We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic evening in Dublin!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Traditional Irish Musical Pub Crawl

Traditional Irish Musical Pub Crawl
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.47*
and up
Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl
Ranked #14 of 286 Nightlife in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Are you looking to experience the beauty and history of Traditional Irish Music in an authentic setting? If so, the Traditional Irish Musical Pub Crawl is the perfect activity for you. Two talented Musicians will guide you to three privately booked pubs and perform tunes and songs while telling the story of traditional Irish Music. A fun, informative, and authentic experience - it's like a Moving Concert!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A fantastic evening in Dublin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I signed up for this event after reading a great review in Rick Steves' guidebook, and we were not disappointed. We learned excellent bits of history, enjoyed a pint at every stop, and loved the beautiful music. I came away with an immense appreciation of Irish music and Irish culture in general. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LizCincinnatiOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    98
    37
    24
    21
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More music than pub, but great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The format is straightforward - two charming musicians explain Irish music in segments spread over three pubs. The first two are in Temple Bar, and the third is the Collins Road area about ten minutes across the river. Obviously you can cover all of this musical genre in one and one-half hours, but you get a good introduction from working professionals. We really enjoyed it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highlight of trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We enjoyed ourselves immensely here. Be aware there isn't time to eat at any of the pubs so take care of that before you go. We learned so much about Irish music, how to listen to it properly and what a session is. At the end of the evening, we were all invited to join in and sing our hometown favorites. My sons sang Danny Boy and I believe it brought a tear to the eyes of many. There is no dancing involved, which for some reason I thought there would be. At the end of the evening, we went downstairs to the bar where some members of the Cork County band was celebrating their team's victory. I got to play a gent's bagpipes which was a bucket list item for me, so that really capped off the evening. I agree with reviewer that suggested the number of tickets sold should be limited. There were too many people trying to crowd around to hear. It also seemed to stress out some of the bar staff as well. Would go again, as the musicians rotate each evening. Loads of fun!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LStravels0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Irish Pub Crawl Is Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Irish Pub Crawl is overrated and not worth the cost.

This shouldn't have been called the Irish Pub Crawl. It should have been called "Two Great Irishmen." Basically, it consisted of two talented musicians performing 30 minutes in one pub and 45 minutes in another. The end.

The event was overbooked. The Pub Crawl started in Oliver St John Gogartys Pub where everyone checked in. There were so many people that there weren't enough seats. Gogartys was just a check in point. There wasn't any type of entertainment while we were waiting. After standing around in a crowded pub for 30 minutes, the two leading musicians led us to another pub.

Once we squeezed into the 2nd pub, the two musicians sang, told jokes, gave brief histories of the music, and played the guitar, fiddle, and drum. The Irish music was great and the two musicians were entertaining. However, this was the whole spectrum of the entertainment. The pub's job was only to serve alcohol and collect money....nothing special. After 30 minutes, we moved to the last pub.

The last pub had the same scenario. Everyone literally squeezed into a pub. The two musicians performed while the pub collected money from the alcohol.

This shouldn't have been called a pub crawl because the group only went to two pubs for entertainment. One pub was for 30 minutes and the other approximately 45 minutes. The only job of the pub was to serve and collect money from the beer drinkers in the crowd as the two musicians performed. This whole event could have been done at the Gogarty's Pub.

If you are wanting to go to several different pubs and experience a variety of music, this isn't the event you want to book. The Irish Musical Pub Crawl consists of two pubs with two talented musicians.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank summersrainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and educational!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Being from the US we were unaware of Arthur's Day when we booked this tour. But our musician/guides made the necessary adjustments, taking the group to two quieter pubs away from the commotion in the heart of the Temple Bar area. Anthony and Mark are talented musicians who are obviously passionate about their home and its musical traditions. We learned about the instruments, the various types of Irish music, the culture of sessions in pubs, and the historical background for many of these traditions. It was so great to have this knowledge as we visited pubs to hear trad music throughout the rest of our trip to Ireland.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traditional Irish Musical Pub Crawl also viewed

 

Been to Traditional Irish Musical Pub Crawl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing