We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but v noisy at weekends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harding Hotel
Ranked #27 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel but v noisy at weekends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

Great hotel with very pleasant rooms and great value. The only downside is that if you are here at the weekend and you don't plan on staying out until 2am you might not get much sleep unless you are a heavy sleeper! There is a bar attached to the hotel which plays very loud music all night at the weekend. If you are going out anyhow then obviously this won't be a problem!

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation
  • Disliked — The noise at weekends!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank se2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    967
    191
    44
    16
See reviews for
261
776
333
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

This hotel is located just off Temble Bar and close to most cultural sites etc. No real problems had a room on the third floor and at end of corridor - so room was very spacious. Everything was clean and in good condition. The most negative points were cheap shower curtain but good shower and always plenty of hot water. Stayed Fri and Saturady night so some of the noise from the bar (Live music etc) was audible in the bedroom. Maybe not a problem mid week. Cooked breakfast was very good but the evening Bistro meal was very ordinary and would suggest b and b or room only. Cheaper breakfast available a couple of doors down the hill. If booking this hotel would suggest buying a three day hop on hop off tour bus ticket from airport as well as allowing you unlimited access on the green tour buses around town you can use the Airlinks bus to get to the hotel from the airport. This bus stops about 100metres from the hotel (return bus stop about five minutes away) Cost 25 euros less than I paid in a metered taxi one way (30 euros). Not sure if good value as I was part of a group booking and had not researched hotel prices in Dublin with but would stay again if price seem okay

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kennmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

Dublin was our last 2 nights on our 7 night Ireland vacation. We drove from Kilkenny and dropped off our rental car in downtown Dublin then took a taxi to the Harding Hotel. We booked the Harding Hotel via Orbitz and did not encounter any problems at all during our stay. We specifically asked for a room near the upper floors and in the front of the hotel which would be away from any noise from the Temple Bar Nightlife. We stayed at the very top of the hotel which had one screenless window that you could tilt open. There is no AC but with the window open and being spring like weather we had some beautiful sleeping weather. The Harding Hotel has its own pub in the adjoining bldg to the left and there restaurant in the adjoining bldg to the right. Great location to the Temple Bar Area and very close to the Ha Penny Bridge and shopping on Grafton and O'Conell Sts.
The Hop On Hop Off bus stop NO. 10 is just around the corner and this was the first thing we did after we checked our bags at the hotel. The bus continuously makes a curcuit around Dublin with about 23 total stops so if you wish you can just hop on and then hop off at your area of destination. I believe the bus fare is good for a 24 hour period. Upon arrival we sat on the upper opened bus deck and just did a complete tour of the city getting ourselves oriented. We even poured a couple Kilkenny Beers in our glasses and drank and munched on crackers and irish cheese as the tour guide described each location along the route. Dublin is a fantastic city with so much to do. Shopping, Mall, St Stephen's Green, Guinness Brewery, Pubs and Music and street performers along with the beautiful bridges over the liffy river and the Dublin Castle Tour. Visit the Oldest Pub in Ireland called the Brazen Head Pub which claims it was established in 1198. We asked the front desk and we ended up walking our suitcases about 1 and 1/2 block to a bus stop and for 6 euro's each, took the bus to the Dublin Airport.

  • Liked — Great Location within walking distance to major sites
  • Disliked — Rooms must be HOT in summer
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjerseysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

I stayed at the Harding with a tour group as well as on my own prior to the tour. The single room (on my own) was small but serviceable. The double room (tour) was more spacious and on an upper floor. Some wear and tear in rooms but not horrible. Only a duvet/comforter and no sheets - very European but too hot for my taste. Desk staff was friendly. Breakfast (included with tour room) was pretty good, especially the smoked salmon and eggs. Noise from the hotel bar was substantial on Friday and Saturday nights - request a room away from the street or bring earplugs. Christchurch bells are charming unless you desire sleeping late.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy bar
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregongirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

I was very surprised that the hotel is only a two star establishment. It deserves to be a 3 star. The rooms are massive by Irish standards and the location is great. The rooms are functional and clean. I will book again.

Excellent value for money

  • Liked — price & location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICK4Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

We were pleased to discover how centrally this hotel was located, allowing us to walk to many of the Dublin area museums, churches, parks, and the Temple Bar area. The room was European-style (compact and efficient) and a king-size bed was a bonus we didn't expect. There were two downsides: the bathroom lacked a shelf or table for toiletries (minor inconvenience) and the location directly across the street from Christchurch Cathedral provided us with a quarterly reminder of the time with the pealing of its bells all day and night. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs! Our package included a full Irish breakfast in the hotel's cafe. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Church bells ringing day and night
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OldTravelinFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

I had already booked at a B&B in Dublin when I chanced upon this hotel, and decided to change our booking. I am so glad I did. You really can't get more centrally-located than this hotel - it is directly opposite Christchurch Cathedral and only minutes away from Temple Bar.

I had booked 2 twin rooms for us and we got 2 triples. The rooms were a really good size too, by European standards. Good mattresses. The pillows could have been a bit fluffier and softer, but that is probably just personal taste. Small refrigerator under the TV, trouser press, hair-dryer in desk. The bathroom was very basic and, as someone who wears glasses, I would have appreciated a small shelf to put them on when washing my face or showering, or to put some of my cosmetics.

The people at Reception were always helpful, and the young man from Turkey was especially nice.

The hot breakfast was substantial and kept you going for a good part of the day. A little more choice, especiallly with the cold buffet/Continental, would have been nice.

At 40 euro a head (what we paid), I cannot fault this hotel. It is much nicer than you think you're going to get and I highly urge you to book!

  • Liked — Location. Size of room. Breakfast.
  • Disliked — Bathroom could do with a bit of upgrading.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippiningreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding Hotel

Property: Harding Hotel
Address: Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#29 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harding Hotel is a red bricked, traditional property located between the fashionable and lively Temple Bar and the old city areas of Dublin City, suiting both the leisure and business traveler, with comfortable 3 star quality rooms and facilities, coupled with a warm, welcoming, friendly service.Our spacious rooms are decorated in warm and relaxing tones, some offering views of the cathedral and are equipped with TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. Our comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels all serviced daily, will ensure that you just have to relax and enjoy the city when staying at the Harding. So why not come and sample the warm welcome, the excellent location, the spacious rooms and see for yourself how easy life in the city can be when staying in the Harding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Harding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing