We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 Out of 10 for Forty One” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant FortyOne

Restaurant FortyOne
Ranked #113 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Set in the heart of Georgian Dublin, on the west side of historic St Stephen's Green, award-winning Restaurant FortyOne embodies the best of Modern Irish dining. Relish the output of one of the city's most accomplished chefs in smart, comfortable surroundings, while savouring dishes that showcase world-class, gastronomic flair, combined with a desire to let the best of Irish produce - much of which comes from the restaurant's own organic gardens - shine.
Clane, Ireland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“10 Out of 10 for Forty One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We took our daughter and son-in-law for a meal in this restaurant and were mightily impressed with just about everything about it. It is in a beautiful building on St. Stephen's green,probably dating to the mid-eighteenth century. A lovely staircase led up to the small room where we were eating. A delicious amuse bouche was followed by some very good starters- Dublin Bay prawns, scallops and salmon. Not cheap, but beautifully presented and a real treat. Main courses were monkfish, duck , wild turbot (sensational!). There was an unusual but excellent pre-dessert. Three desserts, teas and Irish coffee plus a bottle of Premier Cru Chablis took the bill to €352 before service. A very similar price (per head, that is- though we drank a much better wine in Forty One) to that of the famous Colombe D'Or in St Paul de Vence where my wife and I had lunch the previous week- but a hundred times better that Colombe D'Or's food. This was a lovely experience- and I liked the touch of telling you what each dish is, since you always forget what all the little bits and pieces are . A serious restaurant that is really well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blaenboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    42
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sensational Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I dined at this Restaurant on a recent trip to Dublin. It is located in an elegant building on St. Stephen's Green. From the moment we arrived until we walked out the door, the experience was sensational. The food, ambience and the service were extraordinary. This was one of the best meals I have ever had in my life of very fine dining. A friend had recommended the place to us. He had met the Chef on a flight to Dublin. The Chef, Graham Neville, had worked in several fine dining establishments in Chicago, where I live. This was as good as any restaurant anywhere I have ever eaten. This is a not to be missed dining experience in Dublin!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal in elegant location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This restaurant is situated in a beautiful georgian house on St Stephen's Green, an area full of lovely houses. This one is particularly nice, as it is relatively early (1740s) with a small stairhall. We were very impressed by the stairhall with its beautiful panelling and lovely staircase. We ate in what I think must have been the smaller room at the rear of the house, a lovely room with soft lighting. We went for the A La Carte menu of 3 courses but to start were brought an amuse bouche of chicken and mushroom tortellini with truffle sliver, then I had the Dublin bay prawns followed by the monkfish. Dessert of lemon and passionfruit curd was preceded by a pre-dessert of caramelised pineapple with buttercream and popcorn and we were brought petit fours to finish. Each dish was beautifully presented and the quality of the ingredients used was first class. The meal was really excellent, complimented by attentive but unintrusive service, with the waiter explaining each dish as it was brought. It is expensive, but for a delicious meal in fantastic surroundings, I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MillicentDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
375 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Stephen's green club atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Fine for a special occasion - nice wine list - the Figeac '05 seems a steal at 287 Euro but didn't have it I hasten to add ! Perhaps next time but doubt it'll still be there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 977mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing, delicious, wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We made reservations two weeks ahead for a Friday night dinner for two. The location is quite nice (next to St. Stephen's Green) and the building is a large house which exudes grandeur and is very pleasant on the inside. We chose the 6 course surprise menu (€75) which was, honestly, quite amazing. Highlights were the scallops in bisque sauce and the foie gras dish, but all dishes were excellent. We asked if they offered a wine pairing, which they did at €50, but we ended up ordering a single bottle. Great atmosphere, very friendly staff. We will come back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieDoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant FortyOne also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Restaurant FortyOne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing