We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff and great location”
Review of Harding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harding Hotel
Ranked #28 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had a two day stay at the Harding, arrived at 10am and very kind receptionist opened tghe luggage room for us to leave our case while we explored. Only a few minutes walk from everywhere! First stop was the Guiness Factory then after a few pints back to the hotel to check in. Rooms were spotlessly clean and ours was very spacious. The room has everything you could possibly need for a short break including a trouser press, iron and hairdryer. The TVs are very dated but as we were only in rooms for short while this didn't spoil our experience. Had a lovely and reasonably priced meal in the Pub attached to the hotel,with a group singing traditional irish music then a short walk to Temple Bar.
Breakfast is served in the adjoining Bistro and again was good value with a full irish with as much juice and tea or cofee as you wanted.
Again the staff on our last day were very helpful watching over our bags while we had a short walk before our flight home.
All in all a very enjoyable stay in one of the friendliest cities in the world!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Steve W,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel following your recent visit to Dublin.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent with the Harding Hotel and also in Dublin and that you felt the hotel was great value for money with a wonderful location for all your city center visiting needs, clean and comfortable rooms and friendly and warm customer service.

It was our pleasure to have accommodated you and your colleagues and I would hope that we may have the opportunity again in the future.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,633 - 1,639 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent two nights at the Harding Hotel based on reviews read here and the price of their offerings. We were surprised by the overall friendly attitude and helpfulness of their staff, more what you'd expect at a B&B than a city center hotel. The location is fabulous, with a great number of sights within easy reach by walking and taxis are easy to find for those sights that are not. Previous reviews mention the noise, but we didn't find it to be beyond what is characteristic of a city center hotel. The sound of the bells of Christ Church Cathedral sprinkled with the call of sea gulls enriched our experience . . . ah, Dublin! To top it off, Johnnie, who worked the desk at the time of our arrival, gave us an enthusiastic welcome upon our arrival and worked hard to accommodate us. We very much appreciated his efforts on our behalf. I could easily recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank two4mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear two4mayo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel and sharing your experience of the hotel following your recent visit to Dublin.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent with the Harding and that your experience of the Harding was so positive.

We pride ourselves on our warm welcome, friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms with an excellent location and an emphasis on value for money rates, so I was very happy to read that you felt we reached our objectives with your reservation.

It was my pleasure to have welcomed you to the Harding and for all the other Harding staff to have accommodated you and we hope that you may return in the near future to the Harding Hotel and we have the opportunity to accommodate you to the same high standards you now expect.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a very clean hotel, with a great location! Only a few blocks from the Temple Bar district. Great bar on the ground floor. The receptionists were very helpful with every question we had! The only negative is that there is no air conditioning, just a fan plugged in to use.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtneyjenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear courtneyjenn82,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel following your recent visit to Dublin.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the Harding very much with our excellent location, friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms and that you felt the Harding was great value for money overall.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to the Harding Hotel in the future.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend and loved it. When we arrived at the hotel the lady at reception was very friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was large & very clean. We put the sign on the door asking for our room not to be remade in the morning and the cleaning ladies kindly left us towels outside our door. Our room was above the bar but the noise didn't cause us any bother when we shut the window. The room was warm but there was a fan provided. We hadn't paid for breakfast/lunch/dinner but were shown where to go if we wanted to have anything. It looked welcoming and pretty busy but we didn't have food here unfortunately. We came in later the second night and there was a man on reception who let us in, he was friendly and polite too. The location of this hotel is excellent, so many places nearby within walking distance so no need for taxis. If I ever get back to Dublin I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Hayley T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel following your recent stay with us when visiting Dublin.

I was delighted to hear that your experience of the Harding Hotel was such a positive one and that you found our excellent location to be so accessible and convenient for your needs, the rooms to be clean, comfortable and spacious and that your dealings with the hotel staff were friendly, polite and helpful.

It would be our privilege to welcome you back to the Harding Hotel again and I hope we will be able to accommodate you to these same high standards that you now expect from the Harding Hotel.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

i stayed recently as was in Dublin for All-Ireland final, hotel is in excellent location, just about a 10min walk from O'Connell St. was early for check in but the receptionist said they would hold my bags till i came back after match, check in then was no hassel and the room was great. missed breakfast due to a hangover so can't comment on food, i will defenitly stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SamDL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear SamDL2012,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel following your recent stay when visiting Dublin - to collect the Sam Maguire!!

I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be conveniently located, the service to be helpful and friendly and that your experience of the Harding Hotel was so positive.

We would delighted to welcome you back to the Harding Hotel in the future and hope that you are accommodated to the same high standards as you were recently.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Harding Hotel.w basically had 1 day to see Dublin and found it to be a perfect location for walking to many of the most historic sights in Dublin.The staff was very friendly and helpful.Our room was clean and well equipped-we could hear music from the bar below, and the staff offered to change our room.However we only had one more night and were leaving very early in the morning so declined that,Had breakfast in the reataurant and it was standard,The bar had live irish music the second night.we felt it was a good place to stay at a reasonable price,

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsllamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear rsllamas,

Thank you for the review you posted following your recent visit to Dublin and stay in the Harding Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time and experience with the Harding Hotel and found the hotel to meet your standards and expectations.

It was great to read that you found our location to be so convenient, the rooms to clean, comfortable and spacious and the staff to be friendly and helpful but most importantly that you felt that the Harding Hotel was good value for money.

I hope that we may be able to accommodate you again in the near future and to these high standards that you now expect of the Harding.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Dined here recently with family home from the states. It took an hour for our food to come and when it did it was average at best.
I asked for more wine, we were drinking Red and the waitress brought white. Bill came wrong and the girl took ages to correct it. Really not impressed!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feeder9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Feeder9,

Thank you for posting a review of the Harding.

I was very disappointed to read your review of the Harding Hotel. I am here throughout the week most days and including evenings.
I had not been made aware of any problems with any guests dining. I have since gone through this matter with all the management and staff of both the Bistro and the public bar and they are unaware of any issue like you have detailed.

I would be most obliged if you email me directly at info@hardinghotel.ie to outline the issues more comprehensively so that I can decide on what action to take with the employee regarding training or dismissal and also any quality issues with the food that you have touched on.

I hope to hear from you shortly to discover more on nature of your complaint as it most unusual for anyone to be this upset and unhappy with the standards of service or food in the Harding Hotel and we take all incidents like this seriously.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding Hotel

Address: Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#29 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $89 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harding Hotel is a red bricked, traditional property located between the fashionable and lively Temple Bar and the old city areas of Dublin City, suiting both the leisure and business traveler, with comfortable 3 star quality rooms and facilities, coupled with a warm, welcoming, friendly service.Our spacious rooms are decorated in warm and relaxing tones, some offering views of the cathedral and are equipped with TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. Our comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels all serviced daily, will ensure that you just have to relax and enjoy the city when staying at the Harding. So why not come and sample the warm welcome, the excellent location, the spacious rooms and see for yourself how easy life in the city can be when staying in the Harding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing