We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel for a 3* rating”
Review of Harding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harding Hotel
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel for a 3* rating”
Reviewed September 1, 2007

What a great hotel for the money we paid. We stayed 4 nights Mon- Fri, we asked for a double when booking but we got a very spacious room with 3 single beds which was decorated in a contemporary style. Beech furniture, suede effect fabric covering the bed bases, terracotta and sand wall coverings. We also had a hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, a trouser press, ironing board, iron, mini fridge and the usual tv, phone etc. Excellent facilities for a 3* hotel. Although the ceiling in the bathroom was showing signs of mildew, it was kept spotlessly clean. The friendly cleaners were in the room every day, and towels changed frequently.
It had a restaurant attached to the hotel which we had breakfast (included in price) every morning and we had dinner the first night we arrived. Food very good.
The location was just off the Temple Bar area, loads of pubs/eating places within a few hundred yards.
I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — On 1st floor, so passers by on street could look into room.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank paulineandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    1,015
    203
    46
    16
See reviews for
283
818
348
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Just back in the UK after 3 nights at the Harding, Dublin. I wasn't expecting anything too special from a budget priced single room with B&B, but was pleasantly surprised. Friendly courteous staff, nice clean room, very spacious shower room ensuite and a great view of the anglican cathedral outside my window. The full Irish breakfast was excellent and served to the table within a minute (possibly because I like to breakfast early). The location is idea for a whistlestop trip to Dublin and the hotel is just 15 minutes walk from the bus station, from which the Airlink buses drop you off from the airport. For those that like the "night-life" the hotel is on the fringes of the re-vamped Temple Bar area, which is a bit like Covent Garden with shamrocks. One word of warning - close the windows at night, it can be quite noisy after midnight, but the windows are modern and double glazed and cut out nearly all the noise. The hotel bar was dissappointing, being nearly always far too short on customers, but the Karma, bar (decked out in mock Thai) of the hotel next door named after a composer I can't remember, was very popular and busy and sadly I didn't find out until my final night that it served about the cheapest pint of Guinness in town. I would definitely recommend the Harding for the single traveller and especially for those on a tight budget.

  • Liked — City centre location
  • Disliked — Poorly used bar in the hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Notthedrapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton & Hove
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

The Harding Hotel is very well positioned to access all parts of Dublin, with the Guinness Factory to the west & Temple bar / O'Connell street to the East. The hotel is good value for money for a 2/3 star hotel & contrary to other reviews we though the breakfast was pretty reasonable. The only criticism we had was that at weekends it got pretty noisy outside with people leaving bars etc & we were on the top floor.! Also at weekends the Christ Church opposite goes into over drive with the bell ringing, every quarter hour One thing that would have been nice, to have heard the odd Irish voice at the hotel to give you the sense of being in Ireland, Other than that it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Snarlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Arrived in Dublin in the morning and it was a short walk from the bus to the Harding Hotel. We were not due to check in until later in the day but the staff were helpful and allowed us to leave our bags in reception so we could explore Dublin. Its in a great location and its only a short walk to Temple Bar and O'Connel Street. The rooms were of a very high standards with lovely comfortable beds, plenty of room and a spatious bathroom.
After our night out in Dublin we went back to the hotel praying for the bar to be open, it was and the staff were very accomodating serving us drinks till 5am!
The breakfast was good with a choice of Irish breakfast or Continental breakfast. Overall the hotel was superb, clean, quiet and very friendly would definately go back there!

  • Liked — The quality of the rooms
  • Disliked — it was all good cant complain
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jaytar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

great location right in temple bar area [room 302 ]
great views wake up call 6am [christchurch bells]
will use hotel again staff great

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank simo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

My husband and I and our two teenagers just got back from 10 days in Ireland. We stayed 2 nights at the Harding in Dublin and it was absolutely perfect for us. It has a great location in central Dublin; we walked from the hotel to most everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel has been recently updated with very pleasing decor. THe rooms were spotless and the beds so very comfortable The front desk staff were spot on - so helpful in giving directions. A cozy bar adjoins the hotel but there was no problem with noise at all. Breakfast was included; not the best we had in Ireland but perfectly adequate in everyway. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Dublin.

  • Liked — Location, clean, decor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank LisaAustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

nice hotel. large rooms with cofee and the facilities. Newly renoveted and in good condition. Well worth the price. In walking distnce of Dublin castle, two af the famous churces and tempel bar area. breakfast isnt worth the money. Both the contineltal and the irish isnt good. Spend your money in one of the many coffee and breakfast facilities near by.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — brakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,458 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,474 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding Hotel

Property: Harding Hotel
Address: Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#29 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harding Hotel is a red bricked, traditional property located between the fashionable and lively Temple Bar and the old city areas of Dublin City, suiting both the leisure and business traveler, with comfortable 3 star quality rooms and facilities, coupled with a warm, welcoming, friendly service.Our spacious rooms are decorated in warm and relaxing tones, some offering views of the cathedral and are equipped with TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. Our comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels all serviced daily, will ensure that you just have to relax and enjoy the city when staying at the Harding. So why not come and sample the warm welcome, the excellent location, the spacious rooms and see for yourself how easy life in the city can be when staying in the Harding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing