We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”
Review of Harding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harding Hotel
Ranked #28 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful.The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable fitted with the usual facilities (kettle, iron, hairdryer, television -too small set, though). The area is nice with splendid Christ Church Cathedral and quiet. The location of the hotel is excellent, within walking distance of most sights and places of interest. The Bistro serves good food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GUY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear GUY H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel following your recent visit to Dublin.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time spent in the hotel and that your overall impression and experience of the hotel was so positive.
It gives great heart to the hotel staff who work hard at providing good quality service and clean comfortable rooms to see guests comments who appreciate their efforts and keeps them motivated to continue providing these standards.

It would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to accommodate you once again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Harding soon.

Regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,536 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Harding Hotel is in a great location, making it very easy to explore Dublin. The staff, especially Johnnie, are very helpful, always willing to answer questions.

While the rooms are clean, they are worn (example, broken tiles in bathroom). But unless you need a five-star hotel, these things shouldn't bother you. If you are unfamiliar with using radiators to heat, have them show you how they work before you head to your room.

It's great having the attached Copper Alley Bistro, that made meals relatively easy if one didn't want to go search out a restaurant or pub.

The one-way streets near the hotel can be a tad confusing if you are driving in, but if you don't have a car then the 747 Airporter Express bus (6 Euro one way/10 Euro round trip) from the Dublin will work great for you. Get off at the Christchurch stop and the hotel is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Some rooms are affected by noise from the pub on Friday and Saturday nights, so if you are sensitive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnolan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear dnolan29,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel following your recent visit to Dublin.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in the Harding Hotel and are so glad to hear that you found the hotel's standards and services to be of a high standard and the hotel to be of good quality overall.
I was glad to hear that you found the hotel staff to be helpful and friendly, we are always here to help and offer advice if needed.

I hope that we may be able to accommodate you again in the near future should you return to Dublin.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent location. Gracious staff. Very good value included clean, spacious room with lg dbl + twin beds @ 89 euro weekend, 59/euro weekday. If you decide to enjoy the Christ Church bells rather than be irritated by them, this is a lovely and restful spot. Locals and staff in the downstairs pub will make you feel welcome. Temple Bar district, Trinity College, shopping all within a couple of blocks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Charlene C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding hotel and share your recent experiences of your stay while visiting Dublin.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent with the Harding hotel so much and that you found;

the hotel rooms to be clean, comfortable and spacious
the staff helpful and polite
the location to be so convenient
the hotel's facilities like the bar to welcoming and entertaining

I was also very pleased to read that you thought the Harding Hotel was very good value for money.

We hope that you may return to the Harding Hotel in the near future and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you once again.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely hotel in the middle of Dublin. Everything in walking distans. Bus lines next to hotel also very helpful.
Staff very welcoming and helpful.
Christ Church Cathedral is next to hotel, so bells from the church can be heard very well to the rooms.
Very clean hotel and rooms have free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Remember to ask room non- Christchurch Cathedral side, so the bells are not so loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Heidi L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to share your experience of your recent stay in the Harding Hotel while visiting Dublin city.

We are very grateful for your kind words and and are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent in the Harding finding the hotel to be wonderfully located, the staff to be friendly and helpful and the hotel to be clean and comfortable and especially the free Wi-Fi!!

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back once again to the Harding Hotel in the near future and that you feel as satisfied with your next stay as you were on this occasion.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Another plesant stay at Harding. Came back to this nice hotel, and again they provided a perfect stay. Very good location and a wonderfull view of Christ Church Cathedral. Good hotel and good service - liked the bells on Sunday, free and beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Jens C,

Thank you for the review posted following your recent stay in the Harding Hotel - it was our pleasure to have accommodated you once more, we are truly thrilled that you and your colleagues choose the Harding hotel for your accommodation needs when returning to Dublin.

I was delighted to read that you found the hotel's standards and services to be of such high quality and to an excellent standard that you have now expected from us.
It was also wonderful to read that you appreciated and enjoyed the beautiful Christchurch Cathedral across the street from the Harding.

I hope that we may be able to accommodate you once again in the near future and that we keep meeting the standards and service levels that you expect.

Regards,
Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location next to Hop-on, Hop-off bus line, Christ Church, Temple Bar district. Staff was excellent, courteous and helpful. Food was very good as were the settings. Negative things were the beds were not the most comfortable, and the ambient noise kept my girlfriend awake with the Christ Church bells tolling in the quarter hour. Although I thought this added to the charm, light sleepers will want ear-plugs:-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmooney802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear jmooney802,

Thank you for the review you posted following your recent visit to the Harding Hotel - we are very grateful for your kind words.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent in the Harding Hotel and we would hope that should you return to Dublin that we may have the opportunity to accommodate you once again.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Harding is very well situated for a visit to Dublin, with lovely views of Christ Church Cathedral. The room (5th floor and so well away from a busy main street) was clean, well proportioned and reasonably furnished. It was good value for money - in a town with some seriously overpriced accommodation.
The breakfast, however, was simply awful. €7.95 for a supposed 'continental breakfast' was a disgrace. Bread that felt like 'toast' but was as white as when removed from its wrapper. Tasteless 'fruit juice' that came from some of the cheapest-looking cartons ever seen. 'Jam' that did not even live up to its no-brand label. A 'choice of cheeses' that were 3 slices of the most tasteless bright orange cheese-like substance. Save your money and walk two minutes to breakfast at the Queen of Tarts round the corner in Cow's Lane.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardHadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Richard Hadley,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel following your recent stay.

I thank you for your kind words about the hotel room and staff but was disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with the breakfast offered.
The Copper Alley Bistro has recently been refurbished and a new menu with lots of breakfast options - I am sorry that the option you chose was not to your liking but our feedback since the changeover has been extremely positive.

I would hope that we may be able to accommodate you again in the near future and change your impression of the hotel's bistro.

Regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding Hotel

Address: Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#29 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $89 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harding Hotel is a red bricked, traditional property located between the fashionable and lively Temple Bar and the old city areas of Dublin City, suiting both the leisure and business traveler, with comfortable 3 star quality rooms and facilities, coupled with a warm, welcoming, friendly service.Our spacious rooms are decorated in warm and relaxing tones, some offering views of the cathedral and are equipped with TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. Our comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels all serviced daily, will ensure that you just have to relax and enjoy the city when staying at the Harding. So why not come and sample the warm welcome, the excellent location, the spacious rooms and see for yourself how easy life in the city can be when staying in the Harding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing