We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shop and eat - perfect!”

Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Our recently refurbished eatery in Dublin's city center with views overlooking Trinity college offers our guests an experience to remember. Fresh and seasonal ingredients are used to produce daily offerings by our team of highly committed chefs. Truly passionate and friendly staff will offer hospitality that is hard to beat.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
138 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Shop and eat - perfect!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This cafe is located upstairs from the Kilkenny shop, which features Irish made products (fun, right?) It was recommended to us by a young man working in the shop at Trinity College. It’s cafeteria style with so many delicious looking selections, it’s hard to decide. I had a salad of spinach, blue cheese, watermelon, figs and a raspberry dressing with a bowl of fennel and apple soup, bread and a glass of wine My sister had a cold salmon plate with potato salad and a mixed vegetable salad. All were delicious. The desserts looked wonderful, but sadly we had no room! Next time we might go back just for treats and coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fossettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    176
    30
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food - great value”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am a returning customer to this restaurant. Location great for visitors to Dublin as I note a lot of tour buses stop on this street and the merchandise also attract them in.
Food - I had a very substantial salad of goat's cheese (very generous portion) tartlet and two portions of salad for €9.95 - very good value for a city restaurant. Bewley's coffee less value at €2.60 for a large mug - could do with being stronger. The pastry on the tart was a little tough - perhaps from the reheating. There were some seeds left in the roast pepper salad unfortunately.
The table I sat at was had not been cleaned and when the waiter came he took away the tray but ignored the dishes until near the end of my meal. Otherwise restaurant area seemed very clean.
While I did not indulge in the pastries/desserts they seemed substantial and generous enough to share.
I find it is best to come here early or later as it is a popular lunch time restaurant with local/shoppers and tourists alike. There is also free Wi-Fi available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank locationspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A peach of a lunch!!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Haven't been here in years but went today for lunch with a friend and I have to say it was fantastic-gorgeous salads in a great setting with friendly service topped off with fab cake what more can a girl ask for ??? A definite recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch time / shopping cafe”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We called in the Kilkenny shop to buy presents but ended up not only buying pottery (there was an excellent potter working and displaying there) but also ended up upstairs in their self service restaurant. The food on display looked wonderful - lots of salads, tempting desserts and a range of hot meals too. We bought the lasagne which had venison in it, a mixture of greens with asparagus and potatoes au gratin. It was really tasty, excellent value and yes I would visit again and wholeheartedly recommend not only the food but also the shop. I've eaten in many shops over the years - mostly department stores in Coventry, Birmingham, Bristol and London - the food just didn't compete with the quality and range available at Kilkenny's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigdogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“stop making it a secret”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Sign outside says its Dublins best kept secret, well heres to going public! This is the best cheapest Dublin breakfast..by far. Bacon, Sausage, Scrambled Egg (with chive and creme fraiche) and field mushroom, 2 slices of toast and mug of coffee...5 Euro. No, not even a motorway caravan can do that. And this is seriously good, grease free and served with aplomb. The secret is out. Visitors, yes you do walk the gauntlet of gifts and goodies to get up to the restaurant, but take some time, this is a reputable and established business, and promotes many Irish designers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrick043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing