have t shirts or sweaters. We ended up with clothes just piled on the chair and the desk. It wasn't even practical to live out of our cases because there was not enough space to put them.

There is tea/coffee making in the room although because of the lack of space, it was quite difficult to use this and I was worried we were going to end up chucking coffee over the pile of clothes!

If you look at the room photos on the hotel website, I reckon our room would fit twice over into the ones featured. There don't appear to be room categories like standard, superior, de luxe etc but it's obviously pot luck what you get because a friend had a room with a walk in wardrobe. Our room was obviously created out of a small bit of space which would have been better utilised as a broom cupboard!

Needless to say, should I return to Dublin, I won't be returning to the Fleet Street!

PS It only got 3 stars on the strength of the location and breakfast, and that's being generous!

Room Tip: Pick one in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Good Names All Gone!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed a week at the hotel and the best were: location, terrace and it was fresh and clean. Nice but small rooms. What can be improved is that it was unbearably hot when we were there and that a tablefan would cost us € 80 (€ 10 today) which, given the heat wave should be offered to all guests free of charge. Internet wi-fi also costs € 8 per day and is way too much.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John_STHLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Fleet street hotel after enjoying our stay last year.
I will keep this short to help you decide.

Positives: Right smack bang in the middle of Temple Bar area with its bars,restaurants, take aways and nightclubs surrounding the hotel.

The price (the price we paid both times anyway) is reflected in the rooms, we considered them good value even without taking the location into account.

Very Helpful and friendly staff.

Literally right around the corner for the aircoach (direct bus to the airport 7 euros)

Negatives: Temple bar is a hive of noise and activity day and night you will hear the noise from your room but I guess you want to stay in Temple Bar for a reason!

Badly needs air conditioning! rooms get very hot but you cannot open the windows because of the noise from the street!

I will return to this hotel for a third time,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2gizmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This cute boutique hotel is right down the block from Temple Bar, and not even a 5 min walk from trinity college/book of kells. My single room was very small, but it was all I needed. Nice bathroom and deco, but you really can't beat this location! I loved it and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kadventure2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hi there,
We stayed here for a weekend and loved it. The hotel was in a great area, very central and great for all the tourist attractions of the city. The room was small but clean and very quiet too. The airport bus dropped us off just round the corner from the hotel and picked us up there too. There is a great supermarket accross the road for all the bits and bobs. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
992 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,389 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#48 of 150 in Dublin
3,546 reviews
The Morgan
#40 of 150 in Dublin
2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleet Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleet Street Hotel

Address: 19 - 20 Fleet Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $80 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fleet Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished Townhouse-style property located in the Temple Bar district, within walking distance of Trinity College, Christchurch Cathedral, Grafton Street and the majority of Dublin's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fleet Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleet Street Hotel Dublin
Fleet Street Dublin
Bewleys Dublin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing